We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
living room villa dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
villa
living room
villa dining room
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
bedroom
view from villa porch
view of cottage and blue mountains
at the poolside
Your hostess  Sherene
poolside bar
beautiful trees
lawns
villa
pool area
fish pond
orchid in tree by pool
view from villa front porch
view from villa bedroom porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louis M
1 review
“tranquility”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

the place is a complete standstill of peace. Excellent for the enlightened minds.. a positive vibration, a magical venue, the energy there is pure light, an extremely romantic experience.
I find no fault with the place. truly positive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
558alisl
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eager anticipation and bitter disappointment”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We booked the villa for two weeks, but left, extremely disappointed, the morning after we arrived. We had lived and worked in Jamaica in the 1990s, and this holiday was planned as a family celebration. We booked on the strength of the owner’s photos and guests’ reviews, and it was with eager anticipation that we approached the property. The location is spectacular, with dramatic views; the extensive grounds are lovely and well cared for. However, access is not easy. Steep, narrow country roads do not deter us (we have driven all over the island), but parts of the road to Shotover are so steep and rough that, even when it is dry, access is difficult in an average saloon car. Had the road been wet, it would probably have required a four-wheel drive vehicle to get through.
When we got into the villa, it appeared that the owners had just moved out: the baths were dirty, waste bins unemptied, food left in the fridge/freezer; enamelled surfaces in the kitchen were rusty, and bedding in one of the bedrooms was inclined to mould. We are not fussy people, and do not seek five-star luxury, but cleanliness was definitely an issue. We wondered if we wanted to stay here for two weeks. What made up our minds was the state of the electrical installations: sockets were broken, metal parts corroded, and wires exposed. We are three adults; we could have been careful and hoped for the best… but we had rented holiday accommodation, and found serious shortcomings. Had we been aware of these beforehand, we would not have chosen Shotover. It is for this reason that, sadly, we feel we must post a negative review. When the villa is brought up to standard, and the access resolved, it will be a winner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The lack of cleanliness and the poor state of the electrical installations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
We appreciate reviews from our guests even if they are negative. We have taken measures to correct the problems experienced by the last guests so future guests will enjoy Shotover Gardens to the fullest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the hills, very private, still close to town”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am getting ready for another Jamaica trip and will be returning to Shotover Gardens. I just realized I did not do a review from the last stay. I always stay in the cottage. It is roomy for 2. The view of the mountains from the back porch is stunning, especially in the morning. The ocean view from the pool is excellent. Everything is very laid back, the hosts are great people. A great base for day trips, but I can lay around for days at a time swimming, reading, eating great food. And whenever the excitement of a trip to town is needed or desired, that is close enough. A great place to work on an overall tan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Time at the pool
Liked least: Tree frogs can keep you awake sometimes
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, USA
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abit S
Champaign, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular views, peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of six women stayed in the villa at Shotover Gardens for a week-long spiritual yoga retreat. We really enjoyed the isolation and serenity of the place. The views of the Blue Mountains and the sea were breathtaking and set a perfect backdrop for our daily practices. The pool was refreshing and the gardens provided nice areas to walk. We felt very safe and secure and so could fully relax.

The villa is basic, nothing fancy and in need of a little freshening up. We cooked our own meals and found the kitchen adequately equipped for our needs.

Derek and Shareen were lovely hosts; never intrusive but always very helpful if we needed something. We were asked how things could be improved as we were checking out and Shareen was very open to our suggestions. With some improvements the villa could be a real gem and a place where we would love to come back to again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and views
Liked least: Use of mothballs in the bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germaican...
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“HEAVEN!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We (my sister and I) stayed at Shotover Gardens last year, and couldn't wait to go back this year. Again, we stayed three nights, it was heaven! The mountain views, the city views, the wonderful swimming pool (from where you also have a great view, while floating around), and of course Derick and Sherene's kindness! They leave you alone to do your own thing, but they're always available, should you need anything...they are wonderful hosts. All I can say is this...three nights was not enough, and of course we plan to go back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wonderful views
Liked least: We like everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridjit
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque, serene & modernly basic”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My title sums up what Shotover was to our group. We needed nothing more. Being a hiking club we certainly appreciated the location of the villa, set in the rural, quiet town of Port Antonio against a backdrop of world-class sites, breath-taking views and so many hidden and understated natural attractions within close proximity: Frenchman's Cove, Blue Lagoon, Rio Grande. Shotover is undeniably a resident of Port Antonio...nestled in the hills atop the great Rio Grande River, though to see it, you would have to hike to down to it (and regrettably we didn't have time to) - it's that high up as was evidenced by the cool, crisp and foggy mornings! The Jamaican Northern coastline is a sight to behold from Shotover. The three (3) villas spaced comfortably apart from each other and spread out over the huge lush garden teeming with life: fruit and flowering trees, two (2) pet dogs - one could live here! I would have liked to make good use of the pool but alas, the water was definitely too cold for me, I am thinking it perhaps needed a heater for those late-night swims. Our one (1)-bedroom villa was basic and it met our needs for a comfortable stay...the bigger villa three (3)-bedrooms was the main house. Warm, cozy and quaint. Last but not least, our host - Mr. Derrick Crump - very accommodating, engaging and hospitable. He bought our groceries to ease the burden of having to find something to eat after the long journey from Kingston, carted us out every day to meet our 'bus', even carried us to church on our last day. All of his contacts were reliable and friendly too - Mr. Winston - our minibus driver. All in all, it was an enjoyable, unforgettable and budget-friendly trip of a lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The daily trek because of its location made it a bit difficult at times especially during heavy rainfall
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing