We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable comfort in Port Antonio”
Review of Hotel Tim Bamboo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tim Bamboo
Ranked #17 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in Port Antonio on a previous trip earlier this year in January and absolutely fell in love with this quaint, simple part of Jamaica! There's something special about this place - you'll know when you visit!

On our previous trip, we stayed at a different hotel and although it was a great experience, we decided to try a different place that was more affordable (our previous trip to Port Antonio was very spontaneous so we didn't know beforehand about any accommodations in the area. And it was also rather late in the evening and since we were tired from our drive from MoBay, we didn't want to try to find another place. Despite paying more than we wanted to (I guess that's what happens when you don't make plans ahead of time!), it was a great stay!).

This time around, however, we planned ahead and looked into different accommodations in Port Antonio. There was another place that we initially thought about staying at, but after reading about the history of Hotel Tim Bamboo and that it was Jamaican-owned, we made our choice!

Pros:
- great, safe location; close, by car, to Blue Lagoon and Frenchman's Cove as well as to the downtown area. And as other reviewers have noted, it's close to delicious, authentic restaurants.
- very affordable with complimentary parking and breakfast
- good, friendly service
- good, filling breakfast. Although they do have continental breakfast choices, I would recommend having a Jamaican-style breakfast because hey, you're in Jamaica after all! They have different Jamaican-style breakfasts each morning, which I thought was nice if you were there for a longer stay. The only complaint I had was the size of the juice. Maybe I just drink too much... But the overall breakfast was delicious, hot and served by a friendly waiter.
- each room has a/c
- although the TV isn't a 40" flat screen, it does have cable (and most likely, you're not in Port Antonio to spend the day watching TV so its size shouldn't matter too much)
- clean, spacious room (we were in room 15, which had a rather large open closet area - we were only there for one-night, but for those staying longer, it's very beneficial)

Cons:
If you keep an open mind and not expect a luxury, 5-star resort experience (this is Port Antonio after all and not Negril or MoBay), then you shouldn't have any real complaints about Hotel Tim Bamboo. However, if you do expect the aforementioned, then you'll probably have an issue about the water pressure/hot water. We initially did have issues trying to shower, but it worked in the end and we were able to have proper showers throughout our stay.

Overall, we had a great, comfortable stay at Hotel Tim Bamboo. I would definitely recommend this hotel for all those wanting a relaxing, memorable time in Port Antonio!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RI_RI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

right outside of Port Antonio, this is a nice, quiet, clean and safe (for you and your vehicle) place. good service, great bathrooms with hot water, and good AirCon. cable TV for those so inclined. Easy to find and close to cool places

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRCONNOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not only is the staff friendly and the food To die for, Their accomadstions are A1. In a economy such as ours no other establishment gives you a better bang for your buck. It is Located right along the coastline of Port Antonio and has a real island feel to it. The rooms are very modern and quite spacious, with Flat screen TV's and internet access.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A very affordable place to stay smack in the middle of Port Antonio. Comfortable hotel. Service was good. The room color could have been lighter for my taste. But for the price, cant complain. Nice and easy drive to beaches, about ten to fifteen minutes depending on where you are going. But I enjoyed the drive since the journey allowed you to take in the scenic views of Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennyb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I spent two nights here, and had a great experience. I had never been to Port Antonio, so we were using Tim Bamboo as a place to sleep and bathe (although water pressure was very low)!
We had a taxi driver that stayed with us, so we were able to get around. If you did not have a car, I am not too sure how convient it is to locate buses or taxi's to bring you to the Blue Lagoon or Boston Beach. Both places are must see's if you are in the area. Simply breath taking!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Tim Bamboo is conveniently located within walking distance to Port Antonio town centre and close to Ana Bananas. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is great! They also serve delicious Jamaican breakfast -

Only problem was the hot water. Spent a weekend there and got warm water only once.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0sie_4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel TimBamboo hosted a Re-Pass(funeral reception) event for my family

The service and staff were excellent and the price was very competitive

i would reccomend them for any social function or just staying there

thank you Johnson and clarke Family

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
90 reviews
0 mi away
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
#5 of 16 in Port Antonio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tim Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tim Bamboo

Address: 5 Eveleigh Park Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: £59 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tim Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tim Bamboo is conveniently located five minutes outside the Town Centre. With comfortable accommodations at extremely reasonable rates, Hotel Tim Bamboo is a great choice for guests who prefer modest rates with superior service. In addition to the many spacious and tropically furnished guestrooms, you can enjoy the privacy and comfort of your own villa. So whether you are travelling alone, with friends, family, colleagues or that special someone, we have the perfect accommodations for you. We are also experts at catering for any business or social event whether it is 1 person or 150 persons. So contact us today. WE'LL WORK WITH YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tim Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tim Bamboo Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing