We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical first time in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pimento Lodge Resort
Ranked #6 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical first time in Jamaica”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I want to start off by saying that you should really believe all of the positive reviews that Pimento Lodge has received. This is a very special place and it's clear that a lot of thought, care and love went into establishing this lovely resort.

My boyfriend and I really wanted to visit Port Antonio and Long Bay to get a different glimpse of Jamaica and get away from the tourist traps of Montego Bay and Negril. We weren't sure where to stay, but I am so glad we decided on Pimento Lodge. Perched on a hill overlooking Long Bay, Pimento Lodge offers luxurious rooms with stunning views of the ocean and lush tropical vegetation. Inside you will find very comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and tasteful decor. Kate and Lloyd are exceptional hosts who work very hard to make sure the guests have everything they need. They are a pleasure to chat with and can tell you many interesting things about Long Bay and the surrounding area.

Just outside the gates of Pimento Lodge you will find a quiet and friendly residential area with several corner stores where you can buy water, snacks, cigarettes etc. I would recommend purchasing the full meal option from Pimento Lodge, or at least breakfast, since there aren't many restaurants nearby. If you plan on spending most of your time exploring the area or chilling at the beach, then just go for breakfast and indulge in the delicious jerk chicken from beach vendors in Long Bay or Boston Bay.

Bottom lime: Pimento Lodge can be perfect for anyone, from groups of travelers exploring Jamaica, to families with children and couples. I would highly recommend this place and I hope to be back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review!! We hope to see you again in the future - you are always welcome. Kate and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We were looking for a place out of the hustle and bustle of Kingston, where we live, and not one of the 'big tourist resorts'. This place came on our radar by the positive ratings on Tripsadvisor and it has not let us down.

Absolute pros: the very well built houses, superb views from the room (we had the superior room), perfectly kept grounds and most of all the lovely and charming hosts Lloyd and Kate. From out arrival until our leaving they have been some of the best and thoughtful hosts we have met on our trips, very genuine en seriously caring about us.

This place therefore would be highly recommendable and in our opinion 5 stars. To make it even better we would recommend the following points:

* Have more tips on the surrounding areas or liaise with the community groups for guids/walks in the beautifull surroundings areas. The areas would be perfect for nature trips, ie cycling, walking and this hotel could be the perfect base for it.

* The breakfast was made to our liking every morning (great!). Food for the evening would be prepared upon ordering. It would be great if a menu for during the day / evening would be added instead, as the place is quite a bit away from the other places around.

Room Tip: We had the superior room (145 USD/night) which boasted fantastic views and would be highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetravelingNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I booked a romantic getaway here and we couldnt have made a better choice! Kate and Lloyd are absolutely superb! We left that property feeling like we had new best friends. it was beautiful there, peaceful and everything you're searching for in a retreat. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Im a jamaican who lives in atlanta and i travel to jamaica every year in december. i pack light and travel cheap and i never write reviews after. Over the past 6 or 7 years ive been to many small hotels all over the island. Take it from me - Portland is where you want to be and Pimento Lodge is definitely where you want to stay. Kate and Lloyd are the absolute best - Their warmth and hospitality is out of this world. Staying at Pimento Lodge had the feeling of being a guest and not just an occupant. The property is perched on a hill overlooking the beautiful and unspoiled longbay beach. The pros: no other hotels in the immediate area so you're not in a tourist trap - the locals are warm and friendly and you wont be hassled as you are in montego bay or ocho rios or even negril.. located close to *reach falls, boston bay, *winniefred beach, blue lagoon, *rafting on the rio grande etc etc etc - you could have a full excursion everyday without having to drive far to get there; The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and you cant beat the value. im going to stop now - i just felt compelled to write a review because this was certainly one of my best hotels stays ever. Honorable mention to Kate and Lloyd.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have just returned from the Pimento Lodge. What a wonderful place! The owners, Kate and Lloyd are just lovely. I felt at home the instant I arrived. I was there with my one year old and with this being our first trip abroad Lloyd and Kate quickly made me feel at ease. Nothing was too much bother for them. The rest of staff were friendly and professional. The location is breathtaking. I will definitely be going back. Thank you Pimento Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afroesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Operations Manager at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Hi - Just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely review! We are really glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you and your family here again!
Regards
Dionne (the daughter) on behalf of Kate and Lloyd :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Pimento Lodge is a very nice romantic hideaway just the place to make babies (lol). It has a nice blend of nature and sophistication. Love the cave idea just for two. excellent service and totally enjoyed the owners sweet spirit mixed with professionalism. I was there with a friend but cant wait to go there with my hubby when i have one awww the property is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Higher floors are so cool there is no need for fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

if you are looking for a special place, with nice apartments, great service and great environment, follow the sign "Pimento Lodge" at the end of Long Bay up to the hill and don´t be afraid of something like a road and locked gates at the end ... locked with a small wire. Sorry Marc :-))) Open it and find a quite nice place with a lovely view...

Thanks for all Marc! We loved Pimento Lodge.
Iwi & Ina

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ina-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
8.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimento Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimento Lodge Resort

Property: Pimento Lodge Resort
Address: Rose Garden | Long Bay, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pimento Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning new family-run boutique hotel on the NE coast of Jamaica with great sea view rooms. Secluded and ideal for total relaxation with 1 mile of unspoilt white sandy beach only a only a 10 minute stroll away. We serve a fusion of Jamaican and English food. This is a great place to get away from it all and relax, rejuvenate and re-energize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pimento Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimento Lodge Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing