We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secluded serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pimento Lodge Resort
Ranked #6 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“secluded serenity”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we ended up here because the other couple we were travelling with suggested it. The resort location is fantastic since you are literally up on a hilltop with panoramic views of the ocean. It is a more secluded location since you have to drive up a winding road to access it. We had our own balcony as well a very large spacious clean room. Our room had a king size bed, a seating area, desk area and still lots of room to spare and a large separate bathroom. The room also is equipped with TV and mini-fridge. The owners, Lloyd & Kate were friendly and attentive. The outdoor swimming pool is next to the bar area. There is a short walking trail at the top of the resort with benches that gives you an even higher vantage point of the view. Since I expressed in gardening, Lloyd gave me a botanical tour of the site and pointed out the pimento trees for which the resort is named for. The resort is also close by to local beaches Winnifred Beach and especially recommended, Reach Falls.

Room Tip: there are a lot of steps if you want a room with a higher view. Internet can be sporadic. And the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaDimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Found this location through Trip Advisor. Wanted to stay in Portland area. Very accurate descriptions. Beautiful, very private. Owners and hosts Lloyd and Kate are very hospitable. Food (breakfast and dinner) delicious and healthy. Nearby beaches the most gorgeous in Jamaica. (Winnifred Beach and Boston Beach). Boston Jerk close. Blue Lagoon nice excursion. There are a few restaurants in Port Antonio. Travelled to Jamaica over the last twenty years. This vacation was the best!!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs. Be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andriaboland18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
It was a pleasure having you and your sister stay with us. We hope we will see you again soon.! Kate and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Would totally recommend you staying at Pimento Lodge. Portland has the most stunning beaches and has a much more relaxed feeling than the north coast and it's resorts. We were greeted by Lloyd , who showed us to our room which was spacious and just lovely, Loved the wet room style shower. The room had a great balcony and the air con worked perfectly quiet . We hadn't booked dinner, however Lloyd kindly managed to sort this out for us which was much appreciated .
Surprisingly we had the resort to ourselves, such a lovely place, the drive from Montego Bay was easy and well worth it.
Thank you Lloyd for you hospitality x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoozie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of May 2013.

We decided to travel to Port Antonio from Kingston at the last minute late one weekend night. We called Lloyd as we arrived in Port Antonio asking for any last minute accommodation. He was gracious and laid back, showing true Jamaican hospitality.

The journey from Port Antonio to Pimento Lodge took longer than we expected, but when we arrived, Lloyd greeted us at the gate with a big smile. We stayed there for 3 nights taking time to see the sights. We talked with Lloyd and Kate each morning and night. We loved our room, the grounds, the bar, the pool and the view. So relaxing and quiet.

The food was delicious. We even asked for Kate's recipe, which I'm sure will take some time to perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and share our wonderful spot with you - Pimento Lodge will be right here when you choose to return! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

If you’re looking for the peace, beauty, safety and serenity of the “real” Jamaica (rather than the cloistered all-inclusive resorts) Pimento Lodge is for you. No begging in the community, there were only friendly greetings throughout the town as I went out on my daily 5 mile run… alone, as a woman. It’s a wonderful place to relax, workout, sightsee, and discover on your own [no package tours necessary…but they are available]
Aside from the community’s benefits, Lloyd and Kate, the owners and managers of this very special accommodation are: warm; skilled at what they do; attentive to every detail; talented chefs who prepare delicious prefix HEALTHY meals [very limited traditional Jamaican frying and loads of tropical vegetables, fruits, and local fish]; and designers and builders of a lovely, small scale get-a way site that allows for both privacy and/or socializing. This is a DO NOT MISS destination if you want an opportunity to really see Jamaica at its best.
Not to be forgotten, the greater Portland Parish community is considering sponsorship of a few sporting events, perhaps something akin to Treasure Beach’s well known Triathlon. The tropical northeast of the island would be a special contrast to the arid setting in the country’s southwest corner; it would be worth attending both events just to see the variety of the island.
We’re going back, if only to re-visit the Pimento Lodge…hope to see you there too.

Room Tip: Each room I saw was lovely: clean; private; very comfortable; and with a view of the Caribbean Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYMARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
We loved having you stay with us - thank you for all your positive feedback and for sharing ideas with us - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Pimento Lodge is located in Long Bay Jamaica (Northeast coast) is the perfect spot for those travelers seeking seclusion and relaxation in a small fishing village that is untouched by MASS TOURISM.

Pimento Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast NOT an ALL INCLUSIVE resort.

The rooms are very large, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom very large and modern.

Patricia, the housekeeper cleans the rooms every other day to perfection.
If I needed another towel, coffee or anything I asked and Kate or Lloyd provided me with my request.

The rate for an air conditioned suite is SO WORTH IT. To my knowledge there are no other rooms, villas or resorts in Long Bay that provide air conditioning or are 5 star rated.

My husband and I are planning to return for Christmas and New Years 2014.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms with balconies have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Pimento Lodge and look forward to seeing you in 2014! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I discovered this enchanting place on TripAdvisor after we had already booked all of our other accomodations in Jamaica. However I couldn't resist staying there at least for one night and so we actually extended our stay by a day just to sqeeze it in. I was so happy to have made this choice! The property is incredibly beautiful, up on the hillside above Long Bay. The gardens were so well tended and the landscaping and the architecture was exquisite. We could really tell that the lovley owners put their heart and soul into this place. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean with delicate decor.

I regards to Long Bay, it is a beautiful beach but it seems like the last hurricane wiped out several businesses, including some of the more popular beach restaurants/bars/hangouts. Perhaps given some time they will rebuild. In the meantime, the hosts can arrange meals and I can't think of a nicer setting than by the fantastic pool where you can sit and marvel at the construction of the lodge with its multi-levels built right into the hillside or enjoy the rainforest vistas below!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review - we hope that you will enjoy more days with us next time an we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
8.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimento Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimento Lodge Resort

Property: Pimento Lodge Resort
Address: Rose Garden | Long Bay, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pimento Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning new family-run boutique hotel on the NE coast of Jamaica with great sea view rooms. Secluded and ideal for total relaxation with 1 mile of unspoilt white sandy beach only a only a 10 minute stroll away. We serve a fusion of Jamaican and English food. This is a great place to get away from it all and relax, rejuvenate and re-energize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pimento Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimento Lodge Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing