We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pimento Lodge Resort
Ranked #6 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The real Jamaica”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent 6 very relaxing peaceful days over the Christmas holidays at Pimento Lodge. My husband and I traveled with our two sons and had a really good time, thanks to Kate and Lloyd. The lodging houses were comfortable and well appointed, and the garden setting was absolutely lovely. The owners are focused on environmentally friendly practices, including solar water heating and only organic sprays and pest control. As someone who also values environmentally friendly practices, we were very pleased with their ability to create a comfortable resort environment. We were also glad that we brought insect repellent. I hope that Lloyd will get some citronella candles or oil lamps for dining and bar area. It also should be noted that none of Pimento Lodges rooms are handicap accessible, since there are stairs up to the lodges and down to the pool and dining area. We did not have a problem with this, but it should be noted.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we appreciated the extra fans for cooling at night. We decided to purchase 1/2 board for breakfast and dinner, and the meals were always good well prepared homey food, and they took pains to prepare Jamaican dishes we wanted to try, particularly some dishes that were special for the Christmas holiday. They were also very attentive to all of our tastes and adjusted for what our kids would like to eat, particularly for breakfast.
Transportation (and the cost) to and from Kingston airport was both reasonable and what we expected given the price of fuel and a driver in that part of Jamaica. Since there were four of us and luggage we needed a driver with a van so the cost was completely appropriate. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport with a smile, and was very accommodating, friendly, punctual and helpful for our entire time in the Long Bay area. It is important to remember that a driver local to Pimento Lodge has to do a round trip, both to the airport (or other pickup location) and back.
Long Bay (Port Antonio) is a really great area of the island, with plenty of sights and activities for active families. The town and village of Long Bay is small and friendly and the beach is very nice. It's also very close to some of Jamaica's best beaches (Winnifred, Frenchman's Cove, Blue Lagoon, Boston Bay)as well as Reach Falls. Our family also went river rafting, and visited a coffee farm in the blue mountains. People were very friendly and relaxed and were very straightforward when bargaining for a guide or a souvenir. Overall we had a great time and much of the credit goes to Kate and Lloyd at Pimento Lodge for working with the best drivers and guides, and their attentive high quality service. Thank you both and we hope to be back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and face the ocean, garden and view. There is no air conditioning, just fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventuremam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review - we really appreciate your feedback - we just wanted to let you know that we do have air conditioning in our Superior rooms and Junior Suite so when you come again let us know if you would prefer an air conditioned room and we'll sort that for you. Thank you for choosing Pimento Lodge and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we stayed at Pimento Lodge for a week over new year, wanting to see Portland. Transfer from Negril was arranged by Pimento Lodge, we were told it was 350 dollars, we then agreed with the driver on 300 dollars. After discussion with the driver it became clear, that Pimento makes quite good business when arranging taxis. This is not our expectation, a small charge is ok, but 70 Dollars from 350 is way too much.
The lodge is nice, breakfast too. Diner is 40 dollars per person, which is really overcharged, the "full diner " consistet of a soup or small salad, main course - two out of three times chicken, and sometimes a small desert, all without choice.

To all of the charges in the hotel a 10 percent service charge is added.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ToniTiger2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback - it is disappointing to to hear that you felt you were over charged for meals as to date we have always served good portions and guests have loved the fusion of Caribbean and European cooking. There is now a choice of pricing in terms of meals i.e 2 or 3 courses for dinner (both now under $40) and 3 options for breakfast. ranging in price from as low as $6.50 to $20. In regards to your transfer from Negril we were advised of a cost by the driver - which he seems to have changed - as a general rule pimento lodge does not take anything from airport transfers as we aim to keep prices down for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were her in April 2013 this was a wonderful place to stay great service, and beautiful surroundings. The staff were very kind, and accommodating. The rooms were large and they had a great view of the ocean. They have a beautiful bar, and pool area, and a very secure location. We went with friends and had a wonderful time. I would refer this place to a friend to stay for a romantic get away,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Pimento Lodge is an absolutely beautiful property, built into the hill side with magnificient fruit trees, an immaculate salt pool, and incredible views of the ocean.

You can immediately tell that the owners, Kate and Lloyd, have a eye for "natural architecture" and their creation combines modern comfort with a respect of the natural surroundings. Lloyd gave us a tour of the property and the gardens, and we got a sense of the passion and many years of hard work that made this small paradise possible,

Our room was an open concept with a private balcony, with spectacular view of the crashing sea, and was spotless. It was surrounded by trees and various birds, crickets and other wildlife created almost a jungle-like atmosphere.

We could only stay for 2 days at this resort during a very short trip to Jamaica, but felt like we had been there a week by the time we left! We were so relaxed... I did have to chase a small lizard out of the room at one time, which reminded me I was still alive. Thank you lizard.

The friendly owners prepare very healthy meals on demand (we needed to let them know ahead of time), and use many fruits and herbs from the property, all organic of course, A breakfast for example included scrambled eggs, fried plantanes, small bananas, pineapple, yogourt, fresh juice, homemade mint tea or coffee, all served with a smile.

We arrived late (and tired) on the first day and did not have supper on the way as we had planned. We really didn't feel like getting back in the car to go out to a restaurant... Lloyd and Kate could tell right away, and offered to cook us an impromptu omelette with fried potatoes, some fruits, and a beer or rum punch (or maybe both). Lloyd then turned on the lights for the pool and got out some towels for us so we could relax poolside for a while. Two hours later we were in a completely different frame of mind.

Overall, I think it is fair to say this was one of the most enjoyable stays we have ever had in our many travels in the Caribbean, or anywhere else in the world for that matter. Congratulations to Lloyd and Kate on a superb job!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our private balcony with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we ended up here because the other couple we were travelling with suggested it. The resort location is fantastic since you are literally up on a hilltop with panoramic views of the ocean. It is a more secluded location since you have to drive up a winding road to access it. We had our own balcony as well a very large spacious clean room. Our room had a king size bed, a seating area, desk area and still lots of room to spare and a large separate bathroom. The room also is equipped with TV and mini-fridge. The owners, Lloyd & Kate were friendly and attentive. The outdoor swimming pool is next to the bar area. There is a short walking trail at the top of the resort with benches that gives you an even higher vantage point of the view. Since I expressed in gardening, Lloyd gave me a botanical tour of the site and pointed out the pimento trees for which the resort is named for. The resort is also close by to local beaches Winnifred Beach and especially recommended, Reach Falls.

Room Tip: there are a lot of steps if you want a room with a higher view. Internet can be sporadic. And the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaDimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Found this location through Trip Advisor. Wanted to stay in Portland area. Very accurate descriptions. Beautiful, very private. Owners and hosts Lloyd and Kate are very hospitable. Food (breakfast and dinner) delicious and healthy. Nearby beaches the most gorgeous in Jamaica. (Winnifred Beach and Boston Beach). Boston Jerk close. Blue Lagoon nice excursion. There are a few restaurants in Port Antonio. Travelled to Jamaica over the last twenty years. This vacation was the best!!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs. Be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andriaboland18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionnen, Owner at Pimento Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
It was a pleasure having you and your sister stay with us. We hope we will see you again soon.! Kate and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Would totally recommend you staying at Pimento Lodge. Portland has the most stunning beaches and has a much more relaxed feeling than the north coast and it's resorts. We were greeted by Lloyd , who showed us to our room which was spacious and just lovely, Loved the wet room style shower. The room had a great balcony and the air con worked perfectly quiet . We hadn't booked dinner, however Lloyd kindly managed to sort this out for us which was much appreciated .
Surprisingly we had the resort to ourselves, such a lovely place, the drive from Montego Bay was easy and well worth it.
Thank you Lloyd for you hospitality x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoozie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
8.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
7.1 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimento Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimento Lodge Resort

Property: Pimento Lodge Resort
Address: Rose Garden | Long Bay, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pimento Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning new family-run boutique hotel on the NE coast of Jamaica with great sea view rooms. Secluded and ideal for total relaxation with 1 mile of unspoilt white sandy beach only a only a 10 minute stroll away. We serve a fusion of Jamaican and English food. This is a great place to get away from it all and relax, rejuvenate and re-energize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Pimento Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimento Lodge Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing