We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polish Princess Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$930
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goblin Hill Villas at San San(Port Antonio)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
102
12
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
12
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinnifred beachher daughterdriving aroundblue lagoonreach fallsroute taxievery morningplace to stayfairy hilltrue jamaicanprivate bathroomwonderful stayboston bayjerk centerhidden gemhome away from homedenton
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We, a family of four, stayed at the Polish Princess for just over a week in March 2013 and were looked after very well by Barbara and her mother. The location is very peaceful and relaxing as we were surrounded by greenery and the only sounds were those of nature. The location is also very convenient for Winifred beach which is beautiful, Boston bay, Long Bay and Reach falls. We enjoyed spending time at both Winifred Beach and Long Bay which were both largely "tourist free". I would highly recommend a stay at Polish Princess if what you are looking for is a relaxing comfortable environment.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank rohanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for your review about Polish Princess Guest House. We are happy that we could make your vacation peaceful and relaxing. We hope that sometime again you and your family will return to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Polish Princess for a couple of nights earlier this year while travelling through Jamaica. The guest house is a great base from which to see the various sites of Portland. 10 min or so to Boston, Blue lagoon etc. It is good value and a peaceful location set on a small hill.

This side of Jamaica is green, luscious and beautiful and far less touristy than Montego Bay / Ocho Rios. We did have a car, so are not sure of the costs of getting around the area by taxi, but it is very close to most sites that you would want to see in the area.

Barbara and Denton were very warm, helpful and hospitable and went out of their way for us on a couple of occassions. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were delicious and varied. The rooms were clean but fairly basic; however this is a place for relaxation. It was wonderful and very relaxing sitting on the balcony or upstairs on the rooftop looking out as the sun went down.

If you go to Jamaica I would highly recommend this side of the island and the Polish Princess. If you like a laid back environment, beautiful falls, beaches and nature and a more authentic experience..this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Polish Princess Guest House. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your visit to the beautiful Jamaica and look forward to see you again.
All the best,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hubby and I went to Portland for a little R & R. We got lots of peace and quiet at PPGH. It is in close enough proximity to other attractions such as Boston Jerk Center, Blue Lagoon and Frenchman's Cove. The Jamaican breakfast was good eating, the rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the hospitality of Barbara and Denton. Coming from Kingston we found the air to be a little damp at night so take a light cardigan if you are used to the heat. The cons for us were no WiFi or TV in our room and our bed could have been bigger. We had a double. I am not sure if there are larger beds available so check before if you decide to go. We would go again for sure...but bigger bed next time ;)

Room Tip: Ask about bed size if you are traveling as a couple!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonTam_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Polish Princess is excellent value for your money. I stayed for a week last December, it's a great base for day trips to Blue Lagoon, Winifred Beach, Boston Bay, and Long Bay. I used the route taxis that cost one hundred Jamaican dollars one way to all these places or back to Port Antonio. My room was clean and everything looked brand new. The owners are a Jamaican-Polish family that are so nice, and the breakfast is awesome! But the best part is the roof top patio with WiFi that overlooks the surrounding jungle, it's the perfect place to read, write, exercise, eat jerk chicken, and drink Red Stripe. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrettnButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you very much Brett for your review about your stay at our Guest House. We are very happy to know that you did enjoy your stay here and we are hoping to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Even though it is not marketed as an ecolodge, it had the characteristics of one. Equipped with solar heaters, rain barrels etc.

We stayed at the PP for 2 days during our 10day trip to Jamaica. From the day we arrived, we could feel Barbara's warm hospitality. Having planned our stay from the USA, I was a little worried that I could not find the directions to the place on my GPS or on Mapquest. But, it was pretty easy to find with PP signs from the A4 'highway'. The GPS coordinates are 18 09.548 -76 22.976 for the techie traveler.

The breakfast was always wonderful starting with fresh fruits, juice, fresh mint tea and coffee to pancakes, eggs and toast. Our two girls had a blast playing with Nicoletta and did not want to leave the place. Barbara and her mom were relentless in satisfying our needs and made us feel like we are part of their family. We even learnt a few Polish words from Nicoletta.

The rooms themselves were pretty basic with no A/C and a bit on the smaller side, but had big walk-in closets. The surrounding were really pretty and I would recommend a rental car to go around town, eat and explore. Port Antonio itself is a small sleepy town with not many attractions and restaurants. The roads near Port Antonio can get pretty bad and the road to get to the Polish Princess from A4 is a challenge even for a 4x4. The nearby falls, beaches and blue lagoon were nice, but you can get bored pretty easily in Port Antonio - esp since there is not much to do and only a few decent eateries in town.

Overall, we found it as a great place to kick back and relax and enjoy the quiet countryside of Jamaica and also take a break from the hectic 'touristiness' of Ochi, MoBay and Negril.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews