We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polish Princess Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We travel every year to Jamaica and stay at different places.
What a great place! Barbara and Denton have created and fantastic environment in a Jamaican neighborhood. The breakfasts, cooked by Denton, were amazing and special dietary needs were taken into consideration. The room was clean and very comfortable. The upstairs rooms open up to a covered deck with a 1/2 open to the sun.
We taxied around to travel to nearby locations. We would not hesitate staying at this wonderful place again. Thank you!

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs room, just walk out your door and you can view the surrounding neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamerican-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time and wrtie the review about your recent stay at Polish Princess Guest House. We are happy that we make your stay pleasent and that you will consider us in the future. Hope to see you sooner no later in Jamaica.
Barbara & Denton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We decided we wanted to see the real Jamaica and made the right decision for Port Antonio and the Polish Princess. Barbara and Denton made every day special. Their service and attention to detail was wonderful. The breakfasts were high quality with touches of local specialties. Best way to get around are the route taxis which cost about a dollar per person, per trip. We gained a family of Jamaican friends and would not hesitate to return. Barbara willingly helps to arrange day trips.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs offer a beautiful view.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bridge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Cori and Dave, thank you very much for your review about your stay at our guest house. We consider you as a family and hopping to stay in touch. Look forward to your visit during you next time in Jamaica.
All the best,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a great stay at Polish Princess! To begin with, Barbara was very responsive to my emails and accomodating with airport transfer, dietary requests, room requests, etc. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Although it was warm, with the ceiling fan the temperature was perfect. We stayed on the top floor and really enjoyed having the large rooftop deck right outside of our door. Barbara and her mother served up delicious breakfasts each morning out on the deck which were amazing! The first morning we had delicious french toast, with fresh fruit and toast on the side (and great coffee and juice!). The next day we had bammy with vegetables which was also delicious! They have red stripe in the kitchen for $2 and waters, etc. so very easy if you want to grab a beer and go enjoy the rooftop (with free wi-fi).
Overall: I would definitely recommend this place. It is an amazing value and is pretty central to everything you'd want to see in port antonio. It's about a 2 min walk to the main road so very easy to catch route taxis anywhere you want to go.
Note: My only "complaint," which is not a reflection on Barbara or the Polish Princess at all is that the 1st night we stayed there the noise from dogs in the neighborhood barking kept me up a bit. However, it was a full moon, so perhaps that had something to do with it, and the 2nd night was not a problem at all. Oh, and do bring your own soap!
Oh, and there are 2 dogs on the property but they are both very sweet, loving dogs! We miss them! :)

Room Tip: There are 2 floors to the guesthouse, with most of the rooms on the main floor and 2 rooms on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dnl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at Polish Princess Guest House. We are happy that we were able to make your stay in Jamaica pleasent with nice memories. Hopping that when next time you choose Jamaica as your vacation destination you will consider to stay with us again.
All the best,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We, a family of four, stayed at the Polish Princess for just over a week in March 2013 and were looked after very well by Barbara and her mother. The location is very peaceful and relaxing as we were surrounded by greenery and the only sounds were those of nature. The location is also very convenient for Winifred beach which is beautiful, Boston bay, Long Bay and Reach falls. We enjoyed spending time at both Winifred Beach and Long Bay which were both largely "tourist free". I would highly recommend a stay at Polish Princess if what you are looking for is a relaxing comfortable environment.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank rohanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for your review about Polish Princess Guest House. We are happy that we could make your vacation peaceful and relaxing. We hope that sometime again you and your family will return to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Polish Princess for a couple of nights earlier this year while travelling through Jamaica. The guest house is a great base from which to see the various sites of Portland. 10 min or so to Boston, Blue lagoon etc. It is good value and a peaceful location set on a small hill.

This side of Jamaica is green, luscious and beautiful and far less touristy than Montego Bay / Ocho Rios. We did have a car, so are not sure of the costs of getting around the area by taxi, but it is very close to most sites that you would want to see in the area.

Barbara and Denton were very warm, helpful and hospitable and went out of their way for us on a couple of occassions. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were delicious and varied. The rooms were clean but fairly basic; however this is a place for relaxation. It was wonderful and very relaxing sitting on the balcony or upstairs on the rooftop looking out as the sun went down.

If you go to Jamaica I would highly recommend this side of the island and the Polish Princess. If you like a laid back environment, beautiful falls, beaches and nature and a more authentic experience..this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Polish Princess Guest House. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your visit to the beautiful Jamaica and look forward to see you again.
All the best,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hubby and I went to Portland for a little R & R. We got lots of peace and quiet at PPGH. It is in close enough proximity to other attractions such as Boston Jerk Center, Blue Lagoon and Frenchman's Cove. The Jamaican breakfast was good eating, the rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the hospitality of Barbara and Denton. Coming from Kingston we found the air to be a little damp at night so take a light cardigan if you are used to the heat. The cons for us were no WiFi or TV in our room and our bed could have been bigger. We had a double. I am not sure if there are larger beds available so check before if you decide to go. We would go again for sure...but bigger bed next time ;)

Room Tip: Ask about bed size if you are traveling as a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonTam_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Polish Princess is excellent value for your money. I stayed for a week last December, it's a great base for day trips to Blue Lagoon, Winifred Beach, Boston Bay, and Long Bay. I used the route taxis that cost one hundred Jamaican dollars one way to all these places or back to Port Antonio. My room was clean and everything looked brand new. The owners are a Jamaican-Polish family that are so nice, and the breakfast is awesome! But the best part is the roof top patio with WiFi that overlooks the surrounding jungle, it's the perfect place to read, write, exercise, eat jerk chicken, and drink Red Stripe. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrettnButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you very much Brett for your review about your stay at our Guest House. We are very happy to know that you did enjoy your stay here and we are hoping to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
11.4 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#3 of 29 in Port Antonio
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polish Princess Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polish Princess Guest House

Address: Fairy Hill | Pompie Lane, Port Antonio 11111, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polish Princess Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Polish Princess Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polish Princess Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing