We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polish Princess Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We chose the Polish Princess on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Travelling with our lively four-year-old son it was perfect - the room easily accommodated an extra bed and opening out onto the upper patio meant we could happily spend the evening out there socialising and having a couple of drinks with the other guests (hi, BobbyandHeath!). The guest house is hidden away down a path, surrounded by the lushness and night-time chorus of Portland – you'll come across friendly neighbours, goats, lizards, frogs and assorted wildlife. It's really handy for the Blue Lagoon in easy walking distance and the beautiful, free Winnifred beach (our favourite - go there at the weekend, eat jerk and chill to the sound system with the locals), also Frenchman's Cove and Boston are only short route taxi rides away. Barbara and Denton were so welcoming, helpful and lovely - don't miss out on one of Denton's famous fish dinners if he's at home, probably our best meal in Jamaica - and our son loved helping(!) Barbara with the breakfasts and playing with the dogs. There was a slight problem with the water while we were there but Barbara was so apologetic and busy getting it fixed - we really didn't feel inconvenienced at all. The rooms are comfortable, with fans and mosquito netting over the windows, the breakfasts are absolutely wonderful - a huge fruit platter followed by assorted goodies, all home cooked by Denton, and it's easy to get into bustling Port Antonio and to various eateries nearby - and Barbara and Denton will give you recommendations, book taxis or trips. We'll definitely be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolio39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing our guest house as your vacation spot. We are very happy that we could make your vacation in Jamaica memorable and hoping to see you soon again with us. Thank you for understanding our short water problems, we manage to solve it all by now.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We found this on the internet as we were doing a road trip from one end of the island to the other. When we turned up it looked so lovely. The room was good and the roof patio was great for an evening of Red stripe and cards. Barbra was so lovely and helpful, goving advice on where to go and what to eat etc. Breakfast the next morning was lovely too. A gorgeous fresh fruit platter followed by bacon eggs and toast. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are so happy to know that you found our place and we were able to make your stay in Jamaica pleasant. We hope to see you soon again.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our stay at The Polish Princess this February couldn't possibly have been better. This being our first time in Jamaica we were looking for a relaxing and well situated place to stay. We not only found a comfortable room but were treated like family by Barbara and her husband, Denton. The guest house is located about 10 minutes from downtown Port Antonio and is easily accessible by route taxi. Our room was lovely, with a queen-sized bed and a walk-in closet. We arrived at dusk on our first day and were served a nice cup of coffee before settling in for the evening. The night sounds in Fairy Hill were hypnotic and soothing and we were quickly lulled to sleep by the droning chirps of jungle birds, frogs and insects. Our door opened onto a large rooftop patio with a stunning view of the lush and verdant neighbourhood. We were served luxurious breakfasts there every morning, with delicious local fruits, artfully plated and served alongside fluffy pancakes, ackee and salt fish, eggs and bacon, pillowy omelettes, fruit juice and freshly brewed Jamaican coffee. They were most certainly enough to keep you satisfied well into the afternoon. The Blue Lagoon and local favourite Winnifred beach are within easy walking distance and an inexpensive route taxi will take you most anyplace else of interest. Barbara is well connected in the community and arranged outings, excursions and dinner at local spots for us. She is warm, friendly, courteous and well informed, ready to answer any questions you may have about things to do in the area. Denton is enthusiastic about the neighbourhood's charms, very informative on myriad subjects and a terrific chef! On our last night we were pleasantly surprised with a hot bowl of fish soup and a chocolate soufflé with rum cream. Book with confidence, you'll be in great hands. We certainly can't wait to return to Portland.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyandHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so very much that we were able to make your vacation in Jamaica memorable. We are glad to know that Polish Princess Guest House become your home away from home :) We hope to see you soon again.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a great time at Polish Princess Guest House. The guest house is in a very quiet area, the owners are very friendly and the breakfasts are to die for! In Jamaican terms the price is also very reasonable. We recommend this guest house to everyone. Thanks Barbara and Denton for a great time. Frank and Marion

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meji2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so very much for choosing our guest house during your visit in Jamaica. We are very happy that we could make your stay here pleasant and enjoyable. We hope that the rest of your vacation in Jamaica in Negril and in St. Elisabeth went great as well. Look forward to have you as guests again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

During our most recent trip to Montego Bay, Jamaica in December, 2013 and January 2014 we became interested in exploring the East side of the Country (Port Antonio, Reach Falls, Blue Lagoon, Rio Grande River, etc.). Our daughter and son-in-law found the Polish Princess Guest House on line before our departure from Montego Bay and made arrangements for our accommodations. Upon arrival, late at night, we were greeted by our host, Barbara, who made us feel most welcomed and soon she had us settled away for the night.
Our entire experience at the Polish Princess was very positive. Barbara was a fantastic source of information, with lots of local knowledge regarding the Portland area; banking, beaches, rivers, mountains, restaurants, hiking trails, etc. Breakfast was exceptional, served on time and with pride, on the roof terrace. The rooms were very clean upon arrival and kept that way during our 5 day stay. During the day, if we required ANYTHING she always ensured we had access to it, if possible.
The whole atmosphere was very relaxing and most importantly, we always felt safe and well protected behind the wire and concrete fencing, guarded by the family German Shepherd dogs.
There are lots of things to see and do in the area, the scenery is beautiful, away from the customary hustle and commercialization of Jamaica.
Our host, Barbara, who has a considerable amount of experience in the cruise ship industry, has brought her European values and ethics to Jamaica where she is now offering good value for your money. Also, her daughter, Nicolette (aka THE POLISH PRINCESS) adds a great touch during the evening hours.
We highly recommend this place and we feel sure that you will find it, as we did, among your BEST accommodation experiences in Jamaica.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JULIANANDGAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you again for choosing our guest house as your vacation destination. We are very happy that we could make your stay pleasant and memorable. We are hoping to have you here with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On our trip to Jamaica this july 2013, we discovered by chance the sign of Polish Princess guest house, between Port Antonio and Boston Beach.
When we asked for a room, we were welcomed very cordially by the owner. During our stay, we could ask her for anything, concerning advises for short trips, best beaches and best ways to get there. Frenchman's Cove was our favorite by the way, and it's a 5-10min ride by car. Just ask the owner, and she'll organize a taxi, in case you don't have a rental car like we did.
The beautiful guest house is not on the big road, so you can enjoy a relaxing ambiance, only hearing birds and animals in the surrounding rainforest. You can perfectly enjoy your breakfast on the roof terrace, and look around you: all you'll see is green. Amazing.
The rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious and equipped with A/C, which is not necessarily the case for hotels of that price level in Jamaica.
We have seen a lot of hotels and guest houses on our trip around the island, with lots of disappointments, but Polish Princess was definitely among the best. Anybody looking for a calm, relaxing stay in the area of Port Antonio, I can absolutely recommend Polish Princess Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 361Dominik_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are very happy to know that we make your vacation in Jamaica so pleasant. Thank you again for choosing our place and look forward to see you on your next vacation.
Barbara Laing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was not my first time in Portland (I have family there), but if it was, the Polish Princess Guest House would be an ideal place to stay. Firstly its location is nearby to everything you need - beautiful beaches, waterfalls, Town (Port Antonio), places to eat and drink; the list goes on. Pulling up to a gated residence, we were warmly greeted by the lovely couple who own and run the establishment. The guest rooms are fresh and clean and have all desired facilities. Rooms are situated just off the main home which is good for those thinking about privacy, but close enough to the very approachable hosts,the main host being Barbara, who is helpful, thoughtful and will accommodate her guests requests. Breakfast was a delight, with a tropical fruit platter and much more. Ideal for singles, couples and families. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will continue to do so at the Polish Princess on our next trip to Jamaica.

At this time of year the weather is still glorious. There is some rain (how else will this luscious land get a drink?) but quickly passes, returning to blue skies. I must mention the nights thunder storms. They really are something to be observed, with electric blue lightening and fluorescent glows flashing through the jet black atmosphere. Magnificent.

Room Tip: We (me and my boyfriend) had a double room up on the top terracey area. Perfect. For internet lovers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our guest house as your vacation spot. We are very happy that we make your stay here with us so pleasant. We hope to see you soon again with us.
Barbara Laing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
11.4 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#3 of 29 in Port Antonio
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polish Princess Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polish Princess Guest House

Address: Fairy Hill | Pompie Lane, Port Antonio 11111, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polish Princess Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Polish Princess Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polish Princess Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing