We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Resort at Wilks Bay
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have traveled to a lot of places and have had the good fortune to have stayed in a lot of great places. But never before have we had the kind of genuine hospitality that James and Mary offer their guests.We felt like we were taken care of by our family!
The location of this resort is very unique.Its a horse shoe shaped bay protected by an alligator head(rock formation) on one side and a lions head on the other. It is a very spiritually calming place. You feel all your troubles melt away and become centered. It is situated between two of the best beaches in Port Antonio- San san (3 min walk) and Frenchman's Cove(2 min walk). Ask James about the hiking trail up in the bush through the bird sanctuary. I would not recommend going when it is dark. The way back is a little harrowing walking on the main road. But the part till you hit the main road is beautiful and lush. Ignore the barking dogs on the way. Port Antonio town is also a good visit, especially the market and some souvenir shopping at James's friend Rock Bottom's shop. We love the carvings we got from there. Tag along with James when he goes into Port Antonio for his errands. You will get the best personal tour and even get to see the hospital the "famous James Lowe" was born in ;)
We had Ann Marie as our housekeeper and her cooking and service was outstanding. Our daughter who is a picky eater ate very well there! By the second day Ann Marie had figured out of schedule and she would have all our needs taken care of without even asking! Everyone on the property was friendly and always ready to do anything we need.
Our only complaint was that three days was too short a trip to enjoy this resort and Port Antonio. We had gone on to Negril after that.This resort and its wonderful people has left a profound impression on our family and we will definetely be back . Having experienced Negril and MoBay, next time we go to Jamaica, it will just be Port Antonio and WIlks Bay for us.

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed with any of the rooms! They all have the ocean view. The one bedrooms, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelzen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very comfortable welcoming the minute you arrive. Ann Marie was assigned to us & she was super kind to us & we got whatever we asked for. Loved her cooking. The rooms here are really nice. Very well layer'd out property & design thought process is smart throughout.
Can't imagine finding anything nicer in the are for this price. ( there are only around 300 rooms available in all of Portland area ) This part of Jamaica is super lush and so beautiful. You can just chill in this area, or venture out further to what people have mentioned. I will say the Reach Falls, especially if you have kids, are not to be missed. The property is really well taken care of by the friendly guys, the 'Brother's Chow' and Winston who maintain it's natural beauty. Pool's are cool, beach area & dock, great!! Snorkling out in (back yard) bay , awesome !!! Bird life is really quite amazing here , & the whole area is all a bird sanctuary .
The owners of Wilkes Bay, as has been spoken about on this site, are exactly what you read :) way, way helpful in just about anything you need. ( local Delightful Pastries )
They are totally committed to making your stay catered to whatever type of pace you are in the mood for. I would for sure come back to Wilkes' Bay! Thanks for the love n respect Portland !

Room Tip: Need a comfortable van ride from MB Airport - call Raymond - 876.884.4361
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed two nights at Wilks Bay and enjoyed every minute of it. Service was great and staff were very nice and polite. I've been to many other parts of Jamaica, but I enjoy the Port Antonio area more than the other "tourist" spots because there are fewer, well, tourists, or at least fewer all-inclusives. Wilks Bay itself has a nice, little beach and and area great for diving, but I had a wonderful time kayaking over to nearby Monkey Island( about a 15 minute trip), hanging out there for a bit and then making our way over to the Blue Lagoon, then back. Truly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Since there aren't many rooms, none appear to be any better or worse than another. Only depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in February 14. We stayed in a ground floor two bed apartment which was lovely with great big beds and a nice spacious lounge area. We were very well looked after by the lovely Ann-Marie and Ebony. One of our highlights was Ann-Marie's amazing breakfasts of ackee and saltfish and wonderful dumplings. I loved the fact that you gave her a shopping list and she came back and would cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was a real help to us especially as we have two young children to cater for too. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at Wilks Bay. We had a beautiful outlook from our patio over the sea and the pool. The Port Antonio area is stunning and totally unspoilt. The locals are very friendly too. We loved the beaches of Frenchmans Cove, San San and Winifred Bay. Mary and James were very friendly and helpful and always there to greet us. I must also mention Ann-Marie's son who jumped into the sea from the jetty to rescue my Iphone! Amazing!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banton-Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

"During our two weeks vacation on Jamaica we experienced a lot of nice people and great locations, but your retreat is for sure the best", we said to Mary and James, the owners of Wilks Bay, "although we assume that all of your guests are telling you this!" What made our stay at Wilks Bay so extraordinary was the friendly treatment of the owners, the trip with James to the market in Port Antonio, Brenda, who took care about our food and good mood during these days. And a hundreds of other reasons why Jana said: "If we'll again come to Jamaica we'll for sure visit our friends at Wilks Bay!"

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at Wilks Bay for 10 nights from February 14.

We stayed in Tamarind which is the top one of the one bedroom apartments. The apartment was very spacious with a large open plan kitchen/living room area, a good sized bedroom with a large double bed and a decent sized bathroom with shower.

The view from the balcony of the apartment was fantastic, looking out onto the idyllic Wilks Bay was a great way to start the day over fresh Jamaican fruit and pastries. Stacey looked after us in the apartment throughout our stay and she could not have been more helpful. Every day or so we would agree our schedule and food requirements – she would venture off in to Port Antonio to get the relevant bits and pieces. Without exception all the meals Stacey produced were superb – the highlight was curried steaks of red snapper and also her curried prawn curry.

Wilks Bay is a fabulous secluded cove that is sandwiched between Frenchman’s Cove and San San Beach. Both beaches are worth a trip – on San San it is likely that you will be the only people! The hotel has a great swimming pool and lots of new sun loungers.

Mary and James who own Wilks Bay were fabulously helpful advising, and encouraging, us with various trips (Reach Falls, kayaking to the Blue Lagoon, rafting down the Rio Grande etc - mostly being driven by the hugely safe and reliable Mr Clark). The whole staff at Wilks Bay were great. James was very generous in playing taxi driver for us a few too many times! James and Mary also took us, along with their son John, to a local restaurant in Port Antonio called Soldier’s Camp where we had some great local food – Jamaican soup, crayfish and goat curry. This was followed by a pina colada at Trident Hotel on the return journey.

The area is steeped in fascinating history, much of which we gleaned from James who was kind enough to take us on a tour of Port Antonio.

Despite the perception of the island the area around Wilks Bay and the north east coast could not have felt more safe.

There were many highlights on a wonderful holiday. A trip to Jamaica is I highly recommended and most definitely a stay at Wilks Bay with Mary and James.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you like to stay right on the beach on a smaller property with personal attention , this may be your spot. Set between two of the Carribean's best beaches , Frenchman's Cove and San San Beach, Wilks Bay is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Jamaica. The unit I stayed in had two good sized bedrooms with a common sitting area, a kitchen , and small sitting/dining area outside. My cook/housekeeper , Stacy ,was very nice and did a very good job cooking grilled lobster, steamed snapper, and making a host of other traditional Jamaican dishes. Finally, the owners Jim and Mary are particularly relaxed and accomodative and seem to be having as much fun as the guests.

Room Tip: all rooms are on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billm699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
515 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
246 reviews
47.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
129.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
128.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Wilks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Wilks Bay

Address: Drapers P A, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £195 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Resort At Wilks Bay Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing