We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, even better hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Resort at Wilks Bay
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Several colleagues recommended Wilks Bay, so I decided to check it out in January 2014. I could not have been happier! The hospitality was top-notch - not just because of great service and delicious food, but because owners James and Mary can give you the inside scoop on everything happening in town. This is a "splurge" destination, but absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom cottage from Mary and James and spent the week enjoying their private resort with our family friends! The view was fantastic, the service was impeccable and the food was to die for.

Would highly recommend this resort to any and all my friends.

Favourite parts of the trip were...
- Practically private pool that we hung out in everyday with our kids
- Frenchman's cove was a great beach and park that was within 5 min walk from the resort
- Cook/maid was very accommodating to our family and cooked fantastic meals
- James and Mary were by at least once a day to give us advice on activities to do in Portland or just to say hi
- Make sure you order the pastries from James as they were the best pastries I've ever had!!
- Meals and food catered to our needs
- The accommodations were very clean
- The friday night outing to have crayfish at Soldier Camp
- Bananas and mangos right on the resort fresh from the tree
- Housekeeping did our laundry and kept the place clean

The only part I didn't like about this trip were the mosquitoes but we travel with children so we do not use deet. This can be avoided if you don't mind using deet in your repellent.

Also, it's better to fly into Kingston as it's a closer drive to the resort than from Montego Bay.

We will definitely be trying to go back to this resort in the future!

Khiem & Sonia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khiem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wilks Bay was a gem of a place and the highlight of our Jamaican trip. Offering excellent value, it quite simply smashed all expectations.

This largely boils down to the warmth and generosity of James and Mary. With an impish sense of humour and restlessness, there's no way James is going to let you miss the best of what this untapped, beautiful, rugged pocket of the island has to offer. Frenchman's Cove, Blue Lagoon, the sublime Reach Falls and much more.

Back in the day, Port Antonia was a bohemian, glamorous haven where the celebs of the day could hide out. There's some interesting music magnates and hoteliers investing heavily and we think it's ripe for a revival. If you can wrench yourself away from Anne-Marie's excellent cooking, head up to Geejam for a rum 'n' reggae infused dinner, or the nearby Trident for a stylish cocktail.

Will keep this review pithy, rather than merely echoing all the previous deservedly glowing posts. Go see for yourself. We did and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned back from our vacation in Jamaica. To say the least we had a very nice time relaxing and enjoying th fine hospitality at Wilks Bay Resort! The full service staff were friendly and did exceptional work. We really enjoyed eating the jamaican cuisine cooked by Angela,,,,especially the lemon pie which was very good! Our 5 day stay there was the highest point of our extended vacation in Jamaica,,,we had a great time at Wilks Bay Resort !!

Room Tip: Had a upstairs unit with a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisblue_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Portland for a 2 night stay and we choose Wilks Bay due to the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Needless to say we were not disappointed. Wilks Bay is possibly the best kept secret on the entire island; the hotel is set in a beautiful Cove and provides a very intimate setting. The grounds of the property are well kept, and the rooms are very comfortable and well equipped.
Above all, the service at Wilks Bay was extraordinary. The owners Mary and James are the friendliest people you may ever come across, and it was a pleasure getting to know them. Mary and James definitely created a home away from home atmosphere at the resort, and they took care of all our requests with great attention to detail.
Last but not least we absolutely loved the food and service given by Stacy our housekeeper. Her meal preparations and service were excellent and she was an absolute pleasure to be around.
I would highly recommend Wilks Resort to anyone looking for a intimate, relaxing and refreshing break from their daily grind.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Greig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Where to start?
Luckily for me, at the very last minute I called the resort to ask about availability for the coming weekend. At first Mary said no, but then she promptly called back and told me they found something for us. (I had no clue how truly lucky I was at this point)
48 hours later, we arrived to what can only be described as one of the most picturesque, peaceful, and incredibly beautiful spots in the Caribbean. Having travelled to Jamaica several times, I have to say that my stay at Wilks Bay was the most blissful and perfect travel fantasy thus far....
If you want to be on a beach sipping drinks with tons of tourists and eat burgers and fries, then this is probably not the spot for you. HOWEVER, if you want a truly authentic Jamaican experience, with incredible service, food, environment, and ambience, then book at Wilks Bay!!
We were greeted with such warmth, and this kindness and attention to detail continued throughout our stay. Mary and James treat you like family. They truly go out of their way to provide you with tips/help/support in a way that I have never experienced in many years of traveling.
Combine this level of hospitality with an idyllic setting, incredible food cooked for you, and multiple areas to explore in the close vicinity, you have yourself a recipe for the perfect vacation.
Our cook Stacy was truly lovely. Delicious food that was cooked with such warmth and authenticity.
There is so much beauty in the Port Antonio area. Frenchman's cove beach is right next door, the blue lagoon is a short kayak/boat ride away.
But quite honestly, you might not even want to leave wilks bay.
You feel like you have come home.
I can't remember the last time I felt this way traveling, unless I was visiting family.
The last night of our stay, they casually asked if we would like to eat dinner on the beach. The setup was truly magical and really epitomized the whole experience of true BLISS.
Port Antonio is a piece of paradise and I hope it remains that way.
Hands down, this was one of the best trips of my life and I have to extend my gratitude to Mary and James for providing such a stellar and exceptional experience.
It's more than just a resort... It's a beautiful, blissful escape from the norm.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean and you will fall asleep to the sounds of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dharmalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family visited Wilks Bay for the Easter holiday. It is always difficult (impossible) to please teenagers, but everyone in our family agreed that Wilks Bay was "the best vacation ever".

Mary and James Lowe are wonderful hosts who will not only welcome you as you arrive and see you off when you leave, but will cater to your every wish while you stay on the property. Mr. and Mrs. Lowe give wonderful suggestions of ways to spend your days, provide local knowledge, coordinate transportation (will even drive you themselves!), and can even lead you in a chi gong session or give a fishing lesson. They are genuine, kind people who very easily make their guests feel comfortable and at home on their beautiful piece of property.

Accommodations are lovely. The decor is simple, clean and comfortable. The bright white walls and dark wood accents are very appealing. We loved the open louvered shutters and the ocean breezes blowing through the rooms. Our favorite part of the villa was the family room that is open to the porch, yard, pool and ocean. We also really loved having the convenience of incredible snorkeling right outside our door. Our 13-year-old son spent hours between snorkeling and the pool! Every evening was spent with dinner served to us on the porch overlooking the ocean and ever-changing sunset with card games afterwards. Our 17-year-old daughter was glad that there was wifi - we were all "un-plugged" most of the time, but it was nice to be able to connect if needed.

We spent our time enjoying the local scenery and attractions. After spending our first full day on the property sunning, swimming,snorkeling and eating, Mr. Lowe drove us to the GeeJam Hotel to enjoy the Jolly Boys playing live at the bar - very fun! The next day we spent at Reach Falls. We were amazed at the beauty! A late afternoon meal of jerk was enjoyed at Boston Bay on the way home. Easter Sunday was our most memorable day - we went to church with our housekeeper, Brenda. The singing was so inspirational and her church family was extremely welcoming. We really appreciated being able to spend our holiday with Brenda and her neighbors. After church, we had Easter brunch at Trident Castle - it was beautiful. We worked off our meal that afternoon by kayaking to the Blue Lagoon from neighboring San San Beach and back to San San to swim. The next day took us to the Rio Grande for rafting and lunch on the river at Belinda's. The water is gorgeous and our son loved snorkeling down the river beside the raft. We stuck close to home for our last day - morning snorkeling at Wilks Bay and a long, lazy afternoon at Frenchman's Cove was an exclamation point on the end of our trip!

As a mom, besides the amazing scenery, weather and activities, it was a joy to have a cook/housekeeper to take care of our family. It was a TRUE vacation! Brenda is sweet, kind and thoughtful - she worked very hard to be sure our family was perfectly happy. The food served to us throughout each day was fabulous. From delicious, ultra-fresh fruits and vegetables to Brenda's homemade Jamaican meals, side dishes and desserts, we were all spoiled.

I am so glad that I found Wilks Bay on Trip Advisor. It was a much needed vacation for my husband and myself and an incredible memory maker for my kids. Mary and James - thank you!

Angela Davis
Radford, VA

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajpdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
241 reviews
128.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,321 reviews
129.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
48.6 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Wilks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Wilks Bay

Address: Drapers P A, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £204 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Resort At Wilks Bay Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing