We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Resort at Wilks Bay
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came for 3 nights, stayed for 7 and were heart-broken to leave. Everything that's been said before is true - Wilks Bay is a fabulous location, and the accommodation, surroundings, food, beach, swimming, ambience .......... are unbeatable. But they are beaten by the care and attention that James and Mary give to their guests. They even acted as travel agents for the next part of our visit to Jamaica and helped us organise a journey through the Blue Mountains.
Wilks Bay is idyllic - but keep it to yourself, we don't want the world to know.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank KandLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I traveled to Port Antonio for my Godson's wedding. From the moment we arrived in Montego Bay, James and Mary took care of every little detail. Our driver Warren was amazing, and on our four hour drive to Wilks Bay was lively and informative even stopping for mangos at a roadside stand along the way. James and Mary were there to greet us on arrival and took us on a tour of the property and provided us with travel tips for the area. The property is impeccable and the staff treats guests as part of the family. Our cook and housekeeper Nadine prepared amazing Jamaican meals for us. Went into town every morning and shopped for the ingredients. Never tasted such fresh fruit, vegetables and fish. She also did our laundry and ironed our clothes! We were there with a group and Chow, the Butler had a fantastic personality and treated us to wonderful Caribbean drinks poolside. The pool and bay are quiet and pristine and a perfect place to spend with family and friends. James and Mary were wonderful providing transportation to the different venues. We were truly sad to leave this amazing place and the hospitable folks in our little slice of heaven. Tips: My husband brought Jamaican money with him so we did not need to take trips to the bank each day. As others have stated, bring toiletries. Water shoes are also a good idea. Otherwise,kick back, and enjoy one of the most unbelievable experiences you will ever have. Thank you to the wonderful staff, and especially Nadine!

Room Tip: Enjoyed the first floor villa with easy access to the beach and pool, but the upper level has a fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at Wilks Bay with family and friends for an affair on the island. I can honestly say that we have never been treated better on any trip we have ever taken. Our flight was late getting into Kingston and we didn't arrive at Wilks Bay until after 11:00 pm. James and Mary met us at the gate, showed us our villa, had Tatlyn prepare a dinner for us (delicious) and did all this with a smile. My wife's luggage never made it on our flight and the next day James made all the arrangements with the airlines to insure that her luggage got to the right place asap. There was a little drama on the island with trying to get a large group of people staying in a number of different places to where we needed to be at appointed times, but James and Mary handled much of that with good humor and unbelievable patience. In between running here and there, Wilks Bay provided a sanctuary where we could unwind, kick back and enjoy the Caribbean water and sun. All of the accolades afforded to the staff in other guests reviews are spot on, Tatlyn and Stacy, thank-you so much. We owe you a debt of gratitude for making our stay perfect. On last thing, we had a 9:00 am flight out of Kingston which means we had to leave Wilks Bay at 4:30 in the morning. James made all the arrangements to get a driver there for us and both James and Mary were up to say good-bye and insure we got off properly. Thanks for everything, truly amazing.

Room Tip: Second floor avoids foot traffic by your villa however first floor allows direct access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrinsleySchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was Mary and James's motto at Wilks Bay! From the moment we arrived to our last day at Wilks Bay Mary and James treated us like family. Mary anticipated any problem we "might have" and solved it before it became a problem. James is from Port Antonio and very proud to bring you on a tour of his "home town". He became my husbands private chauffeur back and forth to the bank each day!
There was a group of 16 of us staying at Wilks Bay for my sons wedding in Long Bay. Wilks Bay was the most perfect space we could have chosen for our group! We all felt like we were in a tropical paradise yet had the luxury of a cook, housekeeper, and butler! All the vegetation at the property is natural and the villas blend into the foliage. You can walk outside your villa and pick Mangos, bread fruit, and almonds! The property is impeccable! Darren was adorable and walked around all day picking up leaves that fell on the ground or into the pool! What a smile he always had for us!
Everyone at Wilks Bay were incredible and such conscientious workers! Angela, our cook, would prepare the most delicious Jamaican meals for us! The choo choo,sweet potatoe pudding, acai and salt fish and of course her homemade coconut cream pies were just a few of the highlights! If you prefer "American" cuisine she'll do that too! Sofia, our housekeeper, was amazing! She ironed all our wedding clothes for us and kept all our laundry clean! Our villa was always pristine clean! You do need to bring your own toiletries...they only supply soap. And Chow, our butler, he was the best! At 2 each day he would begin serving us the red stripe beers and Dark N Stormy drinks! Chow would do Anything you asked him to do....he had the most amazing personality!
Mary agreed to help me by hosting a "thank you dinner" for all our wedding guest on the last night. There were 20 of us and it was the most beautiful, delicious dinner I could have ever expected. All the cooks, and housekeepers helped out to make this happen. Words cannot describe the presentation of the food, the location of the dinner, the hospitality of the Wilks Bay Staff, and of course the delicious food that was prepared for us! Tis dinner will always be remembered by all of us!
Just a few tips...bring cash. Credit cards are not accepted at most places. Visit GeeJam for a drink at sunset! Use the passes to visit Frenchmans Cove, it's like a botanical garden, make time to go to Reach Falls, it's worth the drive! Have Angela make you her sweet potato pudding...you'll think you died and went to heaven and lastly, make sure Chow makes you a Dark N Stormy!
Thank you again Mary and James! And of course all the staff at Wilks Bay

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank oatti0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Wilks Bay in June 2014. The setting is gorgeous and the entire staff is incredibly warm. Angela took care of us on a day to day basis and her hospitality and cooking were top notch. The owners James and Mary had great suggestions for places to see and things to do. It truely felt like a home away from home. Don't look any further if you are reading this and wondering where to stay in Port Antonio. Wilks Bay is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

All the brilliant things we read about Wilks Bay are true - the place is wonderful, grounds are beautiful and the accommodation clean, comfortable and fantastic. Brenda looked after us superbly, as did Stacy on Brenda's day off.

Everything is very efficient, but we also enjoyed being able to engage with all the staff and share a laugh with them. Their smiling faces made us happy and without ever being intrusive, it felt like we were with friends.

Our 'mission' in Port Antonio was to trace some family history. Much has been said about James and Mary, but they absolutely went out of their way to help us. We simply could not have had the success and experiences we had, without James driving us around and the work they put in behind the scenes in making enquiries on our behalf.

Their incredible efforts not only gave us an amazing holiday, but satisfied a lifetime ambition for me. We will always be very grateful for this and especially for helping us to meet up with an old family friend who has sadly passed away since we met.

Thank you to all at Wilks Bay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I spent 4 nights at Wilks Bay with my wife (10th anniversary) and 2 kids (8 and 7) in June 2014 and it was quite an amazing experience. James and Mary are phenomenal and make certain that every aspect of your stay with them is absolutely perfect. They go above and beyond to really make you feel at home. From hanging with James at Oldies Wednesday (tremendous) to the croissants he'll coordinate for delivery each morning to the joining them for the most delicious crayfish at Soldier Camp on Fridays, our time in Port Antonio was nothing short of magical chiefly due to staying at Wilks Bay and James and Mary. And Stacy, who took care of us with delicious meals and even sat for the kids a couple nights so we could get around a bit.

I'd been to Port Antonio 3 times prior to this last trip and had stayed in ocean front villas and the Trident Villas (pre-renovation). My wife and I married at Trident Castle and during this trip we revisited Trident and checked out Geejam as well, both of which are great in their own right. However, Wilks Bay is where I will be going back time and time again. It is simply the most wonderful place in the world. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
243 reviews
47.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
128.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
129.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Wilks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Wilks Bay

Address: Drapers P A, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £202 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Resort At Wilks Bay Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing