We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great views with a true rustic Jamaica feel”
other travellers have booked this property
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
blue lagoon/san san area long bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
blue lagoon/san san area
long bay
port antonio
reach falls
rio grande..
upstairs bedrooms sunrise
our new grounds manager...
entrance to mango ridge
roof deck harbor view cottage
rio grande rafting..
monkey island near lighthouse..
folly penninsula near lighthouse
view from bamboo cottage
coconut water..air mail express..
roof deck harbor view..fish pond now papaya garden...
sunrise cottage
public courtyard..mango ridge
sunrise cottage
sunrise cottage
verandah..bamboo cottage..60$ nite
security guards
sunrise cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
highballi...
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great views with a true rustic Jamaica feel”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Mike and his family were great and made our stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Host was very knowledgeable about where to go and what to see.
We bartered our own transportation in the streets just for the adventure of it.
You can hire a charter driver for between 70 and 100 USD a day that will take you right to the attractions.
the beaches from port Antonio to long bay cannot be described with words.
the must go places are as follows.
1.Frenchmans Cove
2.Reach Falls, its a bit of a ride ( far end of the island) but WELL worth the time
3.Winnefred beach ( save your appetite for the little grill on the beach I would recommend the lobster :) a lady named setti runs the place the beer was cold and the food was AWESOME )
4. Boston Beach
5. rafting the Rio Grande

The people of Jamaica made all the difference

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: people
Liked least: amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views + very helpful host”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for three nights during the March break. It's true that there are a lot of steps to climb, but the payoff is the view which is breathtaking.
Mike was an extremely attentive host. He organised a rafting trip for us and even sent a family member to help us find our way around town the first day to buy our groceries!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi R
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely time magical place”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely time staying at Mango Ridge. Views were amazing, port Antonio was beautiful, and the space was fun and comfortable. A great place to get away from it all...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing ocean view
Liked least: 297 steps to my room, but exercise is good :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerf...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We hope to return!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Mike & his kids are the most welcoming and helpful hosts one could ask for. We had to deal with some child medical issues during our stay and Mike was there to help at every turn. This natural escape in the hills above Port Antonio is a gem. Mike has constructed comfortable cabins with incredible views. This is a great base from which to explore all Port Antonio and nearby beaches have to offer, especially if you rent a car. If you can deal with mosquitoes, are in good shape and don't mind winding stairs up a hillside, than those stairs will lead you to this quiet, safe, hillside spot with amazing views, lush vegetation and a friendly local family to be your hosts. Incredible value and wonderful people! We hope to return some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and hosts!
Liked least: The lack of screens on the windows.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reeshemah
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and hospitable”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My family and I travelled to Port Antonio for Christmas holiday. We are from Jamaica and wanted to stay at a place off the beaten path. Mike is great, very friendly and helpful. If you want ultimate luxury this is not for you. If you want a very nice and relaxing spot this is the place. I'm due to travel to Jamaica again and plan to stay there. Thank you again Mike my family had a great experience. There was a slight issue with booking online and when I emailed Mike about it he quickly said, not to worry when you arrive we will take care of everything and that he did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability to cook.
Liked least: we arrived at night so it was a little challenging finding the turn to the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amylombo
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A place you want to call home”
Reviewed 28 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Where to start about this magical place. We stayed at the top cottage for 7days. The place was more than what we expected. Its as close as you can get to sleeping among the Almond, Mango, Ackee and Bamboo trees. Beside long tailed hummingbirds and fireflies that joined us at night. Michael was amazing and the fruit does not fall far from the tree with great company of his family - we had a great time laughing over dominos and redstripe. The location is ideal, We had traveled the entire coast of Jamaica and found Port Antonio to take our hearts. Winnifred Beach, Blue Lagoon, Frenchmans cove, Boston bay, san san beach, monkey island all within 20mins and a $2 taxi ride away made it easy to fill our days. Musgrave market in PortAntonio made is easy to grab fresh fruits and veg. Fresh fish and lobster from Survival beach just 700m walk the core of PA. We used the kitchen at MangoRidge everyday to make delicious Jamaican dishes taught to us by the locals. More stories to tell but you can find out for yourself with a stay at this picture perfect spot. We choose this place as we wanted a place with character and charm. Not just a room. Its a lifestyle here and a beautiful one at that. We will be back up those 200 steps again. Follow the goats, turn left at the mini river falls, pass the chickens and up up up up up to 4 greeting smiles. Enjoy! Thanks Leila, Mario, Sally & Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sounds of nature and the places around this amazing Town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle4...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A trip into memories and the future”
Reviewed 18 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Our stay at mango ridge has got to be noted as the highlight of my trip to Jamaica…I am a returning Jamaican- that is I grew up in Kingston- and so I am pretty familiar with Port Antonio from my childhood vacations …However, here was a place that gave me access to a completely new way of experiencing the sounds, heartbeat…and passion of living in a small town in the country…
It broke all rules-an affordable rate for a fantastic view nestled from the veranda of a cosy two-bedroom cottage, and kitchen enclosed in a true familial experience.

Here was a place where you were completely set free from all social barriers which tends to be a common place thing is JA…and where you felt that you were at the heart of another kind of existence---

As for night-time fears- well I am here to say that that walking around at night in Port Antonio is something that is actually feasible and easy going in this town, and really sets Kingston in perspective to what it might have looked like ages ago….

When we arrived, I had four days of complete revolt from our oldest child of ten as he was trying to deal with abstinence from the world of internet and computers –and the mango ridge experience replaced these doubts with something tangible and inviting- nature at its best, and making friends with Michael Odonnell's children in play and exploration of the world around him…. Louie has been blown away with this experience and has made the resolution to return already in June---as Jamaica is just his thing- people are really friendly and they use time on you- makes you think what the cold north of Scandinavia, Denmark really offers of a society with the parameters of the social system- nevertheless…. No, this experience is not one you will stumble upon easily---

We spent two and half weeks here and as a family of four we are still glowing---
If you like to feel rooted and grounded in simplicity-like to be close to people who make you feel at home and welcomed- not afraid of heights or good exercise- staying here will be a treat for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$50
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing