We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Klevan, Rivnens'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It is very comfortable and positive hotel. Most remembered organized and disciplined friendly staff and luxurious interior. I always recommend it to friends and colleagues. Days, which I spent in this hotel was wanderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaLaytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you Alina,

Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    22
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siloam Springs, Arkansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As soon as we arrived the staff was friendly and gave us a tour of the resort. We loved our villa and private pool area. The walk down to the Blue Lagoon was an adventure and we loved the fact we had our own beach area and canoe to explore. We had an excellent time and already want to go back. It is definitely secluded and off the beaten path, but that is what we were hoping for! The staff was extra helpful when I got news from the states a family member had passed away, they bent over backwards to make the rest of my stay comfortable and were very thoughtful. The Tropical Lagoon Resort is a small piece of Heaven on earth. We will definitely go back! (soon I hope!) Thank you, and God Bless!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We would love to have you back, thanks for the feedback. That phone message was the hardest I have had to pass on to a guest., and tear up (even now) remembering., :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the East Indian suite with my family (June 2013). The suite was very spacious, modern, and clean. The view of the Blue Lagoon, from your private balcony was amazing. From the moment we arrived Donovan catered to our every need. The grounds were very well kept. Our personal chef Jennifer prepared our meals which was absolutely delicious. I will definitely return and highly recommend the Tropical Lagoon. This place is a 10 stars..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maydene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks Maydene, Your family was wonderful. The kids were so anxious to make use of the property right away. Watching the children have fun is always a joy for us. Come again soon, there is so much more to enjoy and we were sorry you had to leave so soon :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Tropical Lagoon for the second time last week (June 2013) for a couple's vacation with 2 other couples. Previously I first stayed there in March 2012 with family. I can not say enough good things about this place and I highly recommend it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There were not many people staying at the resort while we were there and we received very special attention. They (Donavon and Mr. Thompson, the resort Managers) really went out of their way to accommodate us. Below are a few of my favorite things about this resort:

1) The complementary kayaks and life vest. You can take the kayaks out to sail the lagoon and you can take the kayaks to see the beautiful mansions along the strip. Also snorkeling gear is provided, which you can take with you to Monkey Jungle Island (we never made it that far).

2) The private beach feel. There were not many other people on the beach, so we often felt like we had our own private beach.

3) Proximity to Reach Falls and Boston Bay. It is about a 30 minute drive to Reach Falls, which is one my favorite spots in Jamaica. You don't have the long lines and hundreds of tourist like at Dunn's River Falls and its just as beautiful. Boston Bay is about a 20 minute drive away and it is the Jerk capital of Jamaica - do I need to say anymore?

4) Accommodating staff. The staff really went out the way for us. When we arrived, they had everything ready and waiting for us. All paperwork was set aside and ready for us to just sign. They also drove us on the golf cart up and down the hill and took our luggage to our rooms. The restaurant made sure to take our request from the night before, so they could accommodate our breakfast orders (btw the banana porridge was the best porridge I have ever had in my life!). There are a lot of fruit trees on site and the staff brought us down fresh coconuts and mango to the beach to enjoy. Finally, they opened the bar after hours just for us, so we could watch the NBA playoffs. It was a very fun time.

I recommend this place, if you want a relaxing and fun vacation. After staying here, i will never stay at an all-inclusive resort again. There is just such so much more to experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Wow, your review makes me want to vacation at our own resort. We appreciate all the invaluable feedback you gave. You were a fun group and really knew how to enjoy yourselves. Tropical Lagoon Resort anxiously await your next visit..,xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple days during my most recent vacation From March 29th to April 5th. Rooms are very clean, I had a room next to the pool (Perfect). Pool was small but clean. Not very many people use it so it was perfect to lay around. Very quiet and feels like home. Staff very friendly and Managment is very hands on ensuring everything if ok and you feel comfortable. Restaurant has an amazing view. This is not all inclusive 5 star resort but in this location you will not find all inclusive. I Enjoyed my stay was exactly what I was looking for as I was visiting friends. The hotel is located on a very big hill so if your going to be walking wear your running shoes to climb to hill. Kitchenette option was nice so we where able to prepare our own food if we wanted.

Great value for the money.

Room Tip: I would def. ask for a room that faces the pool...the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmc4914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will do everything in our power to make sure it will be even better next time. I am recommending the Robin Suite next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My family of four visited based on the excellent reviews and we certainly were not disappointed. Donovan made the reservation and check-in/settle-in process a pleasure. Customer service overall was exceptional.

We stayed at Coconut House and though the website does not mention it, it does have a view. We were able to see the sea from the living room and patio. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV sweetened the deal. The bedroom was awesome, but the sofa bed… not the most comfortable. Good customer service again made up for that - Donovan stopped by to offer us extra pillows.

The entire property is steep so we got a 'work-out' each time we traversed the grounds, especially the walk to the beach. The kids loved it! They also had a great time at the 4ft deep pool. We enjoyed playing in the sand by beach but did not set foot in the 160ft deep lagoon :-). We noted however, that they had floats etc. available to guests.

We brought our own food and cooked, but there is a restaurant on the property. The ambiance there is great but the prices seemed high. A friendly waitress actually came by and offered to take our order; this I understand could have been had at the restaurant or be delivered to our room.

Overall we think Tropical Lagoon offers great value for money and exceptional service - we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Coconut is good for a family with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaDLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NASHUA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We arrived with the correct reservation. They mis filed our reservation and were not expecting us. The rest. Was closed and we had no lunch or dinner service. Just as we'll a grilled chees sandwich for $11.00 ??
The mgr. went to town and picked up takeout for us which was kind. No other comp was offered. The jacuzzi in our room was broken. No light in the kitchen and the bi fold door fell on my head. The beach is a trek down a very steep path still under construction. It was about 50 feet long.
The mgr. chuckled when he acknowledged the travel to Kingston was 2.5 hrs not 1.5. "No one will come if we tell the truth"

No kidding........

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jdmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Hi guys, Thank you choosing Tropical Lagoon resort. We are disappointed right alongside you that your expectations were not met and offer our sincere apologies for your inconveniences but we are grateful for your candid feedback.

However, as you can see from numerous reviews, this experience is by no means characteristic of our resort or its staff. We would be happy to host you here again on a future date so we may be given an opportunity to truly delight you. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
230 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
#5 of 16 in Port Antonio
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Lagoon Resort

Property: Tropical Lagoon Resort
Address: San San, Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Lagoon is an exclusive resort in Port Antonio, Jamaica, nestled on a lush hillside that transcends to the beautiful, world famous Blue Lagoon. Tropical is a hidden gem that offers a lovely mix of modern style in the midst of truly verdant rainforest surroundings. Some of the most picturesque views of Blue Lagoon and the beautiful Caribbean Sea are visible from this resort and, in addition, there's the distinct advantage of having direct, undisturbed access to the therapeutic waters of the Lagoon. The resort consists of 12 elegant, modern apartments, most of which are fully self contained, 2 swimming pools and a central restaurant with a beautiful outdoor terrace open to the views. Located just outside the San San resort area, neighboring beaches are only a 3-minutes drive away. Attractions, the town center and other conveniences are within reasonable reach. Enjoy delightful home cooked Jamaican cuisine. Feel free to discover new surroundings and events taking place in the quintessential town of Port Antonio. The choice is yours, if you desire you can stay on property, sit on the patio and watch the ocean with a drink in your hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tropical Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Lagoon Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing