We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, helpful staff, lots of greenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful grounds, two pools, surrounded by lush greenery. Staff are very friendly and helpful! If they didn't know the answer to our questions they would go out of their way to find out for us (Donovan & Mr. T at the front desk). We didn't bring our cell phones, and they were extremely patient & kind making all kinds of reservation & inquiry calls for us. 24hr security at the gate was also very friendly and nice, helped us flag down taxis and often offered us 'local' tips which was great.

The hotel actually overlooks the Blue Lagoon. You can walk down a steep path to the lagoon itself (5min walk) where the hotel has kayaks guests can use for free. We kayaked over to Monkey Island and San San beach, pretty cool. They're in the process of building a little beach bar down here too which will be great once completed.

The hotel has a driver you can hire to take you anywhere you want to go (not inexpensive though). Alternatively, there are 'route taxis' that drive past the hotel on the main road (back and forth between Port Antonio and Long Bay Beach) all the time. You can flag one of these and basically go anywhere for $1.00 - 1.50 USD. Trips up and down that road are always the same price so you don't need to negotiate. Sometimes it's overcrowded and slightly hair-raising due to speed, but you'll meet lots of interesting friendly locals. Jamaica uses license plate colour coding - 'official registered' taxis have a red license plate. We were strongly advised by everyone to only get in red taxis, so we did and had no issues. Over the week we did a combo of private driver/route taxi depending on the time of night/accessibility of destination. The route taxis make it cheap and easy to go to a different beach every day (Boston, Long Bay, Frenchman's etc...). With the private driver you have to arrange pick-up times which is obviously necessary, but we didn't like. Sometimes we felt rushed, and although he assured us we should take our time we felt bad making him wait in his car. With the route taxi we just walked up to the main road whenever we were ready to leave ad flagged one down.

The only critiques are that the restaurant is extremely SLOW, rather pricey (i.e. $4 USD for a cup of instant coffee, $35 USD for pasta), and closes early, so if you want something from the bar around 9/10pm you're out of luck (you could stock your own fridge though). Also, the bed was not super comfortable. At night there were lots of flying ants attracted to any light source in our room (hard to watch TV). We turned on the light in the closet as a decoy to attract them away from our bedside lamps & TV.

After waiting 1.5hrs for a fried egg and toast we decided to go into Port Antonio and bought water and groceries (rooms have full size fridge, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, cutlery) so we could make simple breakfasts to eat on our balcony. Odd but great, the restaurant gave us packets of ground coffee & filters for free (and a little milk & sugar) so we could make coffee in our room. Much better than waiting for $4 for instant in the restaurant.

Highlights of the trip were Reach Falls, Long Bay Beach, and booking massages at Hotel Mockingbird Hill (non-guests can book spa services and eat at their amazing restaurant - we did both and it was really really awesome).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Wow. A detailed and extremely helpful review. Feedback (good and bad) is essential for the growth and development of the resort and affects our ability to offer excellent guest experiences.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your invaluable feedback and we look forward to hosting you here again soon.

One Love,
From Tropical Lagoon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We drove from Kingston up through island - nice roads and amazing mountain views! This resort is right where Brook Sheilds filmed the 1980 movie Blur Lagoon. resort is stunning and quiet. STEEP track down to the quaint lagoon. 395 steps each way! Great for a day and night. Good restaurant. Make sure to venture into Boston Bay for jerk chicken - birthplace do it all.

There are 2 person kayaks at lagoon - free - try them! Helpful to have water socks/shoes for this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are up above famous lagoon. If you don't like a brisk hike don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We love your review, candid and on point. The steps are a work out Indeed. :)
Thank you for choosing us among so many beautiful villas in San San. We look forward to hosting you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

They say you can never re-create a moment. If that's so, we want our moments with the friends at Tropical Lagoon Resort to be embedded in our minds forever. In our hearts we know they will always remain. It's not just the beautiful scenery (of which there is plenty), nor the fantastic suites and villas, nor is it the made from scratch food and delicacies' wonderfully prepared by native chefs. It's the people we fell in love with. We could name each and every one of the staff, but we think you need to meet them for yourselves. Memories can rarely be created, but if you're in the right place at the right time, you get to live them! Here is such a place.
Senator Clark and Debora Barnes

Room Tip: Every suite is a great suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WVMountaineers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hosting you here was magical! There was only one other couple in the history of the resort that shared their special event with us on the shores of the lagoon itself. You were great guests and are now officially VIP's of The Tropical Lagoon Resort, we cant wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It is very comfortable and positive hotel. Most remembered organized and disciplined friendly staff and luxurious interior. I always recommend it to friends and colleagues. Days, which I spent in this hotel was wanderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinaLaytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you Alina,

Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As soon as we arrived the staff was friendly and gave us a tour of the resort. We loved our villa and private pool area. The walk down to the Blue Lagoon was an adventure and we loved the fact we had our own beach area and canoe to explore. We had an excellent time and already want to go back. It is definitely secluded and off the beaten path, but that is what we were hoping for! The staff was extra helpful when I got news from the states a family member had passed away, they bent over backwards to make the rest of my stay comfortable and were very thoughtful. The Tropical Lagoon Resort is a small piece of Heaven on earth. We will definitely go back! (soon I hope!) Thank you, and God Bless!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We would love to have you back, thanks for the feedback. That phone message was the hardest I have had to pass on to a guest., and tear up (even now) remembering., :(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the East Indian suite with my family (June 2013). The suite was very spacious, modern, and clean. The view of the Blue Lagoon, from your private balcony was amazing. From the moment we arrived Donovan catered to our every need. The grounds were very well kept. Our personal chef Jennifer prepared our meals which was absolutely delicious. I will definitely return and highly recommend the Tropical Lagoon. This place is a 10 stars..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maydene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks Maydene, Your family was wonderful. The kids were so anxious to make use of the property right away. Watching the children have fun is always a joy for us. Come again soon, there is so much more to enjoy and we were sorry you had to leave so soon :(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Tropical Lagoon for the second time last week (June 2013) for a couple's vacation with 2 other couples. Previously I first stayed there in March 2012 with family. I can not say enough good things about this place and I highly recommend it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There were not many people staying at the resort while we were there and we received very special attention. They (Donavon and Mr. Thompson, the resort Managers) really went out of their way to accommodate us. Below are a few of my favorite things about this resort:

1) The complementary kayaks and life vest. You can take the kayaks out to sail the lagoon and you can take the kayaks to see the beautiful mansions along the strip. Also snorkeling gear is provided, which you can take with you to Monkey Jungle Island (we never made it that far).

2) The private beach feel. There were not many other people on the beach, so we often felt like we had our own private beach.

3) Proximity to Reach Falls and Boston Bay. It is about a 30 minute drive to Reach Falls, which is one my favorite spots in Jamaica. You don't have the long lines and hundreds of tourist like at Dunn's River Falls and its just as beautiful. Boston Bay is about a 20 minute drive away and it is the Jerk capital of Jamaica - do I need to say anymore?

4) Accommodating staff. The staff really went out the way for us. When we arrived, they had everything ready and waiting for us. All paperwork was set aside and ready for us to just sign. They also drove us on the golf cart up and down the hill and took our luggage to our rooms. The restaurant made sure to take our request from the night before, so they could accommodate our breakfast orders (btw the banana porridge was the best porridge I have ever had in my life!). There are a lot of fruit trees on site and the staff brought us down fresh coconuts and mango to the beach to enjoy. Finally, they opened the bar after hours just for us, so we could watch the NBA playoffs. It was a very fun time.

I recommend this place, if you want a relaxing and fun vacation. After staying here, i will never stay at an all-inclusive resort again. There is just such so much more to experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Wow, your review makes me want to vacation at our own resort. We appreciate all the invaluable feedback you gave. You were a fun group and really knew how to enjoy yourselves. Tropical Lagoon Resort anxiously await your next visit..,xoxo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
96 reviews
9 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
412 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Lagoon Resort

Address: San San, Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £94 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Lagoon is an exclusive resort in Port Antonio, Jamaica, nestled on a lush hillside that transcends to the beautiful, world famous Blue Lagoon. Tropical is a hidden gem that offers a lovely mix of modern style in the midst of truly verdant rainforest surroundings. Some of the most picturesque views of Blue Lagoon and the beautiful Caribbean Sea are visible from this resort and, in addition, there's the distinct advantage of having direct, undisturbed access to the therapeutic waters of the Lagoon. The resort consists of 12 elegant, modern apartments, most of which are fully self contained, 2 swimming pools and a central restaurant with a beautiful outdoor terrace open to the views. Located just outside the San San resort area, neighboring beaches are only a 3-minutes drive away. Attractions, the town center and other conveniences are within reasonable reach. Enjoy delightful home cooked Jamaican cuisine. Feel free to discover new surroundings and events taking place in the quintessential town of Port Antonio. The choice is yours, if you desire you can stay on property, sit on the patio and watch the ocean with a drink in your hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Lagoon Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing