We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, immaculate and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant, immaculate and relaxing”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We experienced the good fortune of having a local innkeeper in Port Antonio recommend to us that we stay at Tropical Lagoon Resort for our overnight stay.

From the security guard Miguel (who also gave us a wonderful tour of the Blue Lagoon on the property) to the excellent chef, Lloyd, everyone treated us with the highest level of hospitality and respect.

The photos I am attaching will speak for themselves and show you how beautiful this property really is. However, we wanted to pay a special compliment to Chef Lloyd and manager Donovan. Both provided outstanding customer service as they asked us about our food preferences for our evening meal.

I had mentioned to Chef Lloyd that we would love some grilled fish, vegetable and ripe plantains. We were pleasantly surprised when Chef Lloyd served our meal! As you can see, he grilled our food over a real wood fire! Everything was delicious, fresh and perfect!

We definitely look forward to staying at the Tropical Lagoon when we return to Jamaica.

Room Tip: Donovan has a large selection of villas for all budgets and preferences! We stayed in their most ec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallTannedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dondfactor, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing your experience. You were a great couple, we consistently work on improving the guest experience. Come again as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    22
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This resort is an absolute hidden gem. It's a beautiful and quaint place that has a stunning view, coupled with friendly and attentive staff. It was just what I needed on this Easter weekend! The trip down to the blue lagoon was a nice attraction (though it may have been a little treacherous downhill). I was excited that kayaking was also an option on the beach, and took advantage of it for the two days I stayed there.

Good value for money, however the one downside was the wait at the restaurant :(

All in all a good time was had.

Shout outs to Bugs Bunny, Donovan, our friendly chef/waitress at the restaurant and the other gentleman at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amerindiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed the kayaks, we are rolling out some brand new ones soon and by the time you come back the bar and grill on the beach will be complete. Sorry about your restaurant experience. We are working hard on it and have already put in measures to improve.

See you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Grounds are well kept and clean. Donovan (the manager) was accomodating and overall the staff was friendly. The trek to the Blue Lagoon located on property was an adventure - to be tried at least once. We had the opportunity to stay in two different rooms. The first room "Orange" was ok - clean and spacious. The second room "Banana" was a disaster!
That room had an unclean smell and no matter what what cleaning airing was done by the staff to the room the smell persisted. We went into town and bought a spray in order to try to alleviate the odour - that did not work. The volume on the TV in that room kept fluctuating on its own and some of the channels only showed black and white. We decided to have breakfast one morning and we would not advise eating on property as the quality of the food was poor. Once the kinks are sorted out (food, smell of room) it is an ok property to spend some down time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Everton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hey guys glad you liked the Orange suite!

We are indeed a work in progress and your candid feedback is invaluable as without it we cannot improve or correct issues. Although you liked the property we cannot tell you how happy we are that you are pointing out areas we need to improve.

We look forward to hosting you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful grounds, two pools, surrounded by lush greenery. Staff are very friendly and helpful! If they didn't know the answer to our questions they would go out of their way to find out for us (Donovan & Mr. T at the front desk). We didn't bring our cell phones, and they were extremely patient & kind making all kinds of reservation & inquiry calls for us. 24hr security at the gate was also very friendly and nice, helped us flag down taxis and often offered us 'local' tips which was great.

The hotel actually overlooks the Blue Lagoon. You can walk down a steep path to the lagoon itself (5min walk) where the hotel has kayaks guests can use for free. We kayaked over to Monkey Island and San San beach, pretty cool. They're in the process of building a little beach bar down here too which will be great once completed.

The hotel has a driver you can hire to take you anywhere you want to go (not inexpensive though). Alternatively, there are 'route taxis' that drive past the hotel on the main road (back and forth between Port Antonio and Long Bay Beach) all the time. You can flag one of these and basically go anywhere for $1.00 - 1.50 USD. Trips up and down that road are always the same price so you don't need to negotiate. Sometimes it's overcrowded and slightly hair-raising due to speed, but you'll meet lots of interesting friendly locals. Jamaica uses license plate colour coding - 'official registered' taxis have a red license plate. We were strongly advised by everyone to only get in red taxis, so we did and had no issues. Over the week we did a combo of private driver/route taxi depending on the time of night/accessibility of destination. The route taxis make it cheap and easy to go to a different beach every day (Boston, Long Bay, Frenchman's etc...). With the private driver you have to arrange pick-up times which is obviously necessary, but we didn't like. Sometimes we felt rushed, and although he assured us we should take our time we felt bad making him wait in his car. With the route taxi we just walked up to the main road whenever we were ready to leave ad flagged one down.

The only critiques are that the restaurant is extremely SLOW, rather pricey (i.e. $4 USD for a cup of instant coffee, $35 USD for pasta), and closes early, so if you want something from the bar around 9/10pm you're out of luck (you could stock your own fridge though). Also, the bed was not super comfortable. At night there were lots of flying ants attracted to any light source in our room (hard to watch TV). We turned on the light in the closet as a decoy to attract them away from our bedside lamps & TV.

After waiting 1.5hrs for a fried egg and toast we decided to go into Port Antonio and bought water and groceries (rooms have full size fridge, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, cutlery) so we could make simple breakfasts to eat on our balcony. Odd but great, the restaurant gave us packets of ground coffee & filters for free (and a little milk & sugar) so we could make coffee in our room. Much better than waiting for $4 for instant in the restaurant.

Highlights of the trip were Reach Falls, Long Bay Beach, and booking massages at Hotel Mockingbird Hill (non-guests can book spa services and eat at their amazing restaurant - we did both and it was really really awesome).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Wow. A detailed and extremely helpful review. Feedback (good and bad) is essential for the growth and development of the resort and affects our ability to offer excellent guest experiences.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your invaluable feedback and we look forward to hosting you here again soon.

One Love,
From Tropical Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We drove from Kingston up through island - nice roads and amazing mountain views! This resort is right where Brook Sheilds filmed the 1980 movie Blur Lagoon. resort is stunning and quiet. STEEP track down to the quaint lagoon. 395 steps each way! Great for a day and night. Good restaurant. Make sure to venture into Boston Bay for jerk chicken - birthplace do it all.

There are 2 person kayaks at lagoon - free - try them! Helpful to have water socks/shoes for this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are up above famous lagoon. If you don't like a brisk hike don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We love your review, candid and on point. The steps are a work out Indeed. :)
Thank you for choosing us among so many beautiful villas in San San. We look forward to hosting you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

They say you can never re-create a moment. If that's so, we want our moments with the friends at Tropical Lagoon Resort to be embedded in our minds forever. In our hearts we know they will always remain. It's not just the beautiful scenery (of which there is plenty), nor the fantastic suites and villas, nor is it the made from scratch food and delicacies' wonderfully prepared by native chefs. It's the people we fell in love with. We could name each and every one of the staff, but we think you need to meet them for yourselves. Memories can rarely be created, but if you're in the right place at the right time, you get to live them! Here is such a place.
Senator Clark and Debora Barnes

Room Tip: Every suite is a great suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVMountaineers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hosting you here was magical! There was only one other couple in the history of the resort that shared their special event with us on the shores of the lagoon itself. You were great guests and are now officially VIP's of The Tropical Lagoon Resort, we cant wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klevan, Rivnens'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It is very comfortable and positive hotel. Most remembered organized and disciplined friendly staff and luxurious interior. I always recommend it to friends and colleagues. Days, which I spent in this hotel was wanderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaLaytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you Alina,

Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
1.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
230 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
48.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Lagoon Resort

Property: Tropical Lagoon Resort
Address: San San, Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Lagoon is an exclusive resort in Port Antonio, Jamaica, nestled on a lush hillside that transcends to the beautiful, world famous Blue Lagoon. Tropical is a hidden gem that offers a lovely mix of modern style in the midst of truly verdant rainforest surroundings. Some of the most picturesque views of Blue Lagoon and the beautiful Caribbean Sea are visible from this resort and, in addition, there's the distinct advantage of having direct, undisturbed access to the therapeutic waters of the Lagoon. The resort consists of 12 elegant, modern apartments, most of which are fully self contained, 2 swimming pools and a central restaurant with a beautiful outdoor terrace open to the views. Located just outside the San San resort area, neighboring beaches are only a 3-minutes drive away. Attractions, the town center and other conveniences are within reasonable reach. Enjoy delightful home cooked Jamaican cuisine. Feel free to discover new surroundings and events taking place in the quintessential town of Port Antonio. The choice is yours, if you desire you can stay on property, sit on the patio and watch the ocean with a drink in your hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tropical Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Lagoon Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing