We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful to find this great place to stay”
Review of Match Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Match Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have stayed in numerous hotels across Jamaica and have enjoyed this one very much. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a wonderful balcony to sit and enjoy the scenery and ocean. There was an excellent restaurant that served great food and the staff was very friendly. It is set away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but still very close to quickly come and go from town to the great get-away. I highly recommend Match Resort and am making plans to return next year at the same time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were recommended to this hotel by a local resident after being unhappy with our previous hotel. This was a nice, quiet hotel which was well located close to all of the attractions we planned on seeing. Our room had a spectacular view and was clean, equipped with a fridge, air conditioning and had hot showers! The food was excellent and you cannot beat the price. Excellent value. The proprietor, Richard Harris was so welcoming, friendly and he made our stay so enjoyable. We left feeling like we had made a friend, thank you Richard!!
Marlene & Tony

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, friendly staff, wifi, Visa, swimming pool, air condition in the room, parking, terrase in each room. Near Blue lagune, Frenchman beach. Receptionist can help with excursions and transfer. Good restourant and bar! You can buy suvenirs and drinks on reception. Thanks!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It says resort but it is not a resort at all. It's just a guesthouse with basic rooms, far from the sea, very isolated from everything, no lift and no help for luggages, small breakfast included.
Luckly i was there just for one night.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppermoon_12, Owner at Match Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Our other reviews constantly speak to how clean the rooms are and how friendly our staff is. Over the past week we have received negative reviews from Italians who claimed that they stayed there for one night and had the most unpleasant experiences. From insects to dirty rooms and hallways, no hot water etc. One such reviewer and tour leader for a group admit that they never stayed at Match because we we had no vacancy and then attacked us based on a property that we assisted them with finding. They had issues at that hotel and blamed us for it and we can only presume that the remainder of the group think that this was Match resort or they are just upset with thinking that I should be responsible for another hotel and the issues they had there. I only tried to be of service by helping them find somewhere else to spend the night, much to my detriment.
We don’t have a hot water or water pressure problem, insect problem or dirty rooms. Another fact is that due to the terrain, most hotels are not on the beach. I can only think of maybe two hotels in business that are. It is not true that we are far away from the sea. It is in fact 400m away, just look at the balcony views on our website. However a public beach is less than 5 minutes away. We have remained full for December 2013 and partially into Jan 2014 we are now on 75% occupancy level. We find it rather distasteful that this attack seems instigated by the said tour leader whose review was struck off or suspended by trip advisor. Now other members from the group are joining in. All these bad reviews are originating from one thing only and are being done out of spite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at Match Resort for 2 amazing days and fell in love with this beautiful hotel and the great kitchen: i had my very first lobster and it was delicious!!! Like my jamaican breakfast ackee & Saltfish. The rooms are over the top: quiet, clean and equipped with fridge, Flatscreen-TV and Air Condition, Safe, and my room had a nice view to the pool. Everyone is really welcoming and so kind: thank you Mr. Harris!!! I defintely will come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SREICHELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a very great place for vacation. Twenty seven of us went to Match Resort for six days. We had a ball. The rooms are very clean. The food is so good, and their breakfast is out of this world. Our guys had the most wonderful time and fun at the bar. The staff is very accommodating. I must make special mention of Mrs. McFarlene, so patient and kind. This is a very safe and quite place. We all want to go back.
Elizabeth J. for Saint Lucie Cricket & Sport Inc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelylady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I didn't stay at Match but stopped by here one morning for breakfast and it was so good I wanted to give it a review. I went as part of a group of three and we got an omelet, ackee and saltfish and the rundown. All three where excellent. However, the service was a little slow so don't go if you are in a hurry.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BoogieChillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Match Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Match Resort Hotel

Address: Dolphins Bay, Port Antonio 876, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: £66 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Match Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your resort - Alive! Staffed by friendly people. Situated in an exclusive area in Port Antonio, where the view is breathtaking. There are the Blue Mountains in the background and the Caribbean Sea hugging the shore. Its location has been chosen with utmost care, being two miles from the heart of Port Antonio. It is in close proximity to attractions such as Blue Lagoon, Reich Falls, Navy Island, rafting on the Rio Grande, Crystal Springs, Summerset Falls, and the world's famous Boston Jerk Center. Match Resort is where your holiday will be a memory to cherish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Match Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Match Resort Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing