We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful place to stay in Jamaica”
Review of Caribbean Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribbean Dawn
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place to stay in Jamaica”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Caribbean Dawn is definitely the prettiest place to stay in Jamaica. The view from my room was incredible. I felt like I was a princess of the West Indies. I woke up to aqua & indigo blue panoramic view of the ocean. At night I fell asleep in the hammock under the moonlight. The staff is fantastic & helpful. The room was spacious & clean. Even my bedding was soft & cozy. The best part of Caribbean Dawn is the sweet puppies who greet you when you arrive & see you off when you leave. My friends & I visited Jamaica for two weeks & of those two weeks we stayed at Caribbean Dawn for one week. Next trip we will all be staying at Caribbean Dawn for the whole trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My two teen aged sons and I stayed at Caribbean Dawn on two separate occasions during the month of February, 2013. Both stays were very enjoyable. The room was large, clean, comfortable, and airy. Of course the best part of staying at Caribbean Dawn is the view looking east towards Sunrise which lays in the direction of Boston Bay Beach. While enjoying my morning coffee on the balcony when the sun was rising a sense of gratitude came over me which caused me to realize a power much greater than I was responsible for such a splendid moment. An awesome memory that will last a lifetime. Caribbean Dawn will allow you to slow down during your stay yet also allow you to ponder the wonder of the beautiful Country of Jamaica and all that lays beyond the gate of Caribbean Dawn. You'll get to reconnect with your soul while staying there. I wholeheartedly recommend this Guest House to others seeking out all that the lovely, most beautiful of all Jamaican Parishes, Portland, offers.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Yah Mon! Reconnect with your soul at Caribbean Dawn inna Portland Parish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I really liked this place. It was beautiful and peaceful. Too bad the road up the hill is so bad. The road was an unfortunate thing...I must say the other bad was not having hot water, this was okay for me but not my 74 year old father. Apart from that I rather liked being basically "At the top of the world" The sunrises were breathtaking! This was a great reasonably priced getaway. I've done the 5 star all inclusive to the bare bones hostels so I've seen the gamut of accommodations. Caribbean Dawn was good value for the money. I was disappointed that I wasn't able to get the WiFi signal anywhere else other than on the balcony...but, I was happy to have WiFi any at all. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lornasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Wifi booster will be installed in March 2013. This will provide free and strong Wifi reception. More repairs to the lower roadway are also planned for March. However, the road will likely remain a bit rough around the edges. All part of the unspoiled country vibe of beautiful Portland Parish, Jamaica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

If you're looking for a perfect escape from the hectic daily grind, Caribbean Dawn is the perfect escape. Convenient location between Port Antonio and Long Bay/Reich Falls, you're a short and cheap ($100 JMD) cab ride to either, as well as the Blue Lagoon and Somerset Falls. Definitely pack comfortable shoes as the hike up and down the hill to the guesthouse is a workout, but an added bonus if you need to work off the holiday excess. If you're seeking luxury digs, probably not your place, but perfect choice if you want to mingle with the locals and experience real Jamaica.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
This review describes the vision and concept of Caribbean Dawn- experience the beautiful people and places of Portland Parish at a reasonable price (with spectacular views). Has to be experienced in person to be appreciated fully. Come see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was my son and I's first trip out of the country and it was perfect. The location is nestled on a small hill that exposes the property to the best views in Jamaica. It looks over the cove in Boston Bay, other beaches, and the whole local community. Just minutes from beautiful beaches and great Jamaican food. The rooms are very well kept and very spacious. Also each room has its own breathtaking view of the ocean and the community. Very friendly people and awesome views. Perfect for any getaway. We WILL BE RETURNING!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHayes2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
The great setting, vibe and views at Caribbean Dawn makes your quality time and family bonding that much more special. Experience it for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My trip to Boston Bay was one of the most amazing vacations I've ever had. The place itself is unlike any other Caribbean town I've been too. You'll certainly run into tourists there, but relatively less than places like Montego Bay or Negril. The residents of the town are friendly unlike anywhere I've been before. They are not simply interested in talking to foreigners to scavenger for money, instead, they have a genuine interest in making sure you have a good time!

My days usually began at 6am, with a view of the sunrise from my balcony. I liked to think that I got the good room, but the truth is, every room has a breathtaking view. It is about a 20 minute walk to the beach, but it's all down hill, and it is very relaxing and quite easy if done before the hot late morning/afternoon sun. I'd spend hours at Boston Bay beach, where you can get surf lessons from the locals, go for an adventurous leap of the cliff, or simply bask in the wam Jamaican sun. When you get hungry, you can take a short stroll to the Jerk Centre, where they'll jerk just about anything you ask them to (including sweet potato for you veggie-heads!) and accompany it with festival (a kind of corn-bread churro if you will). You can also get very decently priced food at the beach if you're in the mood for something less spicy. When you're spent from the beach, you can head back to Caribbean Dawn in a taxi, which will take up hill for about 400 Jamaican dollars, and enjoy a home-cooked meal by Robert, the chef-in-residence at the B&B. He really is the handy-man and travel guide all-in-one, but his food is DEFINITELY something to write home about, and I guarantee you'll be missing it. For a late night, you could make a trip to any of the local bars for great reggae music and company. There was almost always something to do in the evenings whether it was a fish fry (which was actually a bunch of the locals eating stewed fish and playing dominoes), the weekly talent show (the most talent I've seen in one place, from rappers, to musicians, to dancers), or the road block party in Port Antonio (hands down one of the best parties I've been to, ever). I'm a young traveler, and I would definitely recommend Caribbean Dawn to 20-somethings who like chill vibes and could have the accessibility of clubs at their disposable, but don't need to be surrounded by the noise. I also recommend Caribbean Dawn to visitors looking for a view unlike any other, really everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferjpc, Owner at Caribbean Dawn, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Come to Caribbean Dawn and find out why YOU will never want to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you're looking for a quiet place to relax while taking in great views and the best ocean breeze you ever feel, this is the place to go. As long as you are not afraid of heights and not a fussy traveler, you'll be fine. You'll be treated like royalty with your very own chef to prepare Jamaica's most authentic foods and drinks both morning and evening if you so desire.

My only negative on this place is that it's not kids friendly. So if you're traveling with high energy toddlers and a fair amount of luggage, then I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
4.1 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.5 mi away
Polish Princess Guest House
Polish Princess Guest House
#4 of 27 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Dawn

Property: Caribbean Dawn
Address: Harmony Heights | Boston Bay, Port Antonio Fairy Hill Post Office, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing view. Private room, bath & balcony. Pool. Personal service. Lots of common space. Ease the mind, body and spirit. Spectacular sunrises. Sublime sunsets. Undeveloped and uncrowded. Surf, Swim, Tour - Eat, Drink, Sleep - View, Vibes, Irie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caribbean Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Dawn Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing