We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchman's Cove Resort
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Frenchman's Cove is one of the most beautiful properties in Jamaica. A truly amazing beach.
The region around Port Antonio is a wonderful and overlooked part of the Island. Once the go to spot for world travelers and home to famous actor, this is a place with a faded past. Well worth the visit.

The hotel itself is well run with a helpfully staff. Its a sixties time capsule. Food at the beach side restaurant is quite good, but the menu never changes. What the place lacks is any touch of loving detail. A little local art on the walls and a bit of color would make a big difference. It has the feeling of being run by an absentee owner who does just enough to keep it presentable.

Room Tip: The villas are good value - overlooking the water, but not on the beach.. Would have a car as everyt...
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent four night here with another couple whilst visiting family and friends in Jamaica.
This place was once a haven for the rich and famous. Although a little run down this does not take away from the beauty of the surroundings and the most amazing beach. There was wifi on the beach and in the great house where we ate breakfast. Breakfast was sufficient for our needs. The staff were pleasant mostly, although our initial contact with reception was not very warm. We had a sunken shower and the biggest bed ever.
We are yoga freaks and did a session every morning in front of our sea view, what more could you want.
We ate at Anna Bananas and feasted on fish, curry, rice, salads and plantain.
If it's night life and loud music you want this is not the place for you, but if you want to spend time with your loved ones and valued friends this is prefect.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great !
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeacefulWarrior67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in Villa 11 as another couple did. It was very clean, and very nice. Short walk to breakfast (great!) and the stunning beach. We were only there three days splitting our vacation in half. Lovely, lush, tropical vegetation combined with the beatiful "river meets ocean" beach and the absolute serenity of the locale made this my favorite part of our trip. We first checked into Villa 1, which needs some work. Talked to Victoria, and she handed us some keys to go look at other open villas. Villa 11 was great! Being away from kids was treasure enough, but this place for us helped us build very positive memories of Jamaica. We were almost always the first ones on the beach, and it was great having such a beautiful spot without all the entrapments of a commercial property. The beach at one point had maybe 30 people on it, which is amazingly few considering the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Villa 11 was very nice and HUGE for the two of us - great value!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDK-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We first visited Frenchman's Cove Resort in Port Antonio, we fell in love! So, when my sister graduated in May, she chose a return visit to Frenchman's as her dream trip!
It was like going home and yet the experience was a totally different experience and completely comfortable and relaxing! The hiking on the property, the famous beach, tranquil river that flows and the secluded villas (#3 is my favorite), the unbelievable service, staff and Manager, Mr. Lawrence, make this my favorite place in the world!

Room Tip: Rooms have air conditioning in the bedrooms only and makes for an amazing rest (almost too cold!) bu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traciontheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The hotel has villas which are dotted around the property and then the great house which had a few sooms. We decided to stay in the great house which has less expensive rooms. The hotel isn't fancy and definitely needs some maintenance. The staff were friendly and helpful. The best feature of the hotel is the beach, which is the only reason we choice this hotel. Our room was basic and clean, this was fine for us because we were only staying one night and also didn't plan on being in the room much, just to sleep.
The problems started when I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, luckily I turned on the light before going in. The bathroom was covered in cockroaches, big and small. We don't mind one or two bugs but this was terrible. And of course when I turned the light on they started coming out into the bedroom. I just couldnt think of staying there any longer, and luckily for us we live in Jamaica so at 1am we packed our bags and took the 2hour drive back home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent nine days at Frenchman's Cove and enjoyed our time there. Our villa, a one bedroom #11, was almost the size of a small ranch house and was clean, quiet, and an easy walk to both breakfast and the beach. The grounds are fabulous and definitely take you back to the time that this resort was frequented b the rich and famous. The beach and river are both beautiful and are visited daily by guests from other villas in the area that offer no beach or pool options. Although we enjoyed our stay, we are not likely to return as the road and driving conditions were deplorable. Whether traveling towards Boston Bay or Port Antonio, you must contend with potholes (some of which rival canyons), route taxis, bicyclists, goats, and drivers who do not honor the idea of staying on their side of the road. If they were to improve either route from Kingston to Frenchman's Cove, we would certainly consider another visit.

Room Tip: Villa #11 is spacious, clean, and conveniently located.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdeshais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Amazing views, amazing values for the Villas, gorgeous property, and an amazing beach.

The grounds are beautiful and spread out - you could have a football game in the open area that the east villa drive passes. There is a path along the bluff with beautiful views of the waves breaking against the dark rocks, just about 20 feet from our patio. Many places to walk about here. The great house is up the hill behind the reservation office, and the villas are strung out along the bluffs to the front, sea side, of the office, with the beach in the middle of the villas.

And that beach, which is listed as an attraction of it's own here on Travelocity - folks pay just to come to the beach. Those rocky bluffs have a 30 foot break in them protecting a 100 foot wide cove with a sandy beach. You can walk out to the opening and let the breakers knock you around - it's about 5 foot deep there but that varies as the sandy bottom is carved up by the waves, and those waves can add/subtract 2 feet too! Or relax more in the middle of the cove where the waves have spread way out. Then chill on the beach on one of the wooden lounges with a nice drink on your matching beach table. It's all great.

Know that Frenchman's Cove is not an All-In-One, no phone or TV in the villas (and some with no wi-fi) and it is showing it's age with some of the doorwalls frozen and not ant-proof. No wifi in some of the villas, but if you have one of those you can connect at the beach, the beach restaurant, the main house (where breakfast is served), or sit under a palm somewhere. We were looking for wi-fi but after seeing the villa (#15) we just didn't care about that - at least 100 feet from the neighboring villas with flowering bushes providing even more privacy, massive stoneworked living/dining area, beautifully tiled throughout, nice kitchen, large dressing area, sunken tub/shower, and massive bedroom with a nice sitting area.

The negatives did not bother us at all. We grabbed burgers at Howie's one night, brought 'em back and had them on our patio, watching the speedy Jamaican fireflys zip around. The beach restaurant has a short menu, but what they offered was very good. Breakfast at the main house was buffet style, well staffed, with breads, rolls, cheeses, and a wide selection of fresh fruits.

Frenchman's cove was THE place 30-40 years ago, the first all-in-one ever, and the vacation choice of princes and rock stars. She's showing her age, but she's still a gem.

Room Tip: We loved Villa 15, but if internet is a must get a villa nearer to the beach or main house and check...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Cove Resort

Address: Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
Hotel Class:3 star — Frenchman's Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Port Antonio
Frenchmans Cove Hotel
Frenchman's Cove Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing