We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a slice of heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchman's Cove Resort
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you are looking for a fancy new resort with umbrellas in your cocktails then this is not the place for you.

Frenchmans Cove is perhaps the most beautiful beach in Jamaica, it is perfect for swimming, relaxing, family holidays, lovely walks. I love that it isn't all new and shiny - it just ideal for a delicious and relaxing holiday.

One can self cater in these beautifully designed and very well built big villas that are spaced far apart and have astounding views of dense tropical vegetation and the calm sea, from atop a cliff. The beach is quiet and virtually private and is only a few minutes walk from each one. There is fast wifi in across the property.

It would be a great place to hire the whole property for a wedding or birthday etc.

I didn't see a hotel room but I'm sure they are adequate. Breakfast wasn't lavish but was delicious. The staff were unobtrusive but went out of their way to help. It is recommended to have a car to go to the shops and buy supplies etc. It is just a 2 hour drive or something from Colombo.

I wish I were on this beach right now. A short stay wasn't enough - next time I'm going for a week to really relax.

Room Tip: Villa 2 was great. Big and spacious. I bet the ones on the cliff above the beach might be even bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were in Villa 2 (3br) for 4 nights. That villa has seen better days - there has been no attempt to renovate - Sliding doors didn't work, a/c remote missing, kitchenette was dark and dingy, refrigerator hummed but didn't cool. WiFi only on the beach and great house. It was hot in living room day/night - not sure if it was because it was July.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SometimeTraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I visited Frenchman's cove and hotel 3 times in the past years and each time we enjoy it more and left with no regrets. We always get a room that is on the cliff side and gives a great view of the sea. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Front desk staff are friendly to us. I love the beach and the sea can have strong waves or calm. Either way, we love our experience there and will stay there whenever we are in Port Antonio area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmw63rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The property is amazing. Lush, green, raw and dramatic right on the cliffs. The private beach is picture perfect, with a crystal clear river that runs into it. Super strong reliable wifi all over the resort. Unfortunately the accommodation has seen better days. The days when a young Sean Connery still ruled the silver screen.

We stayed in Villa 13. Incredible view and location. Retro design. A large 1 bedroom at the back. No stove but a small adequate kitchen with fridge. All the window frames were slightly rusted, the doors were hard to close, the shower head was broken, the bathroom door had no handle - just a hole, the AC had to be switched on/off from the outside ( no remote ) etc etc - that being said, it all seemed irrelevant with the spectacular view right on the cliffs. We had friends stay in Villa 12, two bedrooms, brand new kitchen and living room. Less dramatic view, but still on the cliff facing the oceon. So it really depends which Villa you get. Breakfast's are adequate if you stick to the amazing fresh fruit and coffee. The cafe / restaurant on the beach is ok for lunch with orders of grilled fish and jerk chicken taking up to an hour since it is cooked from scratch. This restaurant has so much potential with its location and setting. For dinner I would advise the Mocking Bird hotel for it's local organic fare. Renting a car is worth the effort ( we hired a driver with van ) since taxis are hard to track down and tend to rip you off. This is not a walking anywhere town. Places are hidden all over Port Antonio in spectacular enclaves, so you are advised to organize transport.

Room Tip: Villa 12 - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, big living room and brand new kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

As a Family of Six we chose French Mans cove as a mid way stop of our week long tour of the eastern end of Jamaica

We had a Three Bed room villa, Not all the rooms in the three bedroom villa connect but we made it work for us. The villa was clean and well maintained and the views as it was literally right on the cliffside were breathtaking

Breakfast was ideal, simple but plentiful and suited us down to the ground. We dined at the Beach Grill Once for dinner and again the food was simple but just what we needed.

The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, perfect for just walking around and taking in breath taking views, plants and wildlife as we relaxed.

The beach located at the resort was great, rustic and a fresh water stream that enters the cove was a joy to swim up and down, the kids brining their rings to sit it and then snorkel to see the fish.

Overall a great location, it looks like some of the villas are being upgraded, but what we stayed in was simple, clean and ideal for us.

A great point to stop and travel the Port Antonio Area

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Went to a destination wedding at this resort and spent five days with my extended family, friends and family of my cousin and her husband, my boyfriend and my sister. It was a very lovely experience. It was 48 acres of resort and the view of the ocean and sunset was quite a beautiful sight. Fresh air in the morning. Villas located in several parts of the estate, so it was nice to take walks and peruse, looking at the different flora and trees around.

Only thing I found that the room we stayed in, there was no ceiling fan and no proper view of the estate, because I do not like sleeping with airconditioning and the location of the room, natural breeze didn't easily come into the room so the airconditioning had to be on once in the room. Even on the balcony, it was not very breezy and the trees blocked our view of the estate.

Other than that, the food was lovely especially the breakfast. Wifi was available if we needed it for any reason, and the staff were very very helpful and friendly. We would visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Wandering through the FC property is a trip back to the days when stunning locations were chosen for special resorts and this place is no exception. The setting is spectacular and the grounds are inspiring. Alas, the villas could be awesome with some simple updating (even some nice outdoor furniture to soak in those views would be a major improvement) That said, the villas are clean and comfortable... and the designs are so retro cool... it's almost perfect. Victoria and the front desk team are delightful and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at FC again. It's certainly great value for the price - and how can you argue with a place that has hosted rock stars and royalty. No burning garbage or any other distractions for our visit. We had a blast.

Room Tip: I hear villa 11 and 5 are primo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNRToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Cove Resort

Address: Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
Hotel Class:3 star — Frenchman's Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Port Antonio
Frenchmans Cove Hotel
Frenchman's Cove Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing