We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Huts: The best experience :D”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
“Great Huts: The best experience :D”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great Huts is the best place to stay in Jamaica. It is like being in paradise. I loved every single thing, this resort offers, such as facilities, customer service, food, and the African show where you can learn and be part of it. It is an amazing place where you feel you are in the jungle because of the huts style and the animals surrounding the place. On the other hand, if you go upstairs you can enjoy the stylish swimming pool with a lovely sea view. Besides, when going downstairs you find the beautiful private beach where you can chill out, walk, swim or read a book (you can choose from a nice library the hotel has). I am coming back to this astonishing place because I loved it so much.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andreita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    116
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
113
332
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Words cannot describe how great this place is- you just have to go there. A fantastic two days(too short) spent in nature along with all necessary amenities. Wonderful staff- friendly and extremely helpful. Always a very relaxed atmosphere- like one big family. Great white sand beach next to Great Huts - just a short walk over some rocks(footwear needed) It was so difficult to leave this place.
Angela E

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel147310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed for two nights with the wish of staying longer. This place takes you out from your rational thinking to welcome to nourish you with nature. This would be the world I would love to spend my entire life. Very peaceful, friendly, stunning place. You won't regret to stay and hang out w local people if you want to step out this paradise at nights to grab fresh juice or jerk. One can take a daily explorations to Blue Lagoon, Frenchman's Cove, Port Antonio before heading to Blue Mountains. Happy swimming and snorkeling.

Room Tip: Any room is a different experience which I like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duriye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at Great Huts with my husband for 5 days in early July 2013. It is a place that many people will love. People who want to feel they are a part of the outdoors, who appreciate isolation from the frenetic world (although one can easily take day trips away from Great Huts to enjoy some of the local attractions in the Portland/Port Antonio area), who are happy reading and swimming and relaxing in a rain forest atmosphere. There is so much to love about Great Huts that I can't write about it all. There is more than the outdoors and trees and friendly dogs and turtles and fish and scuttling crabs and ponds and beach and pool and walks and art everywhere you look and good food and friendly staff (and owner who lives in DC when not at Great Huts) and occasional dance, and local as well as foreign culture and snorkeling and surfing and private huts (some with private shower/toilet; some not; we chose to pay extra for a private outdoor hot water shower and toilet) and so much more. It is an extravaganza of serenity and peace and quiet and magical energy spilling out from all the amazing art and artifacts and fascinating treasures at every turn in the path to your hut. There is also quite a library of books--real books if you are one who reads--on a variety of subjects that intrigue. It is a unique combination of simplicity (you can spend all day staring at the sea below and the birds overhead without talking to anyone) and superb location that allows one to venture out into the world beyond. It is rustic and yet it manages to provide the conveniences and many of the comforts you might hope for. If you stay there and want to leave for the day there are taxis just outside Great Huts (either private or group) to drive you wherever you want. We took taxis to visit other beaches and to go rafting and visit Port Antonio; all went well, but the next time we will probably rent a car so that we can come and go at whim without asking what the taxi ride will cost; in addition, it is a long and expensive taxi ride from the Kingston airport...our preference would be to do it on our own, though many people may not; The GH staff all go out of their way to be helpful and informative. We had a wonderful time there and will certainly return. We have been to many areas of Jamaica--Negril, Treasure Beach, M'bay, the north coast, Kingston--and we wanted to see the Port Antonio area after hearing so much about it. The area is different from Negril in many ways. Less tourists was a huge plus. Few of the prison-like all-inclusive resorts of Negril and Mobay was another huge plus. Less hawkers also a plus, though the ones who are there can be extremely aggressive with high prices. The beaches near Great Huts are smaller than at Negril but they are beautiful and much less crowded. One nice long beach we discovered at the last minute is Long Bay--just a short drive from Great Huts. We enjoyed the private small beach at Great Huts as well as the public one called Boston Bay--just a few steps or a short swim from the GH beach area. Great Huts is more than a hotel or a group of huts in a rain forest. It is an enchanting experience to be savored and enjoyed and remembered.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sea Grape. Perfect for us. Perched over the sea. Bathroom with amenities. Small fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place is one of the most unique , most rustic get aways you'll ever find. From bamboo huts to outdoor shower you will truly feel at one with nature. Every fixture, every piece of furniture is a work of art! Your senses will be inundated by all the beauty and culture Great Huts has to offer.

Room Tip: The Queen of Sheeba hut is amazing. The Multi level rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Unique experience!! Excellent service from check in to check out. Spent 3 days just admiring the property and the beautiful artwork and detailed decor. Food was fabulous, Saturday night show was great to see, staff were friendly and professional. It was nice to meet Dr. Paul, the owner - what a nice man. Being part of the Art Exhibit was a highlight. This incredible place is nestled in one of the best locations in Portland, with a spectacular view! I would highly recommend this place as I had the best 3 nights sleep Ive ever had on vacation. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the ocean breeze and waves crashing against the rocks made falling asleep and waking up most amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm032208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiln, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

i stayed at great huts with three of my friends for a week. was the most unique vacation i've ever had. the photos will never do this place justice. if you are thinking of going....just go. the staff and dr. paul are the best. as, you have read this place is not for everyone, but, it sure was just the place for me. when you open that gate to great huts , the beauty will bring tears to your eyes. i'll be back. oh, and spend the money for a hut or house with a water view, breathtaking........

Room Tip: we stayed in the bamboo tree house. well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiope-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deepwater pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing