We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One with Nature”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One with Nature”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Neat Huts to stay in. Cool setting. Very friendly staff. I you do not like hot weather make sure you go during winter because there is no air conditioning. The manager, Lydney, is a great guy and will work to make sure you are happy during your stay. They have their own little water access area on Boston Bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    116
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
115
334
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Pictures do not show how completely amazing the Great Huts are. This is truly on the best places we have ever stayed. Forget all the mainstream faceless resorts and go here for one of the best experiences of complete relaxation and surrounded by the natural world. The huts are all out of this world. We stayed in the Bamboo Hut which had a view to die for! Waking up to a spectacular view of the Bay and the super cool outdoor bathroom with same view. Wowzee what can you say but magnificent! The whole experience is utterly out of this world. The little details everywhere. Each day you find something new, a new secluded spot to sit and take in the views, a new wood carving in amongst the grass, a new path that leads to yet another magnificent view. We read the reviews of the Great Huts and it sounded just the place to visit to relax. We were flying into Montego Bay so initially the extra drive after flying from Europe seemed like another stretch. Well we can only say that thankfully we did decide to take this extra journey because this place ticked every box and more. The minute you walk through the gate you feel you have just entered and fantasy world. A world that leaves all the stress of every day life behind and you truly learn to experience real relaxation. The staff are amazing and super friendly, the small private beach section is amazing, the views are amazing and the Great Huts world is amazing.
The balance of the accommodation is also perfect. Rustic and natural living in a very stylish and comfortable way amongst a natural setting. You really are part of the natural environment.
Could very easily return here for another relaxing holiday.
Its really nice to see there are places like this in the world where real care and thought to the environment and the natural world are considered and allowed to be shared in such a perfect way. The place is a mini adventure!!! A visual masterpiece. Go see for yourself!
If you prefer bland, meaningless hotels and turn down services then stay at home but if you respect the things that are unique and push the boundaries then this is the place for you.
Great Huts Rocks!

Room Tip: The Bamboo Tree Hut has amazing views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellbillyhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is third vivid and I can't get enough! Rooms are designed with nature in mind...if you don't believe me then visit and ask for the Almond tree hut where an almond tree is the canopy for your bed......bathtub overlooks Boston Bay where you'll gaze put a natural stone window...need I say more...simply amazing! Be sure to check put the new snakehead trail....it's great for morning Yoga

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cassanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A few months ago I returned to Great Huts for the second time in a year! Much like the first trip in March 2013, this visit left me with the desire to stay. Why?

Being a nature and art lover, I find Great Huts to be like a magnet drawing me back to its superb setting in a beautiful wooded site on a cliff, overlooking the Caribbean and the enticing lagoon.

And then there is the art and architecture! - the marvelous masks of clay (many done in the ancient Japanese method of Raku firing) by Nakazzi Hutchinson, one of Jamaica's leading contemporary artists, as well as other beautiful works by various artists displayed throughout the resort.
I tend to be a light sleeper but at GH, I "sleep like a baby" as they say. This I attribute to the excellent location in a quiet natural setting, and the welcoming attitude of the staff. There is a fine library at the reception area which I highly recommend. No need to pack any books!

The kitchen menu at GH is varied and well executed. Dining on their "red stripe" chicken was a real treat - truly delicious!

On this my return visit, I also had the pleasure of a refreshing soak in one of the tidal pools on the edge of the lagoon. Heavenly.

I strongly recommend you book a vacation at Great Huts - its a very special place and a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Great Huts for the first leg of our honeymoon, and it was exactly what we needed. A three-ish hour drive from Kingston Airport, the resort is the epitome of comfort and relaxation. The property is on an absolutely gorgeous piece of land, overlooking the water and beaches and providing a perfect backdrop to a unique experience. The individual huts each provide a different setting. We stayed in the Fig Tree House, and the open layout gave us an unbelievable view of the Jamaican landscape at every turn. The beach and water are great for swimming and lounging. The staff were warm and friendly, and the food was tasty and cooked to order. Great Huts is the perfect place to unhook, unwind and relax in the Jamaican breeze.

Room Tip: Fig Tree house was spacious and offered gorgeous ocean views. Also, gigantic soaking bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A 20 min. drive through Port Antonio to Boston Bay then down a dirt road and through the line of famous jerk food huts from which the sound of raggae can be heard all day long will take you to a door within a bamboo fence bordering lush vegetation and to a completely different world. We can only echo the literary, poetic, positive reviews of others for it is like being in an amazingly beautiful dream. You become aware of it from the instant you cross that threshold and are greeted with a warm, sincere and calm welcome. You can put behind you all the troubles of the world for a time and be at peace for Gordon and his team are a model of relaxed, friendly and helpful efficiency and couldn't do enough to make you feel at home. Set on a stunning promontory, the owner has maximised the natural beauty of the location by erecting individually designed, substantial bamboo huts in which to sleep and all with their own character. Based on website info and youtube footage we had chosen Sea Grape which has an outdoor tube, a sea view and is the remotest. We were so delighted for it went beyond our expectations. If it helps, Bamboo and Fig tree houses are also among those that have sea views. Just take a look at their website for there is a wide budget range and so the experience is open to all.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great but think about if you would need to get up during the night and whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefaniaspina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great Huts is an extraordinary environmental African village located in a paradisiac coral rock. Ideal for enjoying nature and great people, friendly, safe where rest and fun go well together. I like it so much that I have been there twice in a year. The food is excellent and made upon request, personal taste and request are fully satisfied, the staff is at your disposal and will make your stay memorable for many years to come. Ideal for quite people who like to meditate as well as for party people and the two are in perfect harmony.
Great Huts is a dream place in a world where there is no longer time for oneself. Rejuvenation, tranquility, beautiful sounds of nature, peaceful and magic. Do no hesitate go and come back with the sensation of having lived a dream that was very real!! The beach, the ocean, the people will provide a unique environment far from our too demanding busy everyday society. Get yourself a taste of magic and intense paradise!!

Room Tip: All the Huts have a typical African flavor, the Sea Grapes offers an extraordinary view on the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing