We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing indoor/outdoor experience”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing indoor/outdoor experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An amazing paradise within a paradise. The place has a very special vibe and it is clear that the owner invests a lot of time and energy to create an experience for guests, not just a place to stay. We are visiting from Israel and were looking for a place that was on the beach, centrally located, with good food and amenities, and with a good energy but that did not feel too touristy. This place fit all of our needs. Each room is uniquely decorated and gives the feel of being both inside and outside at the same time. The staff is friendly and the food is great. The premises are well maintained with great little spots all throughout to sit down and relax. The beach is beautiful. This is one of the nicest places we found in Jamaica and we toured around the whole country and saw a lot of them. There are also different kinds of rooms for different budgets. We only wished we could stay here longer. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    116
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
115
334
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were looking for a Jamaica experience that emphasized the African heritage of Jamaica and was off the beaten tourist path. A colleague of mine recommended Great Huts, and we are very glad to have stayed there. The entire resort has an African theme, and I do not mean in the gaudy sense of a fake "tiki bar" atmosphere. The resort is filled with sculptures and murals that are works of art. The designers of this place incorporated the art works of African (Mazola Wa Mwashighadi) and Jamaican (Nakazzi Hutchinson, Everald Brown) artists. The murals tell the little-known story of Jewish communities in Ethiopia (Beta Israel) and Southern Africa (Lemba). The weekend cultural show demonstrates how African song and dance was transformed gradually over the centuries to become a Jamaican music form with Pan-African roots. I am someone who really likes to learn a lot about the history and culture of the places I visit. Great Huts can be, if you want it to be, this kind of intensive educational experience. The library is so extensive one could spend weeks here just reading books in idyllic settings, and learn a lot. If you are interested in learning about the history of the area I highly recommend a side trip to the nearby Charles Town Maroon museum.

While I have so far emphasized what I consider to be this unique and helpful emphasis on education and history, I could at the same time second what many travelers have mentioned, that is, the beautiful views, and the fun swimming experience either in the sea or in the unique cliff-edge swimming pool. Meals were excellent, and vegetarian-friendly. The place is filled with a talking parrot ("Lily"), colorful birds, fish, turtles, rabbits and other animals. Each hut has a very unique decor. Staff are very friendly and welcoming, and eager to fix any small problem that may arise. The Huts can arrange van/taxi travel to wherever you need to go.

I could also add that I was impressed that Great Huts houses volunteers who work with the homeless in Port Antonio. We visited the shelter in town and it is clean and well organized. It is great to know of a resort that cares both about the environment and about people in need. Therefore I highly recommend to others that you stay here. We also plan to come back ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My son and I arrived at Boston Bay without reservations for Great Huts. They had 2 nights available at one of their two tree houses that are awesome complete with views of this jewel of a bay. The grounds are beautiful and they have an equally unique restaurant/dining area; once in a while entertainment. The town of Boston Bay is small and laid back and is located near other cool places but getting there can be very expensive if you hire rather than opt for the public transportation which typically will take longer but is a trip in itself. if you are looking for feeling safe in small town Jamaica and have the curiosity to get out there and meet the people you will not be disappointed Sure they have goods to sell and if you can afford Great Huts you should be able to bargain for their wares/services which is a great way to meet the people, experience their goodwill vibes, contribute to their lives, and bring home cool stuff. The Jamaican experience rather than the purely tourist experience.

Room Tip: gotta check the available rooms. They are all unique; rustic in a very artsy fashion. I would go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's a beautiful place ideally suited for persons who are not interested in the all-inclusive concept. The design and layout was done to convey the concept of being one with nature. Being there seemed to slow down time for me as the atmosphere was just relaxing - far from the rat race of the corporate world. The staff members are very friendly and know their jobs well. The viewa are AWESOME!!!

Enjoyed our room a lot and the bathroom facilities was a unique mix of modern conveniences and natural appearances.

All in all, this is a great place to spend time away from it all and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for the room closest to the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a wonderful eco-resort with a number of tree house rooms on the edge of a cliff over looking Boston Bay. While the tree houses have ladders to go up & downstairs, there are also a number of huts that are totally ground level. They have a small pool at the edge of the cliff which is ideal for sunsets and moon lit nights. The sounds of waves on the rocks lulled us to sleep every night. There is an African theme to the hotel and many of the sculptures are made locally. On Saturday evenings, there is a cultural show that includes history of Jamaica and traditional dances that was a real highlight.

While maybe too rustic for some, we found Great Huts to offer a unique experience jungle living at its best. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating for any requests we had. The hotel is located about 20 minutes east of Port Antonio and is easily accessible by car, local taxi, or bus. Highly recommended to those looking for some adventure & a real Jamaican experience.

Room Tip: The tree house rooms along the cliffs have the best views and breezes from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We first visited Great Huts in 2013, and we absolutely enjoyed our stay, we stayed in the not expensive Tabernacle Hut under $100 for 6 adults. We loved the ambiance (the fusion of Afro-Caribbean culture)Great Huts's staff from fist minute becoming the part of your family It was unique ecological and cultural vacation experience. Resort is committed to detail and embraces the local culture of Jamaica and her African roots. We where using and looking on authentically crafted art made by sculptors, woodcarvers. One wonderful sculptor Rastafarian R. Spenser has booth just outside of ocean gates. Now we looking on his painting and wood carved map of Jamaica and planning new trip to Boston Bay Great Huts and wonderful Boston Beach where we tried surfing.

Room Tip: Do not afraid to have no hot water shower. Water is never cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaNewland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Believe the hype.
We visited Great Huts this past April and were blown away. The website, the pictures, the Google and Instagram searches led us to expect some pretty exciting things - but nothing compared to walking through that gate for the first time.
The atmosphere was incredible. Authentic. Nothing cheesy, falsified or "resort" about it, you feel as though you've been transported to a jungle paradise. The canopy of trees sheltering the entire grounds keeps you dry in the wet and cool in the heat.
We stayed in the Fig Tree House and also spent a couple days in the Bamboo Tree House. Fig Tree was stunning. The view overlooking Boston Bay, the furniture and amenities, the perfect breeze coming in from the open balcony area, all surrounded by big, gorgeous trees. I couldn't stop taking pictures of the same things over and over again because you never get tired of the views!
The staff were exceptional. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed we felt absolutely taken care of. They know just how to provide the service and accessibility of a high-end resort experience, while enabling total freedom to the guests to enjoy their stay as they wish. They moved our bags from hut to hut for us, were wonderfully accommodating about dietary requests for meals, and always so friendly and approachable. Books, games, videos, tours, water shoes and snorkel gear is all there to use and because of the smaller nature of the place, always available.
We flew into Montego Bay, rented a car, and drove across the top of the island to get there. This is not for the faint of heart, however it meant we had wheels for the duration of our stay. The parking area is monitored by very friendly and professional 24 hour security - as are the grounds. Whenever we took day trips to Reach Falls or Kingston, we were able to bring a charged, pre-loaded cell phone with us courtesy of the Front Desk just in case. This was an exceptionally considerate touch.
DO go to Reach Falls and book with the gentleman via Great Huts. You will not regret it.
Eat everything you can from all the stations at the Boston Jerk Centre - they are eager to please, and the food is delicious. The fruit and veggie stands along the roads were fantastic too, and a great way to really enjoy the super beautiful produce the island has to offer. Bring a picnic of it all down to Boston Bay - the most beautiful beach we have ever seen in our lives.
Spend time exploring the grounds of Great Huts, and definitely attend the Saturday Night Cultural show - something I was originally not really interested in seeing turned out to be one of my fondest memories.
Blue Lagoon, Port Antonio, Frenchman's Cove, and countless other attractions are no more than 20 minutes away, check them out!
There is mosquito netting around every bed, and coils you can burn. Bring spray if you must, but don't stress too much about bugs and nature - in truth I hardly noticed any of them except for the adorable pair of neon green lizards who called our balconies home.
This place is exceptional, but it is unlike any North Americanized resort. You have to want it to get there and enjoy yourself, it's a gem for tho who are willing. Ask yourself if you really want to experience a country for what it has to offer, or if you just want to sit poolside all day and return to your air-conditioned room. There are fabulous options for the latter, but at Great Huts you'll find so much more.

Room Tip: Choosing a hut that is seaside is well worth it for the views and the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing