We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodging as it should be.”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I spent a night at the Great Huts in Boston Bay. Not the ubiquitous offering a standardized all inclusive setting that many have come to expect in parts of Jamaica, Great Huts has character, individuality, uniqueness, and the type of accommodation that provides an impression that will always remain with you. The hotel has a number of different huts spaced intermittently along a meandering path by the cliff. These huts are separated by undergrowth with the greenery providing each hut an individual space and privacy. Inside these huts, it is a world out of the African. One feels as if a character in Hemingway’s Snows of Kilimanjaro on a colonial safari. Wooden beds, stone wash basins, African art work all about. My room had a shower that is in a large row boat shaped tub with a nozzle in the center. Being open air the sounds and sights of the sea and shore along the bay serve as a large back drop. I woke up with the eastern sun shining in on my bed with the sound of the surf, birds, and leaves rustled by the breeze greeting my morning. On this Saturday evening there was a dance program where a local school of fine arts provided entertainment showing dances covering African, slave, colonial and the modern periods. The bar tender was extremely polite. He provided information on different types of drinks and noted the changes in tastes and mixing procedures throughout the years. Up the road from Great Huts is an accumulation of Jerk Pork concessions. Be prepared to have a number of shops vying for your patronage by offering samples of their individual culinary creations. A perfect place to stage as a base for visiting the eastern coast of Jamaica, I highly recommend a staying in Great Huts if you want a true Jamaican experience.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. I would come back to simply sample each one.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Great Huts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

First, these are huts; no real walls, definitely no air con, shared bathrooms and showers for most huts and mosquito nets are necessary. If that's all ok for you, and even if it's just at the edge of your comfort zone, this place is wonderful. We stayed in the Kaya hut which was very large, had 2 double beds on raised concrete platforms with a sand and brick floor, a single fan over one of the beds and mosquito nets. It was August and super hot so that fan was necessary and we were glad to not have to sleep in the other bed that didn't have a fan. I also looked at Akan Hut which only had two twins and was smaller. There's a great library down below as well.

Amenities are everywhere. There are hammocks, outdoor swings, chairs, lounge beds, animal pens, bongos, a cliff walk and one of the most unique pools I've ever been in nestled at the edge of a cliff looking out over the ocean. Night swims were magical. They have their own entrance to Boston Beach but it's a little complicated with the waves, and i'd recommend coming from the actual beach. The surf teachers and people who approach you are very sweet and reasonable but they are relentless.

There were decent food choices around, but the restaurant (though slow..expect 45-60 mins for food) was great. There's also a fun cultural even on Sat nights. There's a jerk center right outside where you can also get good pork, chicken, fish, breadfruit, etc as well.

Gordon at the front desk was warm, charming and super helpful.

The things that were challenging: the road both to Port Antonio, and then down to Great Huts are pretty darn terrible, even for Jamaica standards. Signage could be better. If you're coming from Ocho or west, Boston is still a good 15-20 mins further than Port Antonio so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Blackwood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went to Great Huts in December of 2013 and stayed for a week after a recommendation from a couple of friends. Great Huts is an exquisite and unique experience. Our recommendation would be to go there as a couple or with a group of friends (the hotel is kid friendly but would be more enjoyed by young/older couples alike. There are no TVs in the huts and wifi can be accessed in the lobby. If you have someone in your party who has a hard time getting around, this may not be the place for you. Some huts require climbing ladders and navigating the grounds to get to.

We stayed in the Grape Seed Hut and got a tour of all the others. We loved this hut because it was secluded and offered everything we needed. The sound of waves crashing against the cliffs can be heard all throughout the day/night and a lovely outdoor shower adds to the natural feel. There are many relaxing spots around the hotel to relax and soak in the sun as well as a private beach. Friendly reminder if you do go into the water next to the private beach wear water shoes (provided by the hotel or your own) because sea urchins are everywhere. I learned the hard way but a pair of shoes helped tremendously. Also, bring bug spray!

Breakfast was served every morning and you get to mingle (or not) with the other guests staying there. We made friends with the entire staff who were extremely friendly and accommodating. Andre the young Bartender was particularly our favorite for his outgoingness and passion for what he does.

Although the drive from Montego Bay airport is quite a trek, it is MORE than worth it to get to Great Huts. When we go back to Jamaica, we will certainly be booking at Great Huts again.

Room Tip: The great thing about this hotel is that you can request to switch rooms and try different huts duri...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phel0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently stayed the weekend in the Queen of Sheba suite with my daughter and 5 of her friends. Its multi-storied with two 'bathrooms', one outdoors, the other inside with curtains as walls (ie. not much privacy but you can always ask your friends to go upstairs so they can't hear you as the kids did with each other!) The kids stayed in the giant-sized loft room that has a queen and two double beds. Another 4 friends stayed in two other cottages. Every single person, young teens included, LOVED it. It was an adventure with plenty to explore and discover on site. Great Huts is designed with lots of quiet areas at the end of paths, a cliff-side pool that drops off about 1000 feet to the ocean below, a lovely quiet beach tucked into the rocks with wade pools looking out onto a turbulent sea that is perfect for surfing. It was dramatic yet comfortable, especially the hammocks on the beach, though the terrain is not for the unfit or the infirm. The gravel paths might be deemed steep. Sturdy shoes are a must. My flip flops were ok but bring Tevas or the like. The resort works with nature, not trying to control or eliminate it. Its for the visitor who can appreciate why the windows are open to the forest - to hear the crickets, whistling frogs and other night music, to see a swoop of an owl...

Room Tip: For families, the Queen of Sheba suite. For couples, any of the elevated huts on stilts.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARuthH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've stayed in just about every type of accommodation Jamaica has to offer, from beach huts to backpackers hostels to luxury five star hotels. Great Huts stands out as completely unique. A bunch of individually designed, specially themed huts amidst a tropical forest and overlooking Jamaica's best surfing beach, Boston Bay, great huts is a cure for the cookie cutter experience offered by so many resorts. Great service, great food and authentic Jamaican art everywhere. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaartmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

For me, Great Huts is a heady, soulful, spiritual combination of Jamaica meets Bali en route to the Motherland, Africa. GH is for the most discerning of visitor; one that is aware and is not timid to dive further into themselves. If you're looking for seclusion, GH will give you that and more. A sign of a 'good' hotel for me is one that when I enter, I have no need nor desire to leave the premises. GH gave me that. It is an unusual, exquisite mix of backtrack meets bohemia. There are rooms to meet every budget. The staff are exceptionally hospitable and welcome you as though they are inviting you into their very own home. For those of us who must remain connected to the outside world, internet access is excellent! As a writer I was able to delve deeply into my work. GH is a haven for the creative at heart. While the menu is very basic, the food is of the freshest quality and is made only with LoVe!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UniversalEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great Huts is simply amazing! If you're looking for somewhere completely different, if you want to be at one with nature, if you want to be in an eco-friendly environment.....then this is the place for you. It's exotic and romantic and the entire place is adorned with unusual and fantastic art pieces in every nook and cranny. It's right on the cliff-side of the most beautiful sea with lots of great views. If you're looking for five star luxury,this may not be the place for you. But if you're trying to reconnect to yourself and what's real in life, come here, you wont be disappointed! I love it..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank tinainjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
50.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
10.2 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 29 in Port Antonio
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: £66 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing