We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Huts in a real gem!”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Huts in a real gem!”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

When my husband and I fell upon the Great Huts website, it was a no brainer. Huts in Jamaica? What a wonderful idea! We visited from May 10-16, 2010. We didn't want to go home!
The pictures of the huts on the website are quite accurate, as are the reviews on TripAdvisor. We stayed in both the Fig Tree House (4 nights) and the SeaGrape Hut (2 nights). The Fig Tree House is enormous with 2 levels; a bed (with mosquito net), dresser drawers and a beautiful view of the sea on the top level. Washroom, microwave/fridge (very useful for leftovers, beers) and bunk beds are on the bottom level. The bathtub/shower overlooks the sea as well. Wait a while for the hot water to kick in. Fig Tree is beautiful and the decor is authentic. The bed was very comfortable. Every night we would fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing and crickets chirping-how soothing!
The SeaGrape was actually our favorite of the two. As you walk in through the curtain, you notice the bed with a net right away. There is a window right above the bed that we would leave open at night to hear the sounds of the sea. We found the bed to be a bit small as it was pushed up against the wall, leaving less room for us to move around. Further down is a BEAUTIFUL dining table made of heavy wood. The washroom is constructed in a green house! I was a bit worried about creepy-craw-lies but there was nothing to be scared of. There was a crab living in our sink but he was harmless. The shower pressure was wonderful, and the water never took long to warm up. The piece de resistance was the outdoor bathtub. Fill it up the moment you arrive and let the sun warm it up all day. At night, take a dip and enjoy the stars and the sound of waves crashing. I can’t even describe how wonderful it was to sit in the cool water under the stars after a long day of hot weather.
We ate breakfast prepared by the staff every morning. The breakfast was delicious and we honestly did not tire of eating eggs every morning for 7 days straight. The papaya and pineapple were scrumptous. Sometimes they would serve salted fish/onions with breakfast-this was a treat!
We ate dinner at Great Huts 4/6 nights. We found everything we ordered to be tasty and prepared with care. The pizza (they would top it with shrimp for us) was our favorite and probably the most filling meal there. The goat curry was tasty, the fish was alright. The pina coladas were delish! Yum!
The staff are wonderful, helpful people. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. We ran into the chef at the market in town and he tried to help us find coffee-that was very nice of him.
Manager Tanika never tired of our questions. She was extremely helpful with all of our questions about tours, taxis, beaches, as were the other staff.
Dr Paul, the owner, also made sure we were well taken care of and often asked if we were alright or if we needed anything. He would often mingle with guests and sit with us at breakfast or dinner, chatting with everyone. We appreciated this very much, as it made the atmosphere warm and welcoming. He encouraged us to attend the cultural show on Saturday night in the Great Huts dining room, which we did. No spoilers here but we do encourage you to go, it was not only educational but fun too!
The beach was a bit small but private -there were hardly any people except for guests and a couple of vendors. We found a nice little spot in the water where the waves weren't too rough and just relaxed. The vendors were a little persistent but always very polite. I guess they have to work a little harder to make sales since it’s low season.
There is a jerk center right outside Great Huts. The food is ok but not great. Beware of jewelery vendors, they can be extremely persistent but just be polite and stand your ground.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope that Great Huts is around for a very long time. We were comfortable, able to relax, ate well at breakfast and dinnertime and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A real gem!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yasmin_matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    116
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
117
342
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Great Huts is located on Boston Bay on the eastern side of Jamaica near Port Antonio and far away from the tacky tourist shops, all-inclusives, and hustle of MoBay, Ocho Rios and the other more-visited parts of Jamaica. We chose to stay on this side of the island to get away from the usual tourist trappings and to experience the real side of Jamaica, but mainly because we wanted to stay at Great Huts. It exceeded our expectations!

Great Huts is truly a gem, a one-of-a-kind resort, whose natural beauty is breathtaking. If you enjoy being close to nature in a quiet relaxed environment but with the luxury of a comfortable bed, delicious meals and great attentive service, go to Great Huts -you will not be disappointed!

We stayed for 7 nights in Sea Grape and Bamboo Tree House and didn't want to leave. The outdoor bathtub/pool at Sea Grape, perched near the edge of the cliffs overlooking the sea, is unbelievable. You feel as though you are the only people for miles on your own private waterfront property. It was rivaled only by the relaxing hot tub in the Bamboo Tree House, which overlooks the turquoise waters of Boston Bay. Both rooms have amazing views. We had to tear ourselves away from our rooms. But there are so many other incredible hidden away, little places to explore and hang out in on the resort that are equally special. Wonderful artwork, sculptures and wood carvings are everywhere, blending perfectly into the lush greenery. Many times we felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves even while hanging out on the beach. But all the travelers we met and hung out with at the resort were friendly and great.

Dr. Paul, the owner and creator of this special place, was there for part of our trip and was a gracious host, inviting us to dine with him, taking us on a tour of the property, and personally driving us at no cost to Port Antonio for a boat ride along the coast to Blue Lagoon and Winnifred Beach. The staff was also friendly and accommodating and provided great service. The Jamaicans on this side of the island in general are much more laid back and relaxed than what you may experience in the more populated parts of the island. We ate dinner at the resort a few times and the food and service were first-rate. Most of our other meals were at the Boston jerk center, just a few steps right outside Great Huts - also delicious!

Next time we go to Jamaica, we will definitely stay at Great Huts again. We could not recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geokoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoMermaid
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We stayed at Great Huts for two nights (April 2010). It was fantastic!

You drive down a lane past the Boston Jerk Center and you come up to a fenced property with a front gate. You open that gate into a whole different world!

The main reception area/kitchen envelops you immediately into its embrace. In writing this last sentence, I realize that it sounds a bit over the top - but seriously Great Huts is dramatic and poetic. Dr. Paul Rhodes has created a luxurious natural haven. We stayed at the Sea Grape Hut. It is perched up on the edge of a coral cliff. Minus the tree, staying there makes you feel like you're living out some kind of real life version of Swiss Family Robinson meet Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous.

Huge outdoor bathtub on the cliff with a view of the water - amazing! Plump, fluffy, spectacular bed. A hummingbird flew above our bed both mornings. Really! Shower was the perfect temp, perfect pressure. We wouldn't change a thing.

The beach is spectacular. Snorkeling -- unbelievable. Next time when we bring our kids we plan on learning to surf there. We had dinner and breakfast there both days. Food was delicious. Dr. Paul sang us a song for our anniversary on the last night. It was a lovely charming and surreal surprise. We met some very nice people who were staying there as well.

The grounds are spectacular. You could spend days there and see something new that you feel compelled to take a photo of everywhere you walk and venture. Artwork was beautiful.

Rich in culture -- definite afro-Caribbean vibe -- Great Huts offered us an experience that we will never forget. The staff works together effortlessly it seems -- they present a strong sense of community and family which is absolutely refreshing.

Thanks! - Gregg and Megan Glick

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2010

A really relaxing and true hidden gem of Jamaica. This is the second time that I visited Great Huts and I was very impressed both times. The rustic nature of the resort gives a fresh and relaxing environment. Saturday nights are great for entertainment provided by local musicians/dancers/artists. We went for our honeymoon and it was very romantic!
The best part is probably the natural beauty of the resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiv131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Paul Rhodes and his team have created a very interesting place to stay. Tucked away down a track with jerk vendors, Great Huts is an assembly of Bamboo huts of varying size, style and comfort level. We had the SeaGrape, which is a very rustic cottage with superb views and a large outdoor bathtub. Don't go if you mind other creatures in your room, but then - have you ever woken up with a hummingbird hovering in your bedroom ? During the day, due to the location high on the cliffs, we could see the sea turtles coming up for air in the ocean. - Paul and his team are great hosts , we recommend you join the boat trip that includes swimming in the blue lagoon. Much better than going there by route taxi. Also, if you want an inland day trip (we had not much time , so went for a guide), for example see the Blue Mountains and a traditional Coffee farm, make sure you speak to Arlene who will create a tailored day program for you (not cheap, but really well worth it). Great Huts must be very maintenance-intensive, we know Paul will keep it going !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanFreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I must say, out of traveling to over 15 different countries worldwide, nothing has given the "wow" factor as much as a 4 night stay at Great Huts. The view from the compound is unreal! The water is crystal clear and turquoise blue.

A supper meal at the Great Huts is 15USD but worth every penny. Ronald, aka Chef, will make food that you will remember forever. The coconut shrimp is delicious as well as the baked jerk chicken. The pizza, although i never tasted it, looked very tasty.

The staff are all awesome and easy to talk to. The decor and huts are truly something you will never forget. A trip to Jamaica would not be complete without a couple nights at The Great Huts.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojamsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Leaving Great Huts was very hard. We stayed in the Fantastic Bamboo Tree house. It had a gorgeous view of Boston Bay, an open, private bathroom made of fossilized coral and seashells with a hot tub. Also, a private balcony with a hammock and lounger chair(that could use a new cushion) and a large bedroom with a king size bed, all private and open with amazing views and sounds of the howling surfers, crashing waves and cool breezes. Best view I've ever had while brushing my teeth or taking a hot bath. Breakfast was always the same but tasty, and get to the kitchen where they serve it early, or you won't get a seat and you'll have to wait. The common swimming and lounging areas were really relaxed and beautiful. Everything about the look of this place and how it immersed you with nature was too cool. Lizards running around, fossilized coral, natural pools. little sea snails, ants walking around carrying little nugs of ganja(literally). It would be nice if great huts could keep hustlers out of the resort in the daytime. They have security at night but in the day on the beach, men would always be trying to offer to pick us up food, give us surfing lessons, get us ganj, just about anything. They'd accept a polite no thank you, but I get that enough outside of the resort. It'd also be nice for Great Huts to provide is a bar, or some evening entertainment where guests can go. Often outside the resort, you get hustled alot and it's a bit intimidating, so we stayed in at night which is nice, but I didn't want to retire as early as I did in the evening. They have a fantastic clifftop area that would be great to actually put to use, such as a bar and a fire pit maybe. It'd provide a nice opportunity to meet other travelers. I do advise that you make sure you have swimming shoes, as it it very rocky in the water. We had good food at Great Huts, but it's cheaper in the jerk centre. We enjoyed Davids and payed $1700J one day for 2 jerk entrees and a large bottle of local juice and $1000J another day for 2 entrees. To get the best, fairly priced deal, tell them what you want and how much you want to pay for it. This goes for EVERYTHING. Not just food, keep in mind. Weed, food, taxis, jewelry, just about everything. There's competition, no price is set, and they want your business. BARTER. Otherwise, I'd certainly recommend visiting and requesting the WHOLE tour Reach Falls, taking a Bamboo Raft Ride, visiting Frenchmans Cove and Blue Lagoon. There will often be men offering you seperate tours of each, but they're often scammers whom will charge you an unfair price, or rob you someway or another. Go with recommendations given by the resort. Looking forward to staying at Great Huts again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juneashley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
10.2 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 27 in Port Antonio
183 reviews
130.9 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing