We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place To See The Real Jamaica”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Place To See The Real Jamaica”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Great Huts is a place that we will go to again and again. We've been there twice already, the first time in Feb, 2008, with another couple, and the second time just the two of us in Jan, 2010. Paul is a wonderful host. We 've not had the chance to spend time with his wife. This is a place to go if you're not looking for the Hiltons and the Club Meds but want a simpler type of place -I guess "rustic" might be the term - yet it is clean and comfortable. It's in a part of Jamaica that is not filled with tourists and where one can, if one wants to, go and meet real Jamaican people not just waiters and bartenders and maids. We wouldn't look for any other place to use as a base from which to travel in Jamaica. There's a lovely beach and the food iis great, too. Check out the website.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizLS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    116
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
117
340
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Wauw really beautiful! We enjoyed our stay at the greats huts. Unfortunately it was a little rainy for a few days. But there's nothing wrong with reading your book in the jacuzzi from the bamboo three house for 4 hours. Nice friendly staff. Great food. Perfect perfect perfect!

Best Regards,
Wies and Daan
The Netherlands

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wiesje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Great Huts has left a lasting impression on me.
Visually stunning and different from anything I've experienced before, the resort provided the perfect combination of nature and modernity. It was a true escape from the banality of American life and a source of relaxation, fun, & opportunities for learning; one can jump from the rock cliff into the crystal sea, take showers outdoors, fall asleep to sounds of cicadas and wake up to the resident rooster.

My experience was made more profound by the fact that I volunteered as a nursing student for Paul Rhodes, MD, owner of Great Huts and creator of the non governmental organization, JAFIS (Jamaican American Friends of Infirmaries and Shelters). For about 7 weeks, I volunteered at both a homeless shelter and the Parish Infirmary during the weekdays. While working there, I felt a sense of teamwork and openness with the shelter staff. Overall, I improved my communication and nursing skills through socializing and caring for clients. I am thankful for the unique nursing experience before moving into my final year of undergrad nursing. I recommend 'voluntourism' with JAFIS to anyone working in the health care field or to anyone who simply is driven to care for and learn from others -- the need in Jamaica is there.

After a day's work, I was all the more grateful for Great Huts. Enjoyed the cultural performances in particular and the vegetarian options by Chef Ronald :) Thanks to all the staff!
Respect! ;)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreajean6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Great Huts recreates every notion of the Garden of Eden. A simple but artistically complex village of thatched huts and tree houses built under the jungle canopy. Powerful views from cliff side of the ocean and Boston Beach. Safe, fun, and inexpensive. We spent 17(seventeen) days!
Mike Dresbach, Volunturist

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank Mike37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

book in advance and preview the right HUT as they all have something unique to offer.
this place has all you need to sit and write a book or just jumping in the ocean,.sitting on top of the cliffs. the meals are great especially the pizza's.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribean59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

As a seasoned traveller, I was greatly impressed by Great Huts. Given the rural area, one would expect very simple accommodations that would serve their purpose and nothing more. Great Huts offers much more than any hotel you will find in the area. It has comfortable rooms, several areas meant for relaxation, great food, charm and most importantly, a wonderful staff. The hotel itself is also safe as it is not open to those with no business being there. After staying at Great Huts, I left with the impression that the owner wanted to create a hotel that was affordable, catered to the needs of just about everyone and stood out with a superb staff and character. There is no better place to stay in Port Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I absolutely loved my stay at Great Huts. The staff is very warm and friendly and do an amazing job sharing the jamaican culture with you. Even when they are not on the job they do what they can to help you enjoy your visit, offering to take you surfing or to the best kept secrets and restaurants around town. They genuinely enjoy sharing their island with visitors and are sincere in their service.

The beauty of this resort really cannot be done justice with words, or even pictures for that matter. Most people cannot even conjure up such a beautiful setting in their dreams. Great Huts delivers an authentic small village feel, while still providing all the amenities and luxuries us city-dwellers have come to depend on. The resort is situated on a cliff overlooking a beautiful bay where surfers come to enjoy the waves and has its own private beach and stunning tide pools. There are so many great nooks and crannies with breathtaking views, its overwhelming. At night the stars are amazing.

While it is definitely a journey from the airport being on the other side of the island, its definitely worth the trip. Port Antonio has plenty of shopping and dining options to offer, and as a smaller town, is much safer than Kingston. The resort is also very private and secluded, with security on site for added peace of mind.

If you are staying over the weekend, definitely check out the culture show they put on Saturday night. It is very entertaining and does a good job explaining the jamaican culture, its african roots and also the remembrance of the suffering of slavery.

Overall a great resort and an amazing value that I would recommend to anyone visiting jamaica

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeddebbarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
483 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
398 reviews
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
10.2 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 27 in Port Antonio
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing