We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place, Special People!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 25 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Special Place, Special People!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Great Huts. Dr. Paul has created a special "village" with stunning views, unique tree houses and great staff. Staying here, we felt that we were part of nature. The tree houses are simply amazing. We spent 2 nights in the Fig Tree, which is the nicest of all the "rooms". Very spacious and loaded with cool art. Then we spent 2 nights in the bamboo tree which has a simple bedroom but a great jacuzzi overlooking the beach.

The food is great and the Saturday Night show is a lot of fun! We also got a great massage in our tree house.

The beach is very "natural". I jumped off the rocks into the sea, tried my hand and horseback riding and surfing and we also went scuba diving with Lady G'diva.
Everywhere we went, we met cool people with interesting stories.
We highly recommend staying at Great Huts!.
Back your bags and go! You can thank us later!!!

Joe
NJ, USA

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    113
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
109
329
74
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great Huts was a remarkable life experience for our family and friends. Scattered on the cliffs overlooking Boston Bay, the huts create an African styled village on the beautiful northeastern Jamaican coast. Dr. Paul Rhodes has created a "real" Jamaican experience.
The views of Boston Bay, the Caribbean, and the mountains were breathtaking. Swimming, surfing and snorkeling were daily activities. Meals were fantastic and the staff was helpful and courteous. Just outside Great Huts is the Boston Jerk Center which provided an additional food choice for the teenagers (4 ages 17-19). Aside from the rustic nature, no a/c or televisions and a few insects, Great Huts gave our group a life changing experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Great Huts is a place that we will go to again and again. We've been there twice already, the first time in Feb, 2008, with another couple, and the second time just the two of us in Jan, 2010. Paul is a wonderful host. We 've not had the chance to spend time with his wife. This is a place to go if you're not looking for the Hiltons and the Club Meds but want a simpler type of place -I guess "rustic" might be the term - yet it is clean and comfortable. It's in a part of Jamaica that is not filled with tourists and where one can, if one wants to, go and meet real Jamaican people not just waiters and bartenders and maids. We wouldn't look for any other place to use as a base from which to travel in Jamaica. There's a lovely beach and the food iis great, too. Check out the website.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizLS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Wauw really beautiful! We enjoyed our stay at the greats huts. Unfortunately it was a little rainy for a few days. But there's nothing wrong with reading your book in the jacuzzi from the bamboo three house for 4 hours. Nice friendly staff. Great food. Perfect perfect perfect!

Best Regards,
Wies and Daan
The Netherlands

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wiesje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Great Huts has left a lasting impression on me.
Visually stunning and different from anything I've experienced before, the resort provided the perfect combination of nature and modernity. It was a true escape from the banality of American life and a source of relaxation, fun, & opportunities for learning; one can jump from the rock cliff into the crystal sea, take showers outdoors, fall asleep to sounds of cicadas and wake up to the resident rooster.

My experience was made more profound by the fact that I volunteered as a nursing student for Paul Rhodes, MD, owner of Great Huts and creator of the non governmental organization, JAFIS (Jamaican American Friends of Infirmaries and Shelters). For about 7 weeks, I volunteered at both a homeless shelter and the Parish Infirmary during the weekdays. While working there, I felt a sense of teamwork and openness with the shelter staff. Overall, I improved my communication and nursing skills through socializing and caring for clients. I am thankful for the unique nursing experience before moving into my final year of undergrad nursing. I recommend 'voluntourism' with JAFIS to anyone working in the health care field or to anyone who simply is driven to care for and learn from others -- the need in Jamaica is there.

After a day's work, I was all the more grateful for Great Huts. Enjoyed the cultural performances in particular and the vegetarian options by Chef Ronald :) Thanks to all the staff!
Respect! ;)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreajean6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Great Huts recreates every notion of the Garden of Eden. A simple but artistically complex village of thatched huts and tree houses built under the jungle canopy. Powerful views from cliff side of the ocean and Boston Beach. Safe, fun, and inexpensive. We spent 17(seventeen) days!
Mike Dresbach, Volunturist

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank Mike37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

book in advance and preview the right HUT as they all have something unique to offer.
this place has all you need to sit and write a book or just jumping in the ocean,.sitting on top of the cliffs. the meals are great especially the pizza's.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribean59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
5.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#2 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional African village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The African hut and Amerindian tree-house dwellings studded throughout the meandering, five-acre compound are comfortably furnished and decorated with uncommon African and Jamaican artifacts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing