We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great villa and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have been coming to Jamaica for holidays for more than 10 years and Goblin Hill remains one of our favourite destinations on the island, a place to come back to again and again. The setting is stunning with lovely gardens and fabulous sea views. The villas are spacious, light and airy and really well maintained. What makes staying here extra special is the staff. The manager, Rafael, goes out of his way to make sure your trip is as perfect as possible and he runs a great team. Our house-keeper was delightful, nothing was too much trouble, and her cooking was absolutely divine. It's a great place for families - there is a swimming pool, tennis court, and films are shown in the evening in the lounge area (in addition to every villa having movies and TV on demand). It's also within easy striking distance of some of the best locations in Jamaica: Frenchman's Cove, San San, and Boston - a must for genuine Jamaican jerk. We love it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL-SouthKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear SL,

It was, as always, a great pleasure having you back at Goblin Hill... even if too short.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to read that we are still succeeding in surprising you. We are indeed in a magical place and all of us are eager to share its beauties with our guests.

Come back soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent 4 nights in Villa 28 with a fantastic sea-view.
Miss Shirley, our house-keeper, did a great job looking after us.
She prepared our meals, did the dishes, made our bed etc.
We enjoyed the Tree-Bar and swimming-pool as well as going for bush walks in the 11 acres of well-groomed grounds.
A magical slice of heaven with smiling, friendly people.

Room Tip: Choose a Villa with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugratNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Rugrat,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience at Goblin Hill.

We were all delighted to have you here and we are even more delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Ms Shirley is indeed a gem and is definitely part of the overall experience as all the rest of the team is.

Please come visit us back soon!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We really had the most wonderful holiday experience of our lives at Goblin Hill November 2013. Not only the villas, the garden and pool area were a real paradise, they were completed by very friendly and professional staff. We can definitely recommend Goblin Hill Villas, they are really well managed by Mr. De Campos ! Our wedding on Winnifred beach, followed by a reception a the tree bar with freshly made cocktails and coconut chips (thank you O'Neill !), a tailor cooked dinner in a perfect setting, we had an incomparable wedding experience in Jamaica. And when we woke up with fresh croissants from Mrs. Vera, the dream was continuing... Thank you all, we will be back !

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Maura,

Thank you for your beautiful review.

It was such a pleasure and an honor to host you, your family and friends for your wedding. We are aware of the chance we have to welcome our guests in such a gorgeous and exceptional environment, inside the property as well as all around. And you enjoyed every piece of it...
Come back visit us soon (for your first anniversary maybe?).

I wish you, as does the entire team, a lifelong of happiness!

Tot ziens!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excellent management and staff that is ready to help in every sort of situation. Feel like home, very quiet and peaceful place. Fantastic view on the San San Beach, Blue Lagoon is also closeby. Perfect for couples and staying with friends.

Room Tip: 21 is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Andrey,

Thank you for your great review.
We were so happy to have you at Goblin Hill to celebrate the New Year.
You know that you are home here... so come back visit us soon.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have been to Jamaica 6 times in the past 30 years and have finally found the place I wish to return to again and again.

Goblin Hill Villas is a hillside oasis, perched over the Caribbean Sea, that provides privacy, quiet, activities and natural beauty. We were 12 people, friends and family, on a 2 week vacation. With 4 adjacent villas we had the option to eat on our own or join forces, with the always-helpful hands of the housekeeping staff combining tables for our big meals. The Villas provide a full-time housekeeper for each villa. We even had a "Top Chef" style goat curry cook-off one night, where each villa's housekeeper made their ersion, we blind tasted the curries and awarded a cash prize to the winning housekeeper.

The surrounding area (Portland Parish) is lush and beautiful, with nearby hikes, beaches and waterfalls. Port Antonio is a vibrant and authentic busy town where one can find fresh ingredients for meals (fish from a roadside stall was outstanding).

The villas are a little rundown, but we like the cozy, low-key attitude of the place. I much prefer a little shabbiness over all the brash, high-rise resorts that pepper the island further to the west.
Thank you, Goblin Hill and especially Rafael, the manager, for making our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: We had Villa #15 - perfect for a family, spacious and neat with stunning views, and an attentive, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bklynchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear bklynchou,

It was really a great pleasure having you all here at Goblin Hill. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what we have to offer, the property, the villas, the service, the ambiance and the beauties surrounding us.

Yes, we have our age and are proudly not hiding our few wrinkles. But we are working hard on improving and upgrading our villas, step by step... So I am sure that when you will return you will have an even better and enjoyable experience... just don't wait too long, we are already missing you!

And... who was the winner of the Top Chef competition?

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We recently spent an anniversary week at Goblin Hill, and wish we could have stayed much longer. The views and facilities are wonderful, but what really sets the place apart is how thoughtful and caring the staff are. We equally enjoyed chillin on the property, and exploring the stunning nearby environment. We walked the backroad to Frenchman's Cove, and took several short walks to swim in the Blue Lagoon off the dock. Goblin Hill connected us to a superb local taxi driver and guide, who also helped us explore the area including Port Antonio and the road to Winnifred Beach. We ate many terrific local dishes, thanks to the talents of Wendy who prepared callaloo, ackee, lime pie, grilled fish and other delights in our kitchen. And we enjoyed conversations with staff throughout the week on topics ranging from strategies for seeing endemic jamaican birds to the history of Jamaican mento music (and heard a fine duo playing at the Tree Bar on Sat night). Finally, a birders, we appreciated the Goblin Hill list - and the resources available to connect us to top local guides. Wish we could come back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Anne,

Thank you for writing this great review. What a pleasure it was having you both here at Goblin Hill!

I think you perfectly described the atmosphere and the feelings we are trying to offer to our guests and we obviously succeeded with you. From our wonderful settings to our gorgeous surroundings passing by our caring and accessible staff and our housekeepers' amazing cooking (Wendy is indeed a jewel) everything is done for you to feel comfortable and being part of our family.

Come back soon, your villa is ready!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently stayed at Goblin Hill and enjoyed every minute. Our room was beautiful and the view spectacular....looking down on San San Beach and Bay. Rafael, the manager, was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. He also supplied us with his personal bird list so we would know what birds were found on the property and nearby. Our personal cook, Shirley, cooked amazing local dishes. We highly recommend Goblin Hill as the place to stay if you are headed to NE Jamaica.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear SKN82,

It was such a pleasure having you at Goblin Hill. Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay among us, your villa, the views, the staff and Shirley and her cooking. These are what makes the place so special and we are happy you appreciated it.
Also, a fact maybe less known, Goblin Hill is one of the best place for bird lovers to stay with no less than 22 of our endemic birds to be seen on property.

Don't wait too long to come visit us back!

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goblin Hill Villas at San San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Hill Villas at San San

Address: San San, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £147 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goblin Hill Villas at San San 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goblin Hill Villas at San San Bay sits on twelve acres of lawns and gardens, overlooking sparkling Jamaican white sand beaches and turquoise Caribbean water.All of our spacious villas are self-contained, with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining rooms, and a wide covered terrace or balcony with its own view over the Bay.The villas open onto wide expanses of lawns and gardens. All bedrooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning and ceiling fans.Each villa is staffed with a friendly housekeeper to prepare and serve meals, do your shopping and carry out all house- keeping duties. You will find she is also your unofficial ambassador to Jamaica. Our housekeepers are versatile cooks and can prepare local cuisine, as well as international dishes using locally available produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Goblin Hill Villas at San San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Hill Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Hotel
Goblin Hill Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Villas At San San Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing