We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Destination Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Destination Wedding”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We made arrangements through MaryLou Callahan of Unique Destinations. [-] She helped us with our accomadations, rental car, wedding venue, excursion organizer and so much more. She was so professional, resourceful, and informative. Our visit in Port Antonio ran very smoothly. We had a two bedroom full sea view villa for 7 days. The bathrooms could use some updating but the accommodations were fantastic! Our housemaid, Joan, is still being talked about by our kids. She was very sweet, patient in the market with all 11 of us, pleasant, accommodating, kept everything clean, and was an amazing cook. She learned our habits and had coffee and tea ready for breakfast and after dinner every night without us asking for it. She also cooked fried plantains every night after I made mention of it once. Reach Falls is a must. Go snorkeling at Monkey Island just below Goblin Hill. Swim in the Blue Lagoon and feel the warm and cold waves throughout your body! Winnifred was our favorite beach. We were married on Frenchman's Cove the day after Valentines day.. absolutely beautiful! Ask Jacqui about Nishan for a full body massage, oh my heaven! We had family stay close by but with other resorts and they wished they had stayed at Goblin Hill!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefina_Ottenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    93
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
103
90
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We pre-arranged a transport through the hotel -- Island Car Rentals -- and had a delightful though interesting journey to Goblin Hills, upon arriving in Kingston. Our driver Mr. Lesley Angus was a cautious, enjoyable and yet highly skilled individual as he maneuvered the torrential rains 1 hour from Port Antonio. At one point we drove through a 300 ft. stretch of water, which was rushing over the road, which ran through a sugar cane farm. He knew exactly how to manage dealing with the wet journey and calmly narrated his knowledge about how to deal with water as deep as the middle of the car doors. We were glad to request him as the individual for our return journey.
Goblin Hills is everything any TripAdvisor or online review reports it to be. Celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary we felt like we had stepped into a fairytale. A sea captain we met at the rum and punch gathering told us he had heard that Portie (as they refer to it) is the 6th rainiest place on earth. With the Calypso Band in the background as we talked, we discussed our surprise that we had intermittent and intense rain the first three days of our trip. I would not usually sign up for a rainy holiday, but it did not matter. The environment, the views, the opportunity to simply unwind and the wonderful hummingbirds seemed to drown out the fact that the sun was not shining. For hours we watched four different kind of hummers fight over the multiple hummingbird feeders hanging around the open-air living area attached to the main lobby. With the sound of the waves breaking against the rocks we were lulled into a hypnotic calm.
The sun eventually came out mid-week, though it rained every night, and we had 3 1/2 days at stunning beaches. Vacationing in a rainforest set on the hillsides of such picturesque beaches made it feel like we had for sure found paradise.
Our housekeeper, Sonia, was a gem. We had consistently good food that competes with top-notch restaurants. How fun it was to go to the market several times with her, as she really took care of us. She cooked both what we requested, but by mid-week we often were asking her to surprise us. Each day she made a fruit plate with cheese slices and set it in the fridge for our lunch to be consumed at whatever point we chose. If you go to Goblin Hills ask for her by name at the time of your booking, you will not be sorry.
We will go back in the future, as I have never been any place as enjoyable. This was our third time to the island, twice to Negril. Portie is a step back in time before the big all-inclusive resorts. If you are a traveler and not a tourist this is the place to visit. Go for sure to Reach Falls and do the Rio Grande Bamboo Rafting, as each are excellent adventures. There is so much one can experience here that a month would not be long enough. We met one couple from Iowa who was there for five months, what a great retirement idea.
Lastly, the Goblin Hills staff is primo in that they are delightfully kind, inviting, respectful and work very hard to make your stay everything you might want. Jackie, the woman who runs the facility, really knows what she is doing! I look forward to when we can visit again.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — It could use a little updating, though it is quaint just the way it is!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed only two nights in this hotel. We did not have a reservation, and paid roughly half the price by walking in then if we had reserved prior to our trip. Our trip was last-minute, and we weren't sure where we we were going to stay because finding a moderately priced room in San San is difficult. We looked at a couple other places before we came to this place, and were very pleased with our decision to stay here. The place is quite dated, older furnishing and bedding, but it is clean and offers amazing views of Frenshmen's Cove. The rooms also comes with a kitchen (which is important to us) and housekeeper to cook your meals (we did not use her as we prefer to cook for ourselves and went out to at). Staff was friendly and accomodating. If we stay in a hotel again in San San, this is the place where we will go. There is a bar but not a restaraunt. The pool is decent size and clean. If you require upscale accomodations, you will not be happy here. This place is for the budget travelor.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank b0ssy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We spent seven days at Goblin Hill and had a wonderful experience. The grounds are lush and immaculate. The staff is friendly, hard-working and personable. Our housekeeper / cook Diane was absolutely delightful. We stayed in # 15 and the view was ... to say the least ... stunning (check out the photos).

The trip from Kingston to Port Antonio was close to three hours. I highly recommend letting Goblin Hill set up your transportation. For less than $100 per person round trip they will hire a bus and driver to pick you up and take you back to the airport - a deal! It's quite an arduous drive, so be prepared and a $20+ gratuity to your driver is the least you can do.

All-in-all, Goblin Hill may be the best place we've ever stayed. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Liked — The entire property was lush, well-kept, quiet and goergeous.
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DointheCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2009

It was our honeymoon and we arrived very late that night. When we got there, we noticed a couple guys already waiting in the drop off area out front.They said they had been expecting us. That made us realize how personal the service was from the beginning.
When we got to the room, our meal was already prepared and waiting for us. Ahh boy, it just could not get any better...I thought. We got fresh hibiscus in our villa every morning and evening. The young lady assigned to us, Annie, was beyond amazing, she was a special gift. She treated us much like I expect royalty would be treated.
The premises of Goblin Hill are pristine and flawless. It's the kind of place you don't ever want to leave.
I'm very happy my husband made the decision for us to honeymoon at Goblin Hill. It was not the average all inclusive hotel where you eat the same food and the service is impersonal.
We will definitely be returning to the place. If Goblin Hill Villas is so beautiful, I just cannot imagine Heaven!
Love you guys and thanks for giving us precious memories.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Roads leading to the villas
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2009

My sister Sharon has posted a review on Goblin Hill, I have provided some pictures. If you want to see more pictures please let me know.

The grounds, pool and bar were kept immaculate. The problems are within the villa. We stayed at number 10. I met someone who was staying in villa 8 and she also complained about the second-bedroom seating area and lack of water.

These are supposed to be superior villa's. I know that the superior element is mainly for the sea-view but you still expect basic cleaning standards to apply.

We had to use a piece of board to lock both sides of the patio doors.

The house-keeper also took food that we paid for on our last day at GH. We were moving onto another part of the island and would have used this food as we always stay in self-catering accommadation.

No-one seemed to check the house-keepers work.

The owner/managers of this property need to close the property as the villa's need a lot of work.

After the house-keeper asked for money we were very uncomfortable.

We did not leave any tip as we did not feel that this was deserved.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — uncleaniness and lack of water
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Siandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Ive not been back home a week yet but felt it was my duty to write this review asap. The first night me and my family arrived at goblin hill seemed nice and everyone was polite and the accomodation seem ok i then began to unpack only to find an opened bottle of rum with a dark and cloudly liquid inside, i quickly told a staff member who removed this for me. This same evening we were met with our maid who as part of the package were there to cook and clean for us between the hours of 8am-8.30pm. She took our shopping list request ensuring us she would bring back the receipt , out of the 5 times she went shopping for us she only did this twice, promising us each time she would bring this bak the nex day. We didnt ask for much as all we requested was our breakfast made which was always luch as she always came late. on the 4th day the maid told us her financial worries and asked both my sister and i for money. although we didnt give her any. as days went buy we looked more into the state of our accomodation as the maid hardly cleaned, yes she made the beds etc but the floor was not touched throughout our stay. there were cock roaches and when i asked for spray for this i felt like i was being interrigated. there were many many dead insects hidden in corners amongts dust galore. oh yes the water was brown and only worked sometimes towards the end of our stay we were told this was out of there control. As i dont have the pics at this moment intime i will download at a later date.

  • Liked — the scenery is beautiful.
  • Disliked — the dead insects and lack of clean running water
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shareen121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedbeauty, Resident Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, 24 February 2009
Dear TripAdvisor:

Thank you for your forum which is an invaluable tool for those in the hospitality business and their customers, which results in greater transparency, a better tourism product, and more enjoyable experiences for both parties.

We are very appreciative of our guests’ input, and of their photographs, which go a long way in showing prospective guests our beautiful property. Out of 29 reviews, we currently have 19 five-stars and seven four-stars. We are proud of our high guest return rate, and of the rave reviews we have received from so many our visitors.

While noting that a forum can be open to some abuse, we see comments, both on TripAdvisor and those left in our guestbook on the property, as a useful management listening post, and we pass on comments to our staff and use them as a teaching tool.

We are writing today in response to a recent poor review by two guests who stayed at the hotel in January, which we viewed with concern.

We have examined the claims made by the guests, which concerns aspects of our physical plant, and experiences with a housekeeper. We regard the latter with particular concern, as we make it a point to instill in our housekeeper/cooks the importance of being true ambassadors of their country, as often they are our guests’ first and main link with Jamaicans. In this case, we found their complaints about their housekeeper to have merit, and, commensurate with the importance we place on the housekeeper experience, and our zero tolerance for breaches of our codes of conduct, we have terminated her employment.

We do note with regret that the situation was not reported to the manager during the guests’ stay, when something would have been done about it immediately.

Regarding the condition of the guests’ villa, two issues should be addressed. The water problem the guests encountered stemmed from an unusual blockage in the line from which we receive our public water supply plus the recent installation at our property of an ultraviolet water purification system, and resulting teething problems, which have since been rectified; we of course normally have a plentiful water supply. Next, some of the photos included seem to have been blown up to a great degree, so we were unable to locate the problems they meant to describe. Others relate to the staff issue already noted, and we greatly regret that situation.

We nonetheless take responsibility for each guest’s experience and have acted on the matter to prevent a recurrence.

Again, we thank you for the important service TripAdvisor provides, and look forward to many typically favorable future comments and photographs by our guests.

Yours truly,

Jacqui Neil (Ms.)
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goblin Hill Villas at San San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Hill Villas at San San

Property: Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Address: San San, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Goblin Hill Villas at San San 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goblin Hill Villas at San San Bay sits on twelve acres of lawns and gardens, overlooking sparkling Jamaican white sand beaches and turquoise Caribbean water.All of our spacious villas are self-contained, with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining rooms, and a wide covered terrace or balcony with its own view over the Bay.The villas open onto wide expanses of lawns and gardens. All bedrooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning and ceiling fans.Each villa is staffed with a friendly housekeeper to prepare and serve meals, do your shopping and carry out all house- keeping duties. You will find she is also your unofficial ambassador to Jamaica. Our housekeepers are versatile cooks and can prepare local cuisine, as well as international dishes using locally available produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Goblin Hill Villas at San San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Hill Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Hotel
Goblin Hill Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Villas At San San Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing