We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trident Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trident Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I spend two nights here in July and I found the staff, ambience and the food of a very high standard. During the day we chilled out in our private pool which made it feel like we were on our own little island. The Room standards are very high with all mod cons and out door baths a must. This place makes you feel revitalized and I can't wait to get back....Here's til next time.

Toni

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyJ8326OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
109
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

There's just one word to describe the experience at Trident Hotel and Geejam- Sublime, Remarkable, Breathtaking, Mind-blowing, Memorable, Excellent, PERFECT!!

Yup! you guessed it- there could never be just one word to describe a place so utterly pleasing you are actually able to take your vacation feeling with you when you actually leave. Even now, as I work at my desk crunching numbers as an Investment Advisor, a collage of some the most beautiful scenes you could ever wish runs as my wallpapers-all taken on the properties.

The staff, the food, the music, the environs, the community---Ahhhh Serenity! It is supremely intimate and a perfect haven for your enhancing your relationship. Have to thank Renee especially who seemed to work around the clock.

Anxious to get back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Haven't had a vacation in two years,stumbled on the Trident on trip advisor and decided that is the place i needed to relax. All i can say is perfecto! Food, wonderful although limited. Staff which includes Floyd at the front desk, Renee in the restaurant, the drivers Kali,Nick, and Raymond were top notch. We traveled in the off season but this hotel was spot on. Our villa, # 10 was so comfortable with our own plunge pool and ocean view we didn't want to leave. The workout room was everything we needed to start the day followed by a wonderful breakfast. This property is associated with Geejam, a wonderful jungle resort where we had lunch and dinner.I will be returning to this hunk of paradise this winter. If your looking for a lot of action, don't go, if you are looking to relax, make reservations now!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband used to live in Port Antonio, Jamaica, and decided while touring the island that we should check out the recently refurbished Trident Hotel in beautiful Port Antonio, Portland, which had burnt down in 1986. We were shown round the wonderfully designed complex which consists of private villas, all with private pools, all beautifully laid out and luxuriously furnished, coupled with a lovely restaurant, its own beach, and eternity pool. During our tour we felt that we had to book at least one night there and then - it turned out to be the absolute highlight of our holiday. In fact, we enjoyed the service, the ambience, the privacy and the amenities so much that we couldn't leave without making an advance booking for a full holiday. We shall be looking forward to it until we get back there next summer - it will be a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianeH215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Firstly I Must Say THANK YOU TO ROSIE WHO MADE THIS WEEKEND A SUCCESS. There Was a mix up with our reservation and with absolute GRACE AND AT ALL TIME BEING TOTALLY PROFFESSIONAL he made the whole thing work...THANK YOU SO MUCH. When we got to the hotel we were met at the entrance by staff and was brought to our room byy SHENNETTE WHO WAS JUST LOVELY. She answered all question AND WAS AN ABSOLUTE GRACIOUS HOST. We went for dinner at the restaurant n the property...there was a live jazz band playing...lovely... RENE was our server SHE WAS SIMPLY ADORABLE.We have stayed at other locations in Jamaica BUT THIS PLACE IS BAR NONE... The Grounds are TRULLY TRANQUILL AND STUNNING. We were given a complimentary upgrade...OUR PRIVATE VILLA OFFERED PEACE AND PRIVACY. This very eclectic location is moder and serene at the same time, The property is close to the town...Boston (where you get the best Jerk in the world) is a 15 min drive away and you are just a stone throw away from the beautiful Blue Lagoon and San San beach. .
One thing that I totally appreciated at Trident was the friendliness. Wether they are assisting you or just simply passing you by you are always greeted by a hello, a good morining and a smile...THIS WAS CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ITS BEST...LOVED IT.
My Husband and I have decided that we will be making this our anniversay "Spot" from now on...Awesome!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMona2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have just finished staying at the Trident Hotel with our little daughter and can confirm that
the Trident is an amazing -stunning-and iin a Beautiful location just outside Port Antonio.

The eastern part of Jamaica is in my view the most Beautiful part of the Caribbean overlooked
by the Blue Mountains.

The Villas are spacey and modern all with a small Swimming Pool overlooking the Sea and
also the latest gadgets (ie Apple TV and sound system).

There is also a larger swimming pool at the hotel where I did my customary morning laps before having a sumptuous Jamaican breakfast-made to order.
.
If you are looking for a total chill out in luxury-Than this is the place.
There is every amenity you can imagine including a Small Beach with a lifeguard on the property- However you should head to Frenchman's Cove if you are a beach lover!

The food is freshly prepared and how many other hotels have their chefs ask the guests 'What
do you fancy for dinner tonight' during Breakfast.

A special mention to Steve (the Owner) who looked out for our Interests and all the staff and
drivers -in particular Caly who took us around including a Roadblock (dance hall) in Port Antonio one night while the hotel arranged a last minute Babysitter
.
If you do stay than definately go on the Rio Grade river trip and ask the hotel to arrange a cookout with Miss Belinda ...an experience you will never forget.

We have stayed in some top notch Boutique style hotels and the Trident is among the best
and certainly the best in Jamaica.


We shall return!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just my favorite place in Jamaica. Excellent service and stuff does everything possible to make your stay a memorable one. Private villas provide the necessary peace and privacy, but if you want entertainment - several times a week there is a very good concerts.
We have been there several times and hotel employees remember that we love and we want all the time. The villas themselves are new, everything is new and very elegant.
We definitely will come again this fall

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larysa_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.9 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
453 reviews
127.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
46.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trident Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trident Hotel

Property: The Trident Hotel
Address: Anchovy, Port Antonio 7312, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Trident Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trident’s thirteen oceanfront villas are seductive, cloistered retreats that blend modernist design with an inspired take on 50s and 60s era décor. Residential in feel, the spacious, airy interiors flow organically between bedroom, bathroom, and living areas, while private terraces with soaking pools complete an environment of clean, conscious and luxurious living. Each villa is appointed with hand-selected furnishings and accent pieces complemented by a contemporary tropical aesthetic. An elegant simplicity and harmonized balance make the villas an ideal home-and-away habitat.Room amenities include king bed, room phone, cell phone with own dedicated number (inclusive of 20 minutes free local/international calls), mini-bar/wet bar (at a cost), 500 thread count sheets, mini fridge, 46” LED Smart TV, cable and online movie archive, iPod cradle, home theatre system, walk-in closet, bathrobe and slippers, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, full maid service including evening turndown service, safe, shower, private terrace, heated plunge pool (except Studio Villa), indoor or outdoor bathtub (except Junior Villa A), outdoor shower (1 Shiprock Villa only), swimming pool (1 main pool), air conditioning, ceiling fan and WiFi indoor and outdoor (complimentary). All rooms enjoy ocean view and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trident Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trident Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing