We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has the triple WOW WOW WOW factor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trident Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Trident Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This hotel has the triple WOW WOW WOW factor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Trident hotel really is very special and if you can afford it then you definitely should go. It is expensive but it is also very special.

The Port Antonio area is stunning and my favourite part of Jamaica. If you like beautiful scenery than this is the place to visit and if you want to spoil yourselves, The Trident is the hotel to stay at.
The area offers tons of activities including gentle river rafting, waterfalls, fantastic beaches and gorgeous scenery. However its not really for the party people - that would be Negril or Mo Bay.

Now your room at The Trident is simply amazing, so amazing in fact, no matter how lovely the surrounding area is, you may not venture far from your villa. This was my second visit to the area and I hardly left my room as its was so incredible. As someone else mentioned, it really is like something out of a magazine. I was speechless for the first few minutes went I first arrived.

All the rooms really do have the wow factor.
In fact they are not rooms, they are villas and come with your own private pool (& it’s a big pool) and tons of outdoor space, all ocean front and very private.

The communal areas are really lovely as well; everywhere is designed for your comfort. Its the perfect place to unwind and relax.

There is even a really cool screening room, like a mini cinema which you can book for private hire.

Trust me on this one – treat yourselves to a very special holiday.

Maybe even combine it with a stay at Geejam first which is the sister hotel that’s nestled at the bottom of the Blue Mountains over looking the sea about a 10min drive from The Trident. Another gorgeous hotel and perfect for anyone who wants to relax in the most beautiful scenery. Geejam has a very cool bar and restaurant as well so if you stay at Trident, its well worth a visit to Geejam's bar and also spend the day or a few hours at their beach.

You can use the facilities of both hotels and it makes for a very cool 2 centred holiday.

Both The Trident and Geejam are perfect for couples who want to relax in gorgeous surroundings.


All I can say is Go !!!

Room Tip: The Studio is the cheapest room and though it is still really special, it doesn’t have its own pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelagentincayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
107
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Man did I ever need this trip!! As I entered into the lobby, my stress just melted away. The private villa was very Private, had a VERY large shower, bedroom all white looked very contemporary, with a small but adequate living room. At the back of my villa looked like something out a magazine, a reflecting plunge pool/Jacuzzi with the Ocean as my back drop. Talk about not needing to leave.

I had an outdoor bathtub, that at nights I filled with hot water and bubble bath and just soaked under the stars. For the Men, there is a state of the art flat screen Smart Apple TV that made it able to watch just about everything. The service was Excellent, and this was the cherry on top of it all, food was Great, I have nothing to complain about. The property has its own breath taking private beach. I hav3 to go again REAL SOON.

Room Tip: I am sure ALL rooms are great choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trecia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

To the Management and staff of Trident Hotel and Castle (a member of the Geeejam Group) and specifically to Ms Shevanise Harrison and her team we are extremely grateful for the use of your facility and for your services, including but not limited to, the décor, the food, the cake,. We must say special thanks to Shevanise who has worked assiduously with us from the get go, through the many to and fros, she is truly a terrific human being and could not have been a better event coordinator. The wedding was amazing it was just about perfect which was our desire. We are really really grateful to you and your team for all the hard work done to make the evening the success it was a job well done we say a sincere thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank splendid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here over 10 years ago and what a difference. It has transformed to a clean, crisp. posh, amazing resort. The restaurant was incredible with a live band. The staff were outgoing, friendly and wanted to show their awsome hotel.
Easy choice to stay here.
Great job Trident!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with what you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I spend two nights here in July and I found the staff, ambience and the food of a very high standard. During the day we chilled out in our private pool which made it feel like we were on our own little island. The Room standards are very high with all mod cons and out door baths a must. This place makes you feel revitalized and I can't wait to get back....Here's til next time.

Toni

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyJ8326OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

There's just one word to describe the experience at Trident Hotel and Geejam- Sublime, Remarkable, Breathtaking, Mind-blowing, Memorable, Excellent, PERFECT!!

Yup! you guessed it- there could never be just one word to describe a place so utterly pleasing you are actually able to take your vacation feeling with you when you actually leave. Even now, as I work at my desk crunching numbers as an Investment Advisor, a collage of some the most beautiful scenes you could ever wish runs as my wallpapers-all taken on the properties.

The staff, the food, the music, the environs, the community---Ahhhh Serenity! It is supremely intimate and a perfect haven for your enhancing your relationship. Have to thank Renee especially who seemed to work around the clock.

Anxious to get back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Haven't had a vacation in two years,stumbled on the Trident on trip advisor and decided that is the place i needed to relax. All i can say is perfecto! Food, wonderful although limited. Staff which includes Floyd at the front desk, Renee in the restaurant, the drivers Kali,Nick, and Raymond were top notch. We traveled in the off season but this hotel was spot on. Our villa, # 10 was so comfortable with our own plunge pool and ocean view we didn't want to leave. The workout room was everything we needed to start the day followed by a wonderful breakfast. This property is associated with Geejam, a wonderful jungle resort where we had lunch and dinner.I will be returning to this hunk of paradise this winter. If your looking for a lot of action, don't go, if you are looking to relax, make reservations now!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.9 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#2 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
127.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
127.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
46.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trident Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trident Hotel

Property: The Trident Hotel
Address: Anchovy, Port Antonio 7312, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Trident Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trident’s thirteen oceanfront villas are seductive, cloistered retreats that blend modernist design with an inspired take on 50s and 60s era décor. Residential in feel, the spacious, airy interiors flow organically between bedroom, bathroom, and living areas, while private terraces with soaking pools complete an environment of clean, conscious and luxurious living. Each villa is appointed with hand-selected furnishings and accent pieces complemented by a contemporary tropical aesthetic. An elegant simplicity and harmonized balance make the villas an ideal home-and-away habitat.Room amenities include king bed, room phone, cell phone with own dedicated number (inclusive of 20 minutes free local/international calls), mini-bar/wet bar (at a cost), 500 thread count sheets, mini fridge, 46” LED Smart TV, cable and online movie archive, iPod cradle, home theatre system, walk-in closet, bathrobe and slippers, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, full maid service including evening turndown service, safe, shower, private terrace, heated plunge pool (except Studio Villa), indoor or outdoor bathtub (except Junior Villa A), outdoor shower (1 Shiprock Villa only), swimming pool (1 main pool), air conditioning, ceiling fan and WiFi indoor and outdoor (complimentary). All rooms enjoy ocean view and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Trident Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trident Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing