We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon San Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon San Villa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
luvinmytravel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of February 2009.

I travel a lot to many different Caribbean islands and always knew I just HAD to go to Jamaica. We chose Port Antonio area because it looked less touristy and very Beautiful!
I dislike all inclusives and had been staring at pictures of the villas on the blue lagoon for some time! When I found Moon San Villa rented by the bedroom I was so excited!

We flew to Kingston and Mr Clarke picked us up and he was such a nice man! We really enjoyed him! It cost $135 usd both ways for a 2.5 hour drive. Although a little expensive He was worth it!

Moon San Villa is very Unique. It is only a minute walk to the blue lagoon which is amazing! The actual house reminds me of a beach/farmhouse, not everything is picture perfect but it feels real and cute.

Bedroom # 4 was what we rented out. It is the only room without a view of the ocean. There is no air conditioning either (however we never felt we needed it) It is not the most luxurious room but it felt "Authentic" It is one of the most private rooms in the house that I could see.

Tips For Room
1.Bring your own soap (no soap in room)
2.Bring your own hangers (no hangers in room if you really wanted to hang things)
3.No Safe in room to lock up valuables.

We never asked Donna or Michael about those three things as we didn't find it to be the biggest deal.

The overall feeling of the house is that you are in a bed and breakfast. Donna and Michael were great! Michelle was all smiles! We enjoyed them all.

There was only one deck and it is the very tiny deck that you see in most the pictures. Not a deck to lay out on and read a book. It is a nice deck to get a fantastic view. The other deck was locked up and closed off. If you got together with a bunch of people and rented the whole place out I could see how you would probably use the house far more. As for us we felt comfortable but not comfortable enough to use all the spaces.

Breakfast was very good! Not the largest portions but we really enjoyed it!

We were told it would cost 1usd to get to and from town. It did but not quite what I expected I suppose! Basically you stand by the side of the road and wait for any car to honk! Then you get in and it is kind of like hitch hiking but everyone does it! It was scary at first because you are not always in a registered "taxi" in fact half the time it is hard to tell which are taxis and which are not. By the end of our trip we loved every second of it! We met tons of locals and wouldn't give up that experience for anything in the world!

Our favourite restaurant by far was Woody's which is not very far from the Villa. We had a great time and HIGHLY recommend going there!

Overall we had a fantastic trip!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvinmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    34
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
33
81
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We stayed for one week and could not have asked for a better place to stay in San Antonio. Moon San is central to all the beaches and a 5 minute drive to the city. The staff is amazing and Donna is a wonderful cook. This was our first trip to San Antonio, we have been many times to other parts of Jamaica but this is defintely the most beautiful part of the island. It is very peaceful and non-touristy. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KindredChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

We left Moon San after 4 great days and are now in Negril. Wow! What a difference. Negril has a great beach, but has nothing compared to the scenery around Moon San and Port Antonio. Go to Frenchman’s Cove beach around 9 in the morning and you will have the beach to yourself. The same goes for Reach Falls.
We stayed in the master bedroom at Moon San and would recommend this room to anyone. The room has a view, but the best view is on the upstairs balcony. We stayed on the balcony every night watching the stars.
Donna’s breakfasts were the best and she made us feel like we were at home, not at some hotel. Make sure you go bar hopping in Port Antonio with Michael. He knows everything and everyone knows him. We had a great time.
Moon San is on our be-back-list.
T. Jones

  • Liked — The seclusion
  • Disliked — Road to villa
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank USATJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

I have to chime in. I've been going to Jamaica for 18 years now, and it seems to me that the people who are writing negative reviews want to vacation in Little-America Jamaica. Jamaica is fantastic because it's Jamaica; soon come and sticky and hot and inconvenient and goats barely bigger than cats...

The MoonSan was nirvana. We stayed just a couple of days in the master bedroom at the beginning of July 2008. (Not nearly long enough!) Normally, I stay in Negril, but this time I wanted to get back up to Pt. Antonio.

On my next trip, I think I might just pass on Negril completely. The MoonSan was so beautiful and calming on my spirit. Donna and Mike (?) were such gracious hosts. The home was beautiful. The views and the jungle were awe-inspiring, peaceful and lush. I never did get around to Frenchman's Cove, because I was so thoroughly mesmerized by The Blue Lagoon. (It was under construction the last time I was in Pt. Antonio...17 years ago.)

To the people that complain about air conditioning - it worked perfectly for us - but understand that most Jamaicans don't have air conditioning, so this is truly a gluttonous luxury. The television was a top of the line amenity and the channel selection was surprisingly vast.

To the people that complain about bugs....it's the tropics. The MoonSan was very VERY clean and I didn't notice any unusual bug activity at all. I had food and drink in my room, and heavily utilized the balconies giving bugs ample opportunity to join me...and no unusual number did.

I have been all over Jamaica and I can say with authority that the MoonSan is my new absolute favorite destination. The beauty, the serentiy, the hosts, the location are worth so much more than the nominal room price.

I will definitely be back. And back. And back some more. Thank you MoonSan. You calm my soul.

  • Liked — Location, serenity, hospitality, beauty, scenery.
  • Disliked — Nothing negative about my experience at all.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamaicaNice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

Excellent bed and breakfast! Our time here was truly the best time in Jamaica. The cozy, relaxed atmosphere goes hand in hand with the Jamaican vibe.

Donna and Micheal almost became family during our stay at Moon San Villa. Donna prepares the best breakfast ever! Please try her french toast and scrambled eggs! Micheal came out with us one night at Rooftop and we had an amazing time. You can ask them just about anything and they will arrange everything with a smile!

The rooms are spacious and with a nice decor (not to mention the awesome bath towels!). The location is perfect. Attached to the magnificent Blue Lagoon and the very close to San San Beach and Frenchman's Cove which are a must while in Port Antonio.

Next time I will be back in Port Antonio we will definitely stay at Moon San Villa and will surely advise this bed and breakfast to any friends that are going.

  • Liked — The View and Service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FloRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa, fla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

Ordinarily, I do not write reviews, but due to the genuine hospitality we were given during our stay at the Villa, I felt it necessary.

Donna, the manager, met us when we arrived at the villa. She explained breakfast time, time for the boat ride, shopping ect. and all of our questions.

Donna's cinnamon/french toastwas the best!!! And going to Frenchman's Cove or San San beach in the villa's glass bottom boat was the highlight of out trip!!

We had an excellent vacation and came home and booked the master bedroom for another week this fall.

P. Jones

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank penny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

We stayed at the Moon San Villa. Donna and David were lovely people who were so friendly and helpful to their guests. Donna made awesome breakfasts for us. The people that are saying that you could only have certain things on the menu obviously don't understand how things work in Jamaica. You have to ask for things a day or two in advance. Often, Donna would cook us lovely Lobster and fish dinners. David was just as pleasant. My son Alex was crazy about both of them. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank StPatsDay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.4 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon San Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon San Villa

Property: Moon San Villa
Address: Blue Lagoon Rd, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon San Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon San Villa has all of the charm of an older Jamaican villa that overlooks the Caribbean Sea and is 300 feet from the Blue Lagoon. This villa offers daily COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST FOR 2, FREE USE OF BOAT WITH CAPTAIN for snorkeling and sightseeing to San San Beach, Monkey Island and Blue Lagoon. (If you stay 3 days or longer), you also receive COMPLIMENTARY PASSES TO THE BLUE MOUNTAIN BICYCLE TOUR, #1 tour in Portland. Moon San Villa can be rented per bedroom or take all 6 bedrooms. Moon San Villa offers the perfect blend of peace and tranquility, while enjoying the magnificent natural beauty of the Port Antonio area. Many of the special services offered are private photography tours, in-room massage, beach and mountain horseback riding and private waterfall tours. Upstairs Master Bedroom:$210.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) Master Bedroom:$190.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) Bedroom #1:$175.00 per night Bedroom #2:$175.00 per night Bedroom #4:$145.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) Moon San Stydio: $110.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) There is a $30.00 charge per night, per room for a third person in a room over the age of 5. Rooms have either a ceiling fan or A/C. (See room descriptions) There is COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI in the whole villa. Buy your groceries or have our staff buy your groceries for you and they will COMPLIMENTARY COOK YOUR LUNCH OR DINNER.Each room has cable-TV and coffee makers with Blue Mountain Coffee. Staff includes manager/housekeeper/cook/boat with captain/tour guide/full-time security. Just 300 ft. from the villa is the entrance to the Blue Lagoon. The lagoon is both fresh and salt water, and water temperatures are warm and cold, which makes swimming a whole new experience. Entrance to the Blue Lagoon is included • On some days you might be the only couple. Three other white sand beaches nearby • Must do's while at Moon San: Blue Lagoon, San San Beach, Frenchman's Cove, Blue Mountain Bicycle Tours, Reach Falls, Rafting on the Rio Grande. Our staff can schedule all of your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moon San Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon San Villa Hotel Port Antonio
Moon San Villa Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing