We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean is the best value for your money in Port Antonio”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Crest Guest House
Ranked #18 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I don't know what the first comment was refering to but Ms. Lydia at Ocean Crest made my vacation one of the most memorable. The business is family owned and they truly went the extra mile to make sure we were well accomodated. Ms. Lydia's grandaughter was so kind to even walk with us down town and show us the best restaraunts and attractions. They made us feel like family. The rooms were clean and the view is fantastic. Port Antonio on a whole is the saturated with sweet jamaican flavor. It is so peaceful. Ocean crest is truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Crest Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2009

I recently stayed at Ms Lydia's guesthouse with my young daughter, my sister and her twin girls, and all I can say is, "if you are looking for a family-friendly, fully equipped, spacious, clean and welcoming guest house that is reasonably priced, you should NOT go to this guesthouse!”
The place was a disgrace! It didn't even have the basic amenities that are associated with a kitchen! We had to ask for plates and cutlery to use, the kitchen did not even process a pot to cook in! Even then, we were only given enough kitchenware for 3 people....do the math, there were 5 of us!
The kitchen was crawling with ants, the lights broken, no microwave, no iron and the TV did not work! We had our room cleaned ONCE in the 2 weeks we stayed there, and after reuesting for it to be cleaned the 2nd time we were handed a stack of sheets and towels and told to change our own sheets. The sheets even had holes in them!
When the light went out in my sisters room, she was handed a lightbulb and told to ‘change it herself!’ It was a disgrace!
It was not the kind of service we expected from a guesthouse, especially for the price we paid!
The service and treatment by Ms Lydia and her daughter was appalling! They are rude, uncultured people who responded aggressively and violently when we tired to raise our concerns about our accommodation and used threatening behaviour in front of our three children!
I would strongly recommend against anyone renting from this woman! She is not what she appears to be!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlenepwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My husband and I traveled to Port Antonio. It was a very long day of travel but once we got to Ocean Crest Miss Lydia Jones made us feel like we were part of her family. She served to us every morning a breakfast that was fit for royality. She can cook!!!!! The Inn was extremely clean inside and out. The view was tremendous, looking out to the harbor, the moon at night was romantic. We would sit on our balcony and listen to the sounds of the city and the creatures that rule the night. We awoke every morning to the sounds of the rooster that lives directly behind O.C. and you just had to laugh, some mornings he sounded like Rod Stewart after a gig. If you go to P.A. you should check out O.C. YOU WILL COME AWAY FEELING THE SAME WAY:}

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tawie_mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed here after 2 nights in the Jamaica Palace Hotel. Although I can't fault the JPH (see review) I wished we came to Ms Lydia's Ocean Crest Guesthouse sooner. (or shall I say soon come!) The 3 nights we stayed here was how I hoped our trip to Port Antonio would be like.

We stayed in the newer top floor rooms and had the best views during the mornings and evenings sitting on the balcony. No AC, but the breaze made up for that. Breakfast in the mornings for USD5 was wholesome and freshly made. It is safe to walk to the marina and town from here and Ms Lydia has people that you can arrange with to take you to all the sights (Boston Jerk, waterfalls, river rafting, beaches etc.)

For dinner, do not miss Anna Bananas, we loved it and went back twice! The food is cheap but really tasty and good and the beers always cold.

The only problem was the mosquito's, but we just bought some repellent coils to sort that out. All and all a wonderfull stay that we will remember for a long time.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Die2hasies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The family that owns the guest house is so nice! They have a guy there that does tours and he gives a fair price and provides a taxi. The breakfast is $5 American and they will make whatever you want, tranditional Jamaican or a hearty American breakfast! The rooms have a great view and they are clean and basic. There is no AC so just be mindful of that when planning your trip, most places in Port Antonio do not have AC, so just be aware! It has a great location and the walk downtown is about 5 minutes and the beach is about 10minutes. This is the best place to STAY! The Jones family is GRETAT!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Engelska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I stayed at Ocean Crest July 8th -12th 2007. Ms. Lydia is the owner/
proprietor, and a very sweet lady. I had contacted her via email regarding my accomodations and she did not require a deposit prior to arrival. In fact, I had to find her the next day just so I could pay her after my arrival, LOL!

This is a basic guesthouse, two levels. I stayed on the top level, and the view overlooked the east Harbour. My room, "B", was simple and clean - a full size bed, small dresser, small TV w/4 channels and a bathroom. There was no A/C, but a fan was provided, as well as one towel for the length of stay (i.e. no daily maid service, but I had known about that). July in Jamaica is more hot and humid than say, December, so A/C would have been very nice indeed. The rate was $50US per night.

I found out on my last day that Ms. Lydia would have made breakfast in the mornings had I arranged that ahead of time. Because PA is not as developed as other parts of the island, there are no restaurants within walking distance (except for Norma's at the harbor, for dinner), so for most of my stay, I ate fruit and packaged food from the local supermarket. No coffee or breakfast each morning, bummer.

The property is in a quiet residential neighborhood; a Jamaica Defense Force compund is right across the street, and another guesthouse, "Ivanhoe's", is right next door. In order to get a route taxi to other nearby areas and attractions however, you must walk down the hill into downtown Port Antonio.

To get up to my room, I had to first decend 10 stairs, then ascend 29 of them.

This guesthouse is perfect for the carefree, healthy and fit budget traveller.

If you want or expect a little more comfort, I would suggest one of the area hotels.

2  Thank yamangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Garden House
#14 of 29 in Port Antonio
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
795 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Guest House

Address: Tichfield Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Guest House Hotel Port Antonio
Ocean Crest Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing