We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guest house in a tumble-down town.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivanhoe's Guest House
Ranked #15 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful guest house in a tumble-down town.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ivahoe's for 4 nights during a recent trip to Port Antonio area. The place itself is quite nice; we were on the top floor with wonderful views of the city and bay down below. Breakfast every morning was delicious and served on a balcony with the same beautiful view. We also enjoyed meeting other travelers there, as well as Albert, with whom we arranged a rafting trip down the Rio Grande. The town, however, is incredibly rundown and might come as a shock to many travelers as the streets and sidewalks, as well as many buildings, were dilapidated and there was lots of garbage everywhere. On the upside, staying in town helped us to learn the ropes of the route taxi system and was within walking distance of a few restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The rooms were clean and, ours was a small one so I'll have to say it was cosy. The bed was very comfortable. The view was amazing from the 2nd floor. The staff were kind and efficient.
The shower did not have hot water as promised and the internet did not work in room.
The vibe was pretty quiet and relaxed. It was a very chilled place the one night we stayed (bordering on boring)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I were given a clean, spacious top floor room with great views over the bay, which is the room to go for if you want privacy and good views. 2nd floor rooms are subject to guests gathering at the tables and chairs just outside the rooms. Breakfast was very inexpensive, delicious, and carefully prepared. Xlnt coffee too! Ivanhoe is on the Titchfield peninsula, a quiet old neighborhood free from the bustle of town. We felt safe walking to and from the hotel day or night.
The owner, Lorna Burke, is a generous and helpful person, and her staff quite accommodating. We'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Top floor room facing west over the town and bay is the one to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a horrible weekend at Ivanoehose's in Port Antonio. Most was not the part of the management, but potential guests need to be warned.

If you read nothing else of the review, note, that whole guesthouse is exposed to the harbor, so the party and bar music from Port Antonio will keep you up all night. This is no exaggeration. The music is no gentle murmur that can be overpowered with an air conditioner. It is throbbing base pierced with shrieking dancehall gibberish that will go to to 4 am. The party may as well be on the floor below it is so loud.

Anyway, the day before check-in, we agreed on the price over phone. At check-in, the manager attempted to raise the price a shocking us$20/night, forcing me to haggle down to a price $5 over what we agreed on. Great start.

The room was clean with a pretty harbor view. The air con worked fine. The bed was firm and nicely made with clean sheets. The TV and cable did not and management didn't seem to care. A lone cockroach lived in the bathroom.

The room locks didn't work properly, which was a little startling giving the frequency of attacks on tourists throughout Jamaica.

Adding to our unease, that was on odd group of older German men on the floor below with young trashy local women. Perhaps it was true love. Doubtful, though. Creepy.

At night, however, we didn't notice the Germans' shenanigans, if there were any, because of the above mention noise which made sleep impossible.

We were disturbed, however, by the manager's frequent trips to our room, to bug us. Not to apologize for the noise, or broken TV, or to offer us snacks, drinks etc for sale, but to check on the air conditioner, check on the light, decide 8 pm was the time to do some room maintenance, etc. Very odd.

Finally, it would be remiss to mention that the roads surrounding the guesthouse and being ripped up and in state of disarray. Adding to the potholes are deep trenches. There is poor lighting everywhere and it could be fatal to drive or step in one at night. The street lights, of course, barely function.

Anyone with any sense, will avoid Ivanhoe's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BC4672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ivanhoe is my idea of what a guest house should be like. The owner and staff were welcoming and happy to attend to any requests. I asked for ice and got a big ice bucket which kept me going into the night. The breakfasts were hot and delicious and the wait was only around half an hour and cost J$600. The bedroom was all white and clean and airy with a large window from which you could get a good sea view. The shared patio was quite large and well equipped with tables and chairs. The wi-fi doesnt work in the rooms which was my only gripe, although it works fine on the patio. There is usually a lovely grey and white cat lurking in reception waiting to be petted although he apparently does not live there.

Titchfield Hill itself is a breathtaking olde worlde location. You walk around the streets half expecting Mr Darcy to appear from one of the houses with Elizabeth Bennett in tow. The locals are very friendly and everyone says hello. Don't just take the taxis everywhere as it is only about 10 mins walk to town. It is better to take different walking routes to town and check the different views. You should also stroll down to Titchfield High School and fort on the coast (5 mins walk) and experience the views that these lucky kids get every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very satisifed with everything. The location is in a peaceful, quiet part of town. We had no issues going to and from the hotel at any time during the day and night. The rooms were really good value and very clean. Breakfast is not included, but is cheap and tasty. The owners were nice and helpful and arranged a rafting trip in rio grande with the guide Albert, which I can definitely recommend. He had great knowledge of the river and treated us truly great.

Only thing to mention was the wifi didn't work very well in our room, so it doesn't really cover the entire hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our stay was very nice. It is a good value for the price. You can find cheaper places in the area or at least with breakfast included, but we really liked this place. Cleaning service every day, nice view, room was big enough and clean.

The location was also good. Staff was nice. Maybe in the mronign a little slow with breakfast.

We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
2.9 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
6.5 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
768 reviews
4.7 mi away
Polish Princess Guest House
Polish Princess Guest House
#4 of 27 in Port Antonio
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe's Guest House

Property: Ivanhoe's Guest House
Address: 9 Queen Street | Titchfield Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast or dinner on a breezy terrace with views of the East Harbor, the garden and the sea...All rooms with private bath, hot water; some rooms with cable TV.A five minute walk brings you to the town center with its cambios and ATMs, craft market, shops and restaurants and the Marina Beach...This is Ivanhoe, historic Titchfield Hill’s oldest family run guest house. Let Mrs. Burke and her fine staff treat you to a real Jamaican family holiday.“Come for the price...stay for the experience.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe`s Guest House Hotel Port Antonio
Ivanhoe's Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing