We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Tropical Spice
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the perfect vacation spot”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

we've recently returned from our stay at the tropical spice villas in jamaica. to say it was wonderful is an understatement.the villas are beautiful, the food was great and plenty & the beach is just awesome.the staff was ever present & willingly to catered to our needs with ease.we were pretty sad to leave. we'll definitely recommend family & friends to visit this place. our vacation was perfect & we're already planning our next trip back-to tropical spice of course.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This summer we spent our 3rd vacation in Jamaica & the 2nd at Tropical Spice Villas. Once we got on the property we didn’t wanna leave. The food was pretty good & the staff very accommodating & efficient. Our 3 kids loved the pool & it was hard to get them to come out even for dinner. Very clean beach & the lushness of the property is so enchanting it’s like it’s beckoning you to stay a little longer. We enjoyed ourselves fully & we plan on going back there at least once yearly. A wonderful place for a family vacation.
Tropical Spice got it right again! See you soon.

John & Melanie

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelBee1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We completely enjoyed ourselves during our time at Tropical Spice. A perfect vacation to me is an escape from the rush of everyday life, and chores. Come to stay at Tropical Spice and you will find just that.
From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and well cared for. As we arrived we were offered fresh fruit and juices, introduced to everyone and shown to our villa.
All the meals that were prepared for us were very good. We enjoyed the authentic Jamaican meals as well as some tasty burgers for the kids. Like magic Juilette made all the dirty dishes dissappear after every meal and as needed helped with laundry.
We loved our room and we were very comfortable in it. The bedrooms are clean, air conditioned, large and well appointed. The soaking tub and two person shower in our room was a great luxury.
The property is lovely, well kept by Jack and great for family getaways like ours. Our two children throughly enjoyed the pool. My daughter in particular enjoyed the swing too. It is hung from a large tree and nestled into the back of the grounds behind one of the two villas. Great fun for a three year old! The beach is right at the end of the property and is beautiful.
We feel very lucky to have found such a place, and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmjames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My friends & i stayed at Tropical Spice Villas for 6 days & it was an unforgettable experience.we were greeted by the very friendly staff with fresh Jamaican fruits & refreshing glasses of tropical punch.after meeting everyone, we were taken on a tour of the property by Althea.our rooms were decorated with a tropical ambiance which took our breaths away.it's as if they were expecting royalty.the food was excellent & we kept going back to the bar for the bartender's tasty mixed drinks.Althea was always eager to give us information & fulfill our requests with a smile.she was a great help with getting us safely to our tours & back.the staff was great & treated us like family & not strangers, the grounds are beautiful-well kept by jack the gardener & the beach is one of the most beautiful i've ever seen.all in all, we enjoyed ourselves,didn't wanna leave & we'll definitely be back.i certainly miss waking up at tropical spice everyday.thank you guys for a wonderful vacation.
Pam

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam_peryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Stayed for a week to celebrate my birthday with 2 friends. Everything perfect , food , staff and excellent beach.
A fabulous place and excellent value for money.
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesleyxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

After searching along the highway from Duncans for a hotel room to stay in, we stummbled upon tropical spice via the poor signage.

Althea done a deal for us regarding rates and we arrived the next afternoon.

The accomadation is very good and the bedroom/suite is the biggest i've ever stayed in!.
Grounds are well kept and housekeeping efficient.

All staff are very friendly and dont get in the way too much.

Facilities are good but beach is not private so once through the gates you may smell the scent of 'jamaican cigarettes' and beach front sellers are common but remember they are working and leave you alone if requested.

Now back to the villas.

Luckily for us the second villa was empty, that made our stay even more special and private.
Juccuzi was'nt working but no big deal.
Swimming pool was clean, sound of the sea at night provided a orchestral background.

I'm already thinking about having a special event (50th) at this location and I'm only in my early 40's.
Great place.

Finally......as Arnie would say.......I'll be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Our stay at Tropical Spice Villas was amazing. From the time Warren picked us up at the airport until the day he dropped us off everything was more wonderful than we expected. The drive form the airport to Runaway Bay was relaxing and the views were beautiful. When we arrived at the villa we were greeted by Jackie (the property manager) and Juliette (the housekeeper). They gave us a tour of the villa which was immaculate. The furnishings were upscale and comfortable looking. After a tour of the villa we headed to the beach where Alphonso the bar tender greeted us with drinks and chef, the cook, had a fruit plate, cheese and crackers waiting for us. From that point we knew we were going to be spoiled for a week!

The villas are oceanfront on a beautiful beach. The beach is a nice white sand beach. When we were there, there were small waves which added to the fun. There were very few (if any) rocks or coral in the water. To us it was perfect. There is also a small pier that you can jump off into the water. Breezes is on one side of the villas and on the other side a couple hundred feet a way is the public beach where there are some small shanty like stalls that sell t-shirts, jewelry and wood carvings. The beach itself is not at all crowded, there were some days where we had the beach to ourselves, but it does provide some wonderful people watching as the people from Breezes walk to the little shopping stalls.

The grounds and pool at the villas are wonderful. Jack, the gardener, does a wonderful job keeping everything looking amazing. The pictures definitely do not do the grounds and pool justice. The pool was larger than most pools you find at hotels and condos. We always spent a couple of hours in the afternoon at the pool and the water was so warm and inviting.

Chef, the cook, was amazing. Everything he made had his own special twist. We loved everything he made. Even when we ordered something we thought would be standard there was something special about it. On the last day my husband and I ordered a tuna salad for lunch and we both agreed it was the best tuna salad we ever ate. Our dinners were either Jamaican or had a Jamaican flare. We loved having the opportunity to try things we normally would not have. We ate each meal on the beach, enjoying the beautiful view.

We also had access to Alphonso, the bartender, and the beach bar. We do not drink so we did not get to take full advantage of this. But Alphonso kept us well supplied with water and soft drinks. It was also wonderful to talk to Alphonso and learn about the Jamaican people and their way of life. Alphonso is a wonderful young man and an excellent representative for the Jamaican people.

Juliette is the housekeeper, she kept the villa looking spotless and she always had a smile on her face. She also took care of our laundry. It was so nice to come back to the villa to find our clothes clean and neatly folded.

Our visit to Tropical Spice Villas was more than we could ever have imagined. The pictures you see on-line do not come close to doing the villas, pools and grounds justice. When we come home from our vacation we are usually happy to sleep in our own beds but the beds and bedding were so comfortable that we did not notice a difference. We were trying to think of something we would change to improve things and were hard pressed to come up with something. We would definitely return to Tropical Spice villas and highly recommend them to anyone considering a trip to Jamaica.

Jamaica is a beautiful country and the Jamaican people are some of the happiest and kindest people we have ever met!

  • Liked — villas, service, beach
  • Disliked — going home!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STJ061205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
#4 of 14 in Runaway Bay
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Sonate
Villa Sonate
#2 of 7 in Runaway Bay
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Tropical Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Tropical Spice

Property: Paradise Tropical Spice
Address: Ocean Park Beach, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Runaway Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Tropical Spice 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Spice Villas are beautifully situated on Runaway Bay's finest beachfront. Each villa offers you the services of it's own devoted and delightfully attentive staff, all committed to making your Jamaican getaway a pleasurable adventure in paradise! Each villa features 2 master suites and one secondary. Ideal for multi-family, wedding, or group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Tropical Spice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Spice Villas Hotel Runaway Bay
Paradise Tropical Spice Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing