We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Piper's Cove Resort(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
442
210
40
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
210
40
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanny servicevacation nannyarts and craftsthe grillkids buffetextra setwonderful nannykids clubtwo bedroom suiteglass bottom boatteen coordinatortrue vacationgoatrelaxing family vacationhaving funtennis lessonswater aerobics
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

FDR has been a constant go to over the years. If you are a stressed out parent (with kids under 8 years of age) and need a true rest while your kids have a great time this is the place for you.

However, this trip we were a bit disappointed in the pre-teen and teen activities. The usual energy and coordination to get the kids involved just wasn't present. Also there wasn't a fitness coordinator on-site. Guests volunteered and offered great yoga classes on the pier.

The food was good as usual. Their Jamaican restaurant was our highlight.

Again the truly unique aspect of FDR is their nanny program. The nannies make our holiday relaxing.



  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We recently visited FDR as part of a large extended family group with age ranges from 75 to two yrs old, and would give our trip mixed reviews. Our nanny, Celine, felt like one of the family by the time we left. Although she and many other staff members were hospitable and accommodating, the resort itself was lacking in several areas.
First we checked in looking forward to hot showers and a good night's rest, we got neither. The water pressure and temperature were erratic at best, and when we gave up on showers and decided to go to bed, our bed collapsed! To their credit, housekeeping and maintenance staff made repairs the same night, but this kept us up at late hours after a long day of travel. Over the course of our stay we discovered several items in our rooms that were in various stages of disrepair. Our television had the curious habit of turning on multiple times a night by itself, frequently disrupting our sleep until we finally unplugged it! When it rained we discovered multiple leaks in the roof of our rooms. The food was fair, but somewhat disappointing. Overall the quality of the resort was not what we expected.
We took several excursions and had a great time on all of them, and enjoyed our trip despite the inconveniences incurred at the resort. The staff were extremely pleasant and willing to help in any way they could, but the physical property at the resort needs updates and repairs.

Room Tip: Rooms very spacious, nice layout in two-story townhouses, but condition of rooms needed improvement. If you have small children, get a room facing away from the pool area -loud music at night, and look out for hazardous staircases!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We just came back from FDR where we spent 8 days with our two sons,ages 3&5. It's a very small and poorly maintained property. The nannies are great and overall service is good.However,there is absolutely nothing to do for adults. The beach is tiny,we had to jump over the fence to another resort to use their beach. The pool is small too.The food's selection and quality is poor compare to other resorts. I guess it's a good place for people that work all year and dream about not having to change diapers for a week.

Room Tip: All rooms are huge
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone123, Director of Sales at Franklyn D. Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

The Franklyn D Resort & Spa is 21 years old, which is young by hotel standards internationally. The architecture is reminiscent of an older Mediterranean design. Renovation of hotels in the Caribbean is an ongoing process because of the severe effects of the constant salt air on the facilities, like a cruise ship that does not move.
This family booked a 1 bedroom Oceanview Suite at FDR. Upon arrival they were given a newly renovated Suite with a walk in shower. They however, requested to have a Suite with a tub and they were upgraded, at no charge, to a 2 bedroom Oceanview Suite which had two bathrooms with tubs.
All the guests comments during the week of their stay rated the food as excellent or good. Some comments show: e.g. “The food and atmosphere is great”, The food was good, I love the jerk chicken at the grill”, “Overproof Restaurant is five star”, “the food was very good”, “ Your food and service was the best we’ve ever seen”.

There were many adult activities during their stay such as, cabaret shows, live bands nightly, and native folkloric shows. There was daily Aquacise in the pool with our gym instructor, and there was kayaking and glass bottom boat rides in the ocean.

Mom was never interested in participating in the activities even though she was asked several times by the adult activities coordinator. She always preferred to read her book by the pool. Dad participated in some activities such as daily bicycle tours, playing dominoes and tennis with our resident Tennis Pro. They were not interested in tours off property such as Zip lining, horseback riding, ATV, dolphin cove and Dunn’s River Falls.
Mom mentioned to our activities coordinator that prior to her arrival at FDR, they dropped off some guests at a nearby Resort which had a very large lobby and that our lobby area was small. We do have a small lobby here at FDR, but our rooms are very large, unlike other hotels that have a large lobby and small rooms.
The Sea was rough during their stay, which caused the sand to shift on the Eastern beach and this made it difficult to access. However, it is already coming back because it is a natural beach and access is much easier now.
We thank you for placing your comments in writing. Here at FDR we believe in 100% guest satisfaction and we always try to achieve this standard by all means possible. We will endeavor to do better and we trust that you will visit with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have been to FDR 5 times. I was the fitness instructor for the resort each time but also always treated as a guest with my husband and our kids ages 2-7 (first trip) up to ages 7-12 (last trip). We LOVED FDR, the staff, the dining, the attention to detail and the bar!! Every employee is looking to make your trip more enjoyable. We met families from across the USA who we still keep in contact with and travel with. It is a melting pot of professionals and several different countries are always represented on each trip. Our kids got so used to the grounds that we only had the (wonderful) nannies the first yr., then they were capable to roam freely (to a degree). Beach is coved in so the surf is not an issue. Staff will help your kids fish and build in the sand. I really like the kitchens in the rooms and the kids could eat breakfast without leaving the room. Each year we saw resort upgrades and improvements across the board. The overall feel is VERY relaxed and casual, our kind of trip!! I don't think our boys changed out of their bathing suits, dress code is not an issue (for adults either!!!). GREAT memories for ALL OF US!! We are headed back to Jamaica for Xmas 2012 but renting a house in Runaway Bay to see how it compares. I'm nervous that we should just return to FDR...stay tuned!!!!

Room Tip: we traveled to FDR last in Jan 2009
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband & I brought our 1 year old son to FDR in November for 5 days. We were a little skeptical about the idea of leaving him with the vacation nanny before we arrived. We knew right away that we had made the right choice when we met Lisa. She was great with our son and we never worried once. The resort is small enough that your child is never far away, but mom & dad can completely relax knowing baby is in good hands. We also had Lisa stay over one evening so that we could have dinner alone, which was wonderful. The resort is not a luxury spot, but it is very clean, the staff is phenomenal and you get to meet a lot of other parent & kids in a very fun environment. We CANNOT WAIT to go back this year! If you have small children and are on the fence about visiting FDR, don't be. Book your trip today!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews