We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We just got back from 5 nights at the FDR Resort, and our whole family had a great time.

The Resort: the property packs a lot of stuff into a relatively small space -- which is great because you can give your kids freedom to roam, while knowing you can cover the entire place in about 5 minutes if you need to find them. It has three swimming pools: a small kids' pool, the main pool, & the waterslide pool (more on this later). There's a calm, protected beach right at the center of the property which is perfect for younger children to build sand castles and wade in the ocean. For people interested in a bit more surf, you can take a short walk outside the property to a much larger beach. The FDR knows its target audience. It does not pretend to be a luxury, five-star sort of place. The property and the rooms are nice, though a few things show some wear and tear. If this does not deter you -- and I suspect for most people traveling with young kids it won't -- then read on for more details!

Activities: There's so much to do, for both kids and adults. Our kids spent literally hours going up and down the big waterslide & swimming in the pools. There's a great dive shop on site, which couldn't be more convenient for the divers in your family -- and the guys there are great. For both kids & adults, there is a full program of activities every day from snorkeling to tennis to fishing to games and more, so you can be as busy -- or not -- as you want. There's a kids center with an outdoor playground & lots of other activities to keep the kids entertained. And plenty of other kids around. Pretty much everything at FDR is included in your stay -- diving was the only thing that required additional money.

The Nannies: having a nanny assigned to you for the length of your stay is a major selling point of the FDR, & a unique offer as far as I know. The nannies are yours from 9am until almost 5pm. All the nannies we encountered were great with the kids. Plus, they knew all the schedule of activities & could run the kids around to whatever they wanted to participate in. Our nanny was extremely nice & focused on making sure we had a good time -- she would run around with the kids or wait in the room with one who was napping -- whatever we asked. She was also happy to stay late for a (very reasonable) hourly fee so the grown-ups could have dinner at one of the restaurants that is adults-only.

Food: There are 3 restaurants for dinner, plus a grill that's open for much of the day where they serve dinner for the kids. They also do special dinners on the beach twice a week (Weds & Sat, I think), so there's plenty of variety -- unless perhaps you were to stay for 10 days or more. For our 5 dinners, we only repeated at one place & even there the menu had changed. Don't underestimate the grill -- some of our favorite food came from there (and that's where the kids could get their ice cream fix...) The service at the restaurants & the bar was always great.

Rooms: Our room was a beachfront 2-BR suite. We had a good-sized master BR with a king bed. It had a porch overlooking the ocean, which was a beautiful place to sit at the beginning & end of the days. There was a small hallway & kitchen connecting our room to the 2nd BR, which had 2 twin beds. Plus 2 bathrooms, one with a tub. Overall, it was modest sized, but we weren't looking to spend a lot of time in the room. They did a great job of keeping the room clean & the fridge stocked with snacks & breakfast options. Oh, and there is wireless access although I tried my best not to use it.

All-in-all, if your want a family-oriented vacation in a beautiful setting with lots to do, and don't require all the trappings of a 5-star hotel, you will really enjoy the FDR. Many of the families we met there were returning guests, which is a testament to how much both the parents & kids like it there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanManDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from our 3rd year at FDR and are already looking forward to our return next year. This is the most relaxing parent vacation as your child/children will be accompanied by a vacation nanny to participate in a full day of camp type activities like fishing, arts & crafts and snorkeling. Kids and parents enjoy the pool, aqua ocean water and the large water slide. The entire staff is friendly and welcoming and really make this resort! I could not recommend FDR high enough. Great vacation!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have been going to FDR in Jamaica for 5 years in a row; every year we enjoy the scenery, hotel, staff, all of it! Our nannies were wonderful! Our boys love fishing and they brought their poles down and were fishing every day! The girls love doing arts and crafts, participating in "talent shows" and swimming in the pool and atthe beach. Great place to teach your kids how to snorkel and dive!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyMomofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This resort is ideal for families, This beautifully landscaped beachfront resort has everything! Each suite comes with a vacation nanny. She arrives around 9 am and spends the day with your children, This resort is small so you can see your children at all times! There are so many activities for all ages, crafts, games, swimming, snorkeling, goat races, and so much more,
This allows even the moms to relax is the sun or go swimming in the ocean!
The suites are huge. We had the oceanfront suite in Block 1. Upper floor has best views from balcony. Front Room with two twin beds for the kids, tv and own bathroom with shower. Then door opened to a small kitchen, Vacation nanny keeps the fridge filled with whatever you like, wine, beer, juice, milk, fresh fruit. Cereal peanut butter and jelly bread all available! Then a hall with a closet and another bathroom with a tub/shower. Then the master bedroom, oceanfront, large king bed, tv and private balcony with chairs,
The food is DELICIOUS. This is the Caribbean and the dishes reflex that, Everyday there were different options loaded with vegetables, chicken, beef, pork, fish, salads, soups, breads, Lots of great things for the kids pancakes, french toast, grill cheese, burgers, pizza, fries, wraps!!
Buffets for breakfast and lunch. Grill open lunch until midnight. Two restaurants at night, One for families and One for Adults only. Chef Donovan is always around and wants everyone to be happy!
NOW THE BEST PART - the STAFF!!!!! The lifeguards are amazing with the kids! So friendly and helpful to everyone. Wait staff and bartenders, remember your name and always have a smile!!
The Nanny's are incredible, most are mothers themselves and are so hands on with the kids. The apply sunscreen, watch them closely at all times, do fun and creative crafts with them!
The snorkeling is great right next to the resort. The reef is a 100 feet from the beach. FDR has the snorkel equipment. Also our 13 year old learned to scuba dive and did two dives while we were there. Fruity is excellent and takes extreme care of his divers!
Beautiful island, beautiful resort and beautiful people!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwithboysNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked for a night at the hotel on Saturday Feb15, 2014 (post valentine) two weeks in advance, we were told that the check-in time is three o’clock but we were NOT informed about an early check-in fee of JA$ 1,000.00. We arrived at the Hotel at approximately 12: 40 only to be told by the security that there’s an early check-in fee of $1,000. She called someone on the phone and came back to tell us that we could check-in but would not have access to the property but only the lobby, we would have to sit in the lobby for almost 2 hrs. In addition to that, we had an appointment for a massage at 2:00 pm and all that was not relayed to the front desk. We NEVER expressed a desire to have lunch upon arrival, to me it was a total turnoff knowing that they’re more concerned about potential guests having lunch before the check-in time of 3:00 pm.

Their concern is all about guests checking-in early and having lunch at their expense, (so cheap) that’s the reason for their early check-in fee of $1,000. If they’re so much concern about guest (staying at the resort) having lunch before the check-in time, why not include that fee ($1,000.00) into the total cost of accommodation? That would make more sense to me and your guests would not feel as if it’s all about the eating of lunch instead of the quality of service to your guests.

Other Hotel I’ve been to, allows you to check-in, have lunch, have access to the property except that you will not have access to the room before 3:00 pm

Food for thought……Do better than that. You have here a very disgruntled guest. You being in my position, would you recommend anyone to stay at the FDR?

Room Tip: We didn't quite get that far
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LMorant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trishawana, Director of Sales at Franklyn D. Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We appreciate your detailed comments following your recent encounter upon checking in with us on Saturday, February 15, 2014.

You booked accommodations for one night from February 15-16, 2014. Our all-inclusive package for a one night stay includes one breakfast, one lunch and one dinner. Our check in time is at 3:00 pm; however, if guests want to check in earlier, then there is a US$10/J$1000 surcharge for an additional lunch. We apologize that the hotel’s policy regarding the early check in fee was not communicated accurately to you prior to your arrival. This charge was however waived upon your arrival at the Resort.

You advised that you wanted us to book a surprise massage for your husband at 3:00 pm on February 15, 2014 which was confirmed to you via telephone by the Reservation Agent on February 4, 2014.

We regret that you were unable to truly enjoy the FDR experience and we hope you will reconsider visiting with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at several resorts in a few countries. The best feature of this resort is it's friendly, courteous, and helful staff. From check in to check out they are consistently the best resort staff that we have dealt with. We shall return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just got back from our vacation at FDR and I have nothing but great things to say. The nannies were wonderful, the staff was so pleasant and extremely helpful, the resort was clean and nicely upkept. After the first day, the entire staff knew us and greeted us by name, and went out of their way to get us anything we needed. My son loved his nanny, and would run to her every morning. Our group had 3 kids, ages 2, 7, and 13, and all of them had a great time. There is definitely something for everyone, and it is a great way for the parents and children to have a fun, relaxing, vacation!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with a balcony over looking the ocean (#34). We loved the view, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AML1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
31.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn D. Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D. Resort & Spa

Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £311 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklyn D. Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive, All- Suite Beachfront Family Resort with a dedicated Vacation Nanny assigned to every family to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. All- Inclusive package includes spacious accommodations in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with separate living areas,kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Continental, Italian/French/ Indian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants along with a Sushi Bar & Creperie;Premium Bar, Glass Bottom Boat Rides,kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boards, tennis, 4 pools including- 100' waterslide, separate kids, tweens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Franklyn D. Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing