We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best trip EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Last week was the third time we visited the FDR resort and each time we come, it just gets better! We were there for a week and it was so hard to leave the beautiful resort and people of Jamaica. There were 7 of us (me, my 3 children and my cousin and 2 of her children) and we range in age from 4-49. Each one of us had the best time EVER! We had 2 nannies who were both great, Carlene and Janet. Janet was fantastic! She has been there for many years and gave our children 110%. They love her and can’t wait to see her again. The staff is incredible, especially Junior, Curtis, Kervan, Dale, Roberta, Tony, Kevin, Blacks, the staff at the front desk and of course Donovan! Everyone made us feel special and comfortable every minute of every day. The rooms were perfect, the entertainment was really fun, and food and drinks were delicious! So, thank you for a wonderful week. We can’t wait to return!

Stacey Lion and Family

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveFDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    198
    40
    17
    13
See reviews for
504
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

We are a return customer to FDR and we are always welcomed by the entire staff as if we never left. Everyone is incredibly friendly and there to make your vacation the best possible. We noticed an improvement in the food this year, especially in the adult "Italian Restaurant"...much nicer sauces. Hats off to the Chef! What we like best about the resort is the boutique size and feel. You get to know everyone in the first couple of days. The waiters and waitresses are superb. Andre, the cook that mans the outdoor grill is the best. He knows every child and adult visiting by name within the first day. He's always smiling and laughing while he cooks and his demeanor is infectious. If you haven't tried FDR you need to, especially if you have small children. The Nanny staff is second to none. The children pretty much forget they have parents when they are there. The Nannies do planned activities with the children or watch them swim and play. And if parents want some alone time at night to go eat by themselves and have a few cocktails, the Nannies will work late at a very reasonable rate. The spa is a very nice feature too. Nothing like a relaxing massage with the cool sea breeze blowing on you. What is really amazing is that there are new features every year, they do not rest on their laurels. We can't wait to return next year. Thanks FDR for another great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcinext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

In all my travels this trip was amazing; my husband and I truley enjoyed everything about this place - It's family friendly something for everyone to do!! the total experience was totally captivating ... before we left we were making plans to go back next year and bring the children this time!!! FDR is the BEST ... and the food was out of this world 11 thumbs up to you all !! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcgreenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

I began going to the FDR with my family in 1992. Since then, I've returned over 30 times. For a family with young children, it is truly heaven on earth. Children are taken care of by the best nannies available. My youngest two children (I have 4), were actually toilet trained by the nannies during our one week vacation. There are activities for kids of all ages from sunrise through sunset. Parents actually get to relax and enjoy an amazing vacation. The setting is beautiful and the food is great and plentiful. The rooms (villas if you choose a 2 bedroom) are spacious and lovely. Each room has a full kitchen and the nannies will stock the fridge with drinks and snacks. There are activities for adults as well, such as beach volley ball, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis and games by the pool. The trainer in the gym, Donovan, will give you one of the best workouts you've ever had.

I have returned to the FDR as a single mother with my teenagers. This past January, my 16 year old brought 5 of his best buddies along. They had an amazing time. The hotel is just the right setting and size for this type of a trip. Although the kids were too old for the hands on services the nannies usually provide, their assistance was immeasurable. They shadowed the group and made sure that all their needs were met.

We're already planning our next trip back to the FDR. Can't wait to get back home and spend time with my FDR family.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bren16marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

We have 3 young children...5, 2 and 3 months. What a great vacation! We requested 2 nannies ($20 a day for the extra nanny) and it was well worth it. My husband and I relaxed while the nannies worked together with the three children and they brought the baby to me to breastfeed every few hours. The resort is small and so we never worried about the children or baby being too far away. We went to Beaches Turks and Caicos last year (which is double to triple the price) but found FDR a much more relaxing vacation with the children because of the nanny / kids camp combination. No wonder there are so many returning guests. Value for dollar..the best place we've been so far with our children. I would recommend you call the hotel before you leave and request "Jewel" as your nanny. She had so much energy and initiative and the kids LOVED her!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3kidsToronto_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

I stayed at FRD from Jan 4-7, 2009. I had a great time at this resort. The rooms are great, the staff is great, the food is great. I do not have anything bad to say about this place.
The first night I got there I was in a resort view room. I was given a sheet to fill out with all the food and drinks that I wanted to be placed in my room. About 10-15 mins later my fridge was stocked and all the things I requested was available.
The next day I asked to be moved to an oceanview room and they moved everything for me and restocked my fridge. I was there by myself so I was not in need of the FREE nanny that was available to people with children. However, if I was ever in need of anything it was provided.
I ate dinner at the italian restaurant, which was great. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. They made sure that all my needs were met.
Not to mention FREE Wi Fi.

This is one of the best places that I have stayed. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetucker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

I have stayed at many fine hotels all over the US. I've stayed in Ritz Carltons, W, The Conrad in Chicago, etc... I can honestly say that this resort has the best staff I've ever encountered!! Everyone from the person who drove us to the resort from the airport to the people who bussed the tables was incredible. If you have children, you must stay here. The Vacation Nannies are amazing. Ask for Taydean, Vivian, or Althea. They are wonderful and did a fabulous job for us. We traveled with 3 families. Our party was 17, with 11 children ranging in age from 9 months to 18 years. Everyone was happy all week!!! One of our kids stepped on a sea urchin and the lifeguard worked diligently for over an hour removing the bits of sea urchin from her foot. When you go, make sure you go over to the beach that's a short walk from the resort. It's beautiful and so peaceful. You will love it. Food is ok. Our favorite meal was the buffet night on Saturday. Drinks are good and they have most of the premium brands that you would ask for. Wine is ok. If you don't like Red Stripe you'll be in a bind as far as beer goes. The little grill is good. Donovan is a great fitness instructor. I strongly recommend his water aerobics classes. You'll need them to burn off all of that alcohol!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmprn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsstSales, Sales Manager at Franklyn D Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
We thank you for your wonderful review! I can only hope that you will continue to spread your good experiences at FDR with the rest of the world. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Franklyn D. Resort & Spa very soon.

Nuff Love & Sunshine,
Asstsales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
31.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
66.9 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn D Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Property: Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklyn D Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique all-inclusive family Resort where each family is assigned a dedicated Vacation Nanny to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. One upfront price includes accommodations are in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with iPOD Docking Stations and DVD Players, Continental, Italian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants, top shelf bar, kayaking, snorkelling, tennis, 3 pools, 100' waterslide, separate kids, pre-teens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Franklyn D Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing