We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never recommend this to my worst enemy!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Ambiance
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would never recommend this to my worst enemy!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

This place is terrible, it is run down, only one staff person was helpful during our trip. The food is nothing special, and if you value your safety then I would suggest you stay somewhere else......will never return to this resort again.,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 196942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    438
    199
    113
    115
See reviews for
40
630
78
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

2nd time back . Big thank you to all staff for making our stay fantastic I love this place so friendly and happy . Food great good choice . Rooms are clean and tidy . Pool and beach clean and tidy . Club Ambiance is what you want it to be you can have fun or chill out the pace is yours to enjoy .
HAPPY DAYS

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieBand59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

we have stayed at CA several times over the years a always had a wonderful time,but now it has come to an end as no british tour operators deal with CA.this is a disgrace as it was the british tourists that made the place come alive.we stayed at the royal decameron last year and although we enjoyed our stay there it was not close to CA.
while staying at RD we went along to CA to visit our friends there and was given a great
welcome from Gilbert and ALL the staff.What we did notice was hardly any guests,the place was deserted(never happened when it was available to UK).now we hear that CA is going to be sold or has been sold to the Grand Bahia along the road and is to be used as staff accomadation.If this is the end for CA then thanks for all the great times you gave us over the years and hope ALL the staff find employment at another resort and show others how to treat there guests from the UK.Irie Mon

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

This was my fourth trip to Club Ambiance. On this occasion, I traveled with a friend and booked directly with the resort. It is not big, ostentatious, or so crowded that you have to wait in line for food or drinks. There is no room service, no "choice" of restaurants or night clubs. It is not the 'hot spot' of a Beaches or Sandals. I tried them and I didn't care for the impersonal, tip-hustling, 'could have been in Miami' atmosphere. Do be prepared to wait at the airport for the bus, to be asked to tip the driver and baggage-handler. It is about an hour's ride, plus a 10-15 minute 'pit stop' for those who want to have a cigarette or a beer.

Club Ambiance is intimate and low-key, most of the people there enjoy their work and are friendly and helpful. It is adults only and peaceful, with no screaming children running around kicking up sand on the beaches. There are three beach areas, one of which is clothing optional. Women may go topless at any of the beach areas and at the pool. Shoes and shirts are required for meals.

There is entertainment (the 4Real band) at night under a black velvet sky filled with diamond-like stars and the sunsets are like nowhere else in the world. Just before sundown you will find guests gathered on the beach to watch and photograph in quiet appreciation.

The food is Jamaican, fresh, varied, plentiful. Don't expect McDonald's or some upscale Manhattan restaurant and you will not be disappointed. The rooms are immaculately clean and even the cleaning staff is happy and friendly. My custom is to take a little extra cash in singles to tip those who provide the extra smile and service. Though it is not required or expected, it is welcomed and is a small way to show my appreciation for good service.

If you wish to keep busy, see Jasmine at the Tour Desk. who will be glad to help you plan each day with tours offsite. Pamper yourself with a massage from Sandra or Shereen, or hit the salon and see Rosie if you want a manicure or want to get the traditional braids and beads for your hair. Need something to take back? Stop by and see Katie at the Gift Shop, which also carries sundry items. You also have free use of snorkeling equipment, paddle boats and kayaks. See their website for additional details.

If you are looking to be catered to or waited on hand and foot, go elsewhere. If you are an adult who knows what they want and you are capable of amusing yourself and appreciating the beauty of nature in your surroundings, without need of hand-holding, then you will love Club Ambiance.

If you are looking for a place to lose the chill of winter, take in the sun and warm waters, with minimal intrusions to your privacy. I highly recommend this hidden gem of Jamaica. I am happy to answer any questions you might have. Rather than posting multiple pics here, I invite you to view my facebook album: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=99598&id=1040406608&l=a36d490ee7

I am already looking forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and specify your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LunrAngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Returned April 3rd. from Club Ambiance.First trip to Jamacia and I am happy that we chose this property.We loved everything about it,wonderful staff,good food,clean rooms,friendly guests.
Only there a couple of hours when the staff gave us a warm welcome and made us feel comfortable..
Special thanks to Lorraine,Brady,Melanie,Philip,Jr. and Nicoy.,the great activity crew.
Thanks to all for a wonderful vacation,we will return.

Room Tip: Pool side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

My husband and I were married at CA last January. We returned for a week's stay this year in March. While we had a wonderful wedding and fabulous honeymoon there last year, I would have to say that our second vacation at CA was even better than last year. We really feel at home at this quaint little resort by the sea. The staff is becoming more like family than employees at a hotel. You get to know the real Jamaica at this place. Some folks complain about the food and after reading some negative reviews here which mention that kidney is on the menu for breakfast all the time, it is not. I only saw it once over the course of the week. What those complainers fail to mention is that you can get a custom made omelette or french toast or pancakes for you at breakfast every day, as well as unbelievably fresh fruit, porridge, dry cereal, scrambled eggs, the best bacon every, sausages, etc, etc, etc., Now, doesn't that sound better? I find that the buffet selections are always delicious and fresh and they give you a chance to try the local cuisine. If you want bland American food then stay home folks. You can also get tasty burgers (they make one called the Jerk Burger, highly recommended) at the grill which is open in addition to the dining hall every day. On Jamaican night (every Wednesday night) they do a beach barbeque where you actually sit at a table steps away from the water. This is a new party that they throw once a week so I highly suggest staying mid-week to see this. It was amazing. I cannot say enough good things about this place! We are planning a third trip there next March. The staff work so hard and aim to please. The rooms are clean and big and the maid, Fay, left rose petals on our bed upon arrival and left us with towels in the shape of swans and hearts throughout our stay. This is the sort of place you can walk into the general manager's office, located right in the lobby, and talk with him. Special thanks to the kids on the entertainment staff: Omar, Dexter and Storm, who go out of their way to keep you smiling. Sign up for the bike ride to Green Grotto Caves or the local beach with Duane...it is well worth it and FREE! (Admission to the caves is $20 per person though, and totally worth it). Other activities we did which I highly recommend are: Hooves Horseback Beach Ride (see my pic? It was awesome!), Dunns River Falls climb (expect lots of people, but everyone should do this if you are staying in the area of Ochos Rios), The Luminous Lagoon in Falmouth (this is a night trip where you can swim in the water as the water glows!), Coyoba Garden with waterfall (located near Shaw Park in Ochos Rios...it was a recommendation from our local driver, Smiley, and well worth it), We walked to the center of town from the resort with no problem. The grocery store there is a good, cheap place to find jerk sauce to take back home, among other Jamaican products. It's a store where locals shop, and the occasional tourist. A free shopping trip to Ochos Rios is included with your stay if you book online directly with the hotel (as well as free airport transfers). Ochos is the best place if you plan to do some shopping. Beware that the straw market is very pushy...I prefer shopping at Gem Palace where you can get the best prices without the headache of haggling! Yes, the resort gift shop is over priced BUT they too will barter prices with you, you just have to ask. I ended up spending over $100 in the CA gift shop and got deals on everything I bought. If you plan to stay here, go with the expectation that it is only a 3 star resort, it's nothing fancy. The beaches are clean but small but we swam in them everyday, it was heaven. I also recommend getting the half hour back massage at the little hut on the beach...well worth it and very reasonable! Can't wait for our trip next year. Email me with any questions on CA, Jamaica or getting married there!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunawayBayBride11710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

My husband and i booked our honeymoon for this resort and were EXTREMELY disppointed when we arrived. We were greeted by a man who offered us dirty glasses filled with fruit juice. Then when we approached the check-in counter the staff researched our reservation out of a booklet. There was nothing attractive about the lobby area at all. DIRT was all we saw. To say the least we immediately called out travel agent & was accommodated at THE SUNSET JAMAICA GRANDE HOTEL the next morning. It was then that out hineymoon began. I stongly urge for any couple not to stay there also any person that likes cleaningless definetly not to stay there. After reading previous reviews and seeing pictured online i learned you cannot believe what you read or what you see all the time. We were soooo scared to eat anything it was sooo dirty there. There were only like 4 selections to choose from the buffet

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsuzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.7 mi away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
38.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
2.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
1.0 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Property: Club Ambiance
Address: Main Road | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean
Club Ambience Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing