We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't have a blast here, it's your fault.”
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Ambiance
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Cape Cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you don't have a blast here, it's your fault.”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

My husband and I just got back from the most relaxing vacation of our lives at Club Ambiance, Jamaica. We have traveled all over the world and never have we felt more welcome than at Club Ambiance. The resort is set up like a village rather than a high rise like some of the other monsterous resorts we've been to. T-shirts, shorts and flip flops is the dress code here. You can be as busy as you'd like or just relax in a hammock with a cocktail. The food was unbelievable with a varied menu every day and also included many local favorites which were much appreciated. Before we went, I read reviews on this site. I found it helpful to ask for a quiet room and we slept like babies. The staff fell over themselves to please us, yet were not intrusive with our privavcy. Most of the couples we met have been coming back every year for decades. I was impressed with the value. We booked online directly through the resort and received free round trip airport transfers and a free trip to the famous Dunns River Falls! I loved the fact that the resort was not crowded and that it was adults only. We can't wait to return next Feb!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimtori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    439
    202
    113
    116
See reviews for
41
635
79
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nothern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

When planning our trip to Jamaica I read many hotel reviews and kept coming back to Club Ambiance for the consistency of positive reviews, I knew from experience that some travellers expect 5* luxury for 3* prices and these ones were in the main the ones giving negative reviews. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR IN THIS WORLD. We stayed for 2 weeks from 2 February and we were not in any way disappointed except with the weather in the first week (and England's poor cricket performance).
Without repeating everything what fellow guests have reported, I must say we had a clean, good sized room, (no.11); the entertainment and activity programme was excellent, ( the resident band are superb); the food is good and plentiful and available at almost any time of the day, look out for Colin's eggs in the morning; the drinks just keep coming, (except between 03.00 and 10.00!); the beaches, pool and gardens are very well kept. All staff are friendly and welcoming, could not fault them. CA could probably do with a lick of paint as it is a bit tired in places.
We visited Bob Marley's last resting place and Dunn's River Falls, both are fairly close by and are recommended, we used a local taxi driver.
Not sure that we will return to Jamaica but would have no hesitation in staying at CA if we did.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I extensively checked this hotel out before booking by reading all of the reviews I could. I can tell you that we were extremely happy and comfortable with our stay at CA. The honeymoon suite #15 is a super room with a fantastic view and the staff at CA is second to none. This may rate as a 3 star hotel but the ambiance like its name makes it a 5 star in our books. I can see why the same vacationers keep coming back year after year. We would not hestitate to stay at this resort in the future and I would recommend it to all of those looking for a relaxing vacation on the ocean. A special thanks to Dean, Melanie and Anne.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaskatchewanFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

If your looking for a nice hotel with lots of friendly people then C.A. is the place. I had the best time I've had on any vacation, and would love to return again!! The staff is the friendliest I've ever met and made the experience memorable. The beach is small and man made, but very well kept and nice. Over all if your looking for a reasonable resort with fun people and activities, then this is the place. People need to remeber that its only a 3 star resort, but it seems like a 4 star, especially the food. If your looking for a 5 star, book one and pay for it, but if your looking for a reasonable resort then C.A. is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank djsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

AWESOME!! Typical ratings aren't 5 star but in our eyes we had a 5 star stay! We'll be back-not soon enough! Engaged in Antigua,married in Cozumel, and 8th anniversary at Club Ambiance...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewHampshireAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I just returned home from my nineth trip to Club Ambiance. What can I say does it get better every time I return QUITE SO! Where to start. Check in was fast and quick, we arrived when a bus arrived amazed how quickly the front desk staff got through everyone so quickly "WAY TO GO FRONT DESK., yet some rooms were not ready, but hey go to the bar get a drink and check out the comfort and scenery of the place you are about to enjoy during your stay. We checked into the same room by the pool that we have had in past visits. Room was always cleaned, always had towels when we got back to the room to get ready for the night.

Staff-"THE BEST YOU CAN GET ANYWHERE ON THE ISLAND"! To break it down: Pool and Beach Staff work very hard keeping the beach cleaned and the pool area cleaned. Big up to Omar, Mark, Shane, and Tony you all deserve a thumbs up. Bar staff you will always see them with a smile and ready to serve. They all have their own speciality drink ask to try them you will like what you get. Barney, Faith, Philip, Melonie, Stacy, Junior are all so awesome. Entertainment Staff work really hard at daily activities dont be shy join in its all good and fun. Entertainment at night by far this was the best year ever. Ricketts does a great job! Worth staying up to watch from Mr. Club Ambiance to Jamaican Dancers and more. Big up to Damion, Scooby, and Maria. Grounds staff excellant job at keeping sure everything looks good around the resort. Dining staff work hard serving you, always making sure your water filled or getting you something from the bar. Their are so many to mention but they all deserve a job well done. I can go on and on about the staff, because they are what makes Club Ambiance and your stay so enjoyable. They are my second family and always will be. The man that needs the most reconition Mr. Blackwood, Hotel Manager does a great job running the resort and making sure everyones needs are met! JOB WELL DONE BLACKWOOD!

Resort maybe a 3 star hotel, but always and forever will be 5 star to me. You cannot ask for better enjoyment and entertainment anywhere. I could go on and on about this place, but what I will leave you with this: try it if you dont like it than dont go back, but I can almost gaurentee you that once you experience this litte "hidden gem" you may never go anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beanjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the hotel.
It may look a little faded in places but what a great time we had.
Check in was painless with the only thing needed was to collect the key for the safe, our bags were taken up and the porter explained the rooms fixtures and fittings to us.
The room (a deluxe) was excellent, large, clean and fresh. Super-King 4 poster bed, TV, Fridge, coffee maker and a wonderful ocean view. The bathroom was fine if just a little faded with a slightly small bath, shower, sink and loo.
Food? Oh yes lots of food. A huge quantity of food is avalible, its a self serve buffet with a smoothie maker and omlette chef and all the usual brekkie stuff along with loads of fruit and Jamaican fare too.
Lunch is again a varied buffet along with a grill outside next to the bar serving Burgers, Chicken and Hot-Dogs should you feel the need.
Dinner is varied day by day with theme nights on different days, Italian,Chinese and Jamaican spring to mind, all with a slight Carribean twist to make it interesting! All meals are helped along by the very attentive staff providing drinks as required, clearing the table as you go along and generally being very nice and helpful.
The bar outside is open all day with just about any cocktail you could want and the local red stripe beer.
The grounds are well kept with a nice clean pool, plenty of sunbeds and towels.The 2 small beaches are again well kept being raked clean every day.
Evening entertainment is provided by the house band along with differing guests on most nights. The enternainment staff run different games and sports events during the day and evening if you fancy joining in.
What made the holiday for us was the staff, they are friendly efficient and attentive with a few real characters amongst them, they really made us feel special.
We didn't have the best weather during our stay, but there is a small library that we worked through and some indoor games are avalible.
The only patchy thing during our stay was the pay as you use internet in the lobby that few a few fits during the 2 weeks we were there.
At the end of the day it is a 3 star hotel, but the staff certainly give that 5 star feel, go for it, we are glad we did!

  • Liked — The Staff.
  • Disliked — More beach would have been nice, but we knew it was small when we went!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.8 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Property: Club Ambiance
Address: Main Road | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean
Club Ambience Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing