We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smaller hotel, but lovely all the same...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smaller hotel, but lovely all the same...”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just got back from a week's vacation at RDCC from November 6-13 and after having stayed at many larger resorts nearby (including the Riu and the Iberostar Beach Resort), this was a breath of fresh air. As a good traveller, I read the reviews of this hotel before I booked my trip. I had mixed feelings about the place, but once I got there, I definitely had a great time.

In terms of the rooms, I would like to have stayed in the villas, but booked a courtyard room instead - the room was spacious enough and had all the modern amenities - my only complaint was the beds were quite hard. But for the amount of time you spend in the room, they are great.

The beaches were lovely and had warm "bath-like" water. Never had a problem finding a beach chair under an umbrella.

The entertainment staff were engaging and tried really hard to get everyone up on stage and participating. Lots of activities for everyone to enjoy!

Overall, I must say I would definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamaicatraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,702
    1,209
    464
    202
    177
See reviews for
723
1,732
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here at the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean twice during our 12 days of vacation. Each time was wonderful, the bartenders were great, always willing to make you any drink or try their blended inventions. The wait staff were great as well, very helpful and smiling all the time. Our room was always nice and cold to cool us off after the heat of being outside. There was always lots of food and the variety was great. The salad bar during lunch was our favourite and breakfast became a favourite with the cook who made our omelettes to order. There was not a bad thing about the trip, we both enjoyed our time there and we are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deejhaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Here is an honest review of our trip to RDCC from 26 Oct 2013 to 11 Nov 2013.

Flights to and from Montego Bay. We booked our package through Thomsons and upgraded to Premium for the trip. At Gatwick we dropped our bags and got our boarding card the night before the flight which is great, we had VIP at Gatwick which made for a relaxing start. The flight out was on a First Choice aircraft which was not as good as expected, food was poor. The flight back was only OK.

Transfers were via the normal coach and were good.

Check in at RDCC was very swift and we were taken to rooms within about 10 minutes of arrival.

We were in the Cottage Rooms, which was clean and tidy although a bit dated. The maid service was great, the room kept very clean, the bedding changed and new towels every few days. The Aircon worked well.

The food, was of fair quality, plentiful but was of limited choice for hot food, salad and fruit was always available. The omelettes at breakfast and the burgers between meals were excellent.

The pools and the beaches were kept clean and lifeguards are always on duty. The rocks that used to exist in the bays have gone which makes access a lots safer. There are watersports available and the trampoline has been replaced. Masks and snorkels are always available, beach towels can be changed daily if required. There is building works alongside the adult pool but this is almost complete.

We used all the bars on site, the drinks were of an average standard, service was normally swift. The entertainment crew put in maximum effort at all times and was varied, well done to Orlando, Birdman, Scooby, Empress and Vanilla. Make an effort to get involved to get the best from it.

There is a gym on site, although a bit dated, there are also tennis courts.

The advertised wifi was very patchy to begin with and was free, they did fix the problem, but then it was the normal $5 / hour, for football fans, all the Premier League are shown on the room and reception TV's.

We had several trips, all organised buy ourselves with Kemrod Riley, who I would recommend to anyone. Of all the trips the Blue Hole stood out as an excellent half day for $10 each.

Overall an excellent holiday with nothing to complain about other than the flights which I will be complaining about.

Room Tip: Take an insulated cup for your drinks during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NumptiesExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed in beach hut in April of 2012 and got married there on the 11th. My bride and I, along with 5 other friends all agree that this place is great!! Service, food, booze, staff, all top notch for the money spent. Entertainment not much, but no big deal. I don't understand the negative reviews, go and check this unique place out. We all highly recommend it and hope to return some day.

I know this is a late review, just lazy I guess.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were at the Royal Decameron in April 2013 and decided to go back this past October. For anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation with good food & drinks this is the place to go. We went the 1st time because of the individual cottages, there are so private and have all you need. The people at the Resort are so friendly and want you to have a good time. Thank you Damion for the best drinks and going out to dinner with us. Don't go expecting a five star resort and you won't be disappointed. Also one of the best deals going is staying at the Montego Bay Lounge at the Airport. For $30.00pp they bring you right thru security right into this beautiful lounge with TV's and sofa's everywhere. All the food and drink you want while you wait for your flight. Since you leave at least three hours in advance for the airport it's a great place to hang out and wait for your flight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyceSCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

ok, where to start. just arrived back from 8 nights, 2 adults 1 child and must say we had the most amazing time in JA.

ROOMS: Rooms are simple but comfortable. beautiful little huts, surrounded with beautiful grounds with banana trees and hamocks. daily maid service fantastic. TIP - you only get ONE bottle of water in the room for your entire stay so remember to keep hold of the bottle and refill at the bar.

FOOD: plenty to choose from, something for everyone! Jamaica night on Saturdays and Wednesdays is a must! We tried the a la catre thai, ok but bit limited choice, not my cup of tea.
One thing they should do though is leave the jug of water on your table at the restaurant rather than having to keep waiting.

ENTERTAINMENT: is none stop and really makes the holiday. the ENT fun crew are fantastic, big shout out to Scooby Bird Man, Empress and Vanilla - the one with the flavour! they work so hard and get everyone envolved (if they want to). good evening shows. showtime entrainment finishes at 11.30 where you can then head to the roots night club.

DRINK: good choice of cocktails, although no menu, but ask Richard to make one of his specials and you wont regret it!

BEACH AND WATER SPORTS: beach is great, have fun on the pedelos, kayaks free of charge and of course the trampoline which my godson LOVED!! great fun! also make sure you take advantage of a free trip on the catamaran, amazing and a must do.

TRIPS: we did 2 trips, the cool runnings catamaran with Dunns River Falls. total awesome day. the reagee boat party on the way back was so much fun!!
We also did mystic mountains with the bobsled and zip wire. amazing day with great scenery, a little over priced though. out of the 2 cool runnings is so much better value for money.

so much to say about this place. One thing i must say is a cannot wait to return to Jamaica. The people are so friendly. nothing is too much trouble. YEA MAN.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mcelhinneyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The best 4 nights/5 days ever. We loved it. My honey and I had such a relaxing, quiet and wonderful time. Arrived at Montego Bay Airport went to ground Transportation (which we already had paid and arranged). Everything went like clock work, from the airport to check in. The staff from the front desk, attendants, entertainment crew, cooks, servers, bartenders and ground crew, were the most helpful and friendliness I have ever met. The rooms are quaint, clean and yes, AC plus ceiling fan was on. The whole place was constantly being cleaned and kept up. We loved the private little beaches and being able to have a little something to eat and drink whenever. The food was good and plentiful. Loved the moonlight walks and shows each night. Yes, we are going back... every year.

Room Tip: The gardenview cabins were nice. Try and get one deep on the grounds away from the public.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfox56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
33.4 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
55.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Property: Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing