We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go again tomorrow if they got rid of the drug dealers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just got back from a 2 week holiday. the hotel was above expectations, we had hut 39 which was cosy, loved the way the 2nd bedroom was upstairs in the roof overlooking the living area, very quaint! beautiful grounds, very clean and well kept.
Food was very good quality, lots of choice and meat and fish were cooked to perfection - not at all dry like you would expect from buffet style.
pools were well supervised and clean, bar staff very friendly and fast, no waiting in long queues for a drink here!
entertainment crew were hilarious - loved Giggles, Mandy, Bird man, Scooby, Freestyle and showtime onetime, all great dancers and worked all day from 9am to 11pm never complaining, constantly getting everyone involved and entertaining us.
front desk very helpful and polite as are the staff in the complex shop.
hugely disappointed in the amount of drug dealers though! ruined our holiday trying to avoid them. a lot of the staff, especially the ones who help with the luggage constantly try to sell weed to the men, women do not get approached but my partner constantly had to avoid them. as you leave the complex you are immediately see junkies and the old guy in the shop next to paulines says he can get anything from weed to cocaine and tries to get you to buy from him, as do some of the taxi drivers and other junkies who hang about just outside the main gate, very scary. my 11 year old even asked if it was legal to sell drugs in jamaica because so many people were coming up to my partner trying to get him to buy them!
Apart from the drugs issue, jamaica is amazing and so is the royal decameron. the excursions are amazing, i would highly recommend glistening waters - WOW! Southern adventure with a tipple is another brilliant day out, 3 excursions in 1. Cool runnings was fab, climbing the dunns river falls and having a party on the catamaran on the way back - so much fun! Dolphin cove also absolutely amazing, as was braco horse ride with a swim. Kingston was such a long coach drive but the museum was really good. be prepared to buy cd's of photos on most trips as you cant really use your own camera, picture on the cd's are high quality though, but expect to pay US $20-$40 for a cd (US$105 for dolphin cove pics!)
Was disappointed with the flight, expected the dreamliner, but got the thompson plane. the flight was okay, lots of leg room and inflight entertainment was fine but the food was awful.
If you want to eat out, Sharkies, 10 minutes down the road do amazing fish and garlic shrimp.
It's best to take US dollars rather than jamaican dollars, as although the shop on complex takes jamaican money, and it is illegal for jamaicans to refuse their own currency, most things are priced in US$ nothing is cheap in Jamaica, and even in independent shops, the cost of items is similar to uk prices.
If they did something about the drug dealers and junkies outside the complex, I would go back to this hotel tomorrow. Jamaica has so much to offer and is a beautiful country and the Decameron is lovely and friendly. speaking to people from 'posher' hotels in the area when on trips, the decameron sounded much better and happier, very family like, not formal or stuffy at all. over all, I would definitely recommend this hotel, just beware or the drug pushers.

Room Tip: room 39 had no noise from dogs or music at night like some other had, was perfect location. double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank emma_okacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,454 - 1,460 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late October on a local holiday weekend (National Heroes Day). We arrived at approximately 3:00 PM and the front desk attendants were swamped with phones that were ringing off the hook and a line of impatient guests. They appeared to be very short staffed considering the volume of inquiries coming in. When the bellboy finally showed us to our room, it turned out it had never been cleaned after the prior guest departed. The bed was not made and there were empty soda bottles on the table. We were then led back to the front desk and waited several more minutes before our bellboy was given keys to a new room, which was ready for us upon entry. After unpacking and relaxing for a 30 or so minutes, the AC stopped functioning. We notified management and a repairman was sent to troubleshoot. Twenty minutes later we were told the AC was irreparable and that we would need to move to yet another room. Third time was a charm! Our third and final room was average in decor and comfort, but was thankfully ready for us upon arrival and had functioning AC.

The food was very good but seemed the restaurant was over capacity and it was at times difficult finding a table to sit at. Waitstaff were completely unresponsive and very slow to fill water classes. Aside from the food, the other major highlight was the snorkeling. Snorkels were available to borrow free of charge but my wife and I brought our own. There's really great coral off the main beach where lots of small fish congregate. The snorkeling was the highlight of our stay.

Overall, this is a value all-inclusive that I'd recommend for anyone who wants to relax and isn't concerned about inconsistent service and other minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellhop-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Was best holiday I have ever been on hut was great food was brilliant I want to go again the staff were bril the cleaners who clean your huts are fantastic I wanted to fetch miss Pauline home all in all good holiday would recommend it to any1 x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ladytracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Best Holliday ever for us Could not ask for more .Beach hut to stay was fantastic Walk out onto the beach from hut in the morning brilliant.Food great .People and staff happy and helpful .Would go back there again

Room Tip: Beach huts can get noisy when beach party is next to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _elfyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

What I want from a holiday is good food, beautiful surroundings, friendly people, comfortable bed, and to relax and enjoy all of those things. This hotel provided all of that and more. The food has a great mix of local dishes and more international offerings - try the chicken and dumplings for breakfast, curry goat, roast meats, and fresh salads. The little beach bays (4) are supplied with plenty of beds for you to lay on and enough shade - a must for me. The sea is calm and easy to swim in if you stay close but you can also swim further if you are more adventurous, or take out a boat. The cottage-style rooms are wonderful - spacious, comfortable huge beds, good bathroom with plenty of hot water. The staff - reception, restaurant, entertainment, lifeguards etc. etc. are all friendly and warm people. The only drawback is that there is not a huge amount to walk out of the hotel for... but there are lots of places to go that are not too far away. So do get out and explore. Dolphin Cove is wonderful. Ochi is interesting. The Blue Mountains are stunning. We will go back...soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I travel to Jamaica every year, my hubby is from Jamaica. We decided to try this resort for the hut style rooms.
Food was ok, entertainment was alright but we left the resort at night so we didn't see much. Drinks were good and service was good. I wouldn't rate anything excellent but it was a nice resort but besides the food being buffet it felt more of like a motel. We thought is was on the cheap side that we had to rent our safe daily. Also no water was given daily, we had to walk to the end of the street each day to the super market to buy bottled water. This turned out to be a daily thing for us sometimes twice a day cause we enjoy the area so much and the little stores around the gates of the resort. My hubby even found a barber close by to get his hair cut. The stores in this area have alcohol at pretty good prices. No we will not stay here again but we were not overly upset over anything in particular.

Love Jamaica, just being in the country makes us happy.

Room Tip: Bring travelers mug and air freshener for your room, put aside money to rent a safe in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Seriously my favourite place in the world. The bar staff are lovely, very chatty, welcoming. Rooms are very basic but lovely little hut on beach. Loved lounging around on the giant beds with the sea crashing at my feet. Just lovely.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank lesliepilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.8 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
76 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
3,219 reviews
2.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £121 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing