We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Its the first hotel ive been to where ive felt unwanted as if my being there was a pain. Its as if you have to beg to be assisted. Front desk service was so poor. Rooms needed better ventilation and to be more inviting.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slimHotelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    1,185
    456
    202
    172
See reviews for
710
1,684
56
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Expression “you’ve got what you paid for” was never more true, that here.
Impolite and downright rude stuff, poor choice of food with a quality leaving much to be desire. Dated rooms and overall impression that the place is falling apart and best days are long gone.
I don’t have high expectations when travelling and I’m kind of 3 star person myself, but even with my average expectation.
I will stay away from this resort in the future.
But than again - is there any future left for this resort?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What an amazing holiday my family and I had when we stayed in one of the garden cottages for two weeks. We didn't want to come home. Everything was excellent: food, entertainment, staff. What wonderful people the Jamaicans are. Can't fault this hotel. Very clean. Would love to go back: maybe one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me and my now husband returned here for our second time to tie the knot where we got engaged. Every aspect of this hotel is great, from the welcome, the reception, the rooms, the bar, the food, the facilities and most of all the staff. Every single person we met was friendly and made sure that our holiday/wedding was special. All of the staff take great pride in their work and you really couldn't ask for more. This hotel is like a home from home to us, where we will continue to return to see the friends we have made out there.

This hotel is in a great location, with plenty of trips accessible within 20-30 minutes drive to Ocho Rios. As long as you like water, heights and culture, you will love this country!!

A tip to those who want to go to Jamaica.....you must go with open eyes and views, the people are friendly and just want to support themselves and their families. If you aren't interested just say 'No Man' and you will be fine.

We love this hotel, this country, and the people and are planning our third visit to this hotel!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden bungalow towards the far right hand side to the resort - beware, there is a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I honestly don't know how people can say it's horrible. We have been to this hotel three times now, our fourth holiday is booked already after being back only a week! The rooms aren't exactly the most modern, but in all fairness they are used for getting changed in, sleeping in and showering in. every single stay the rooms have been brilliant, what we have asked for and cleaned daily. we stayed I'm cottages all three times and they are wonderful.
Reception are very helpful and attend to your needs as soon as possible, people saying they are slow and unhelpful are obviously thinking they're in a five star hotel.
Entertainment staff are amazing. work so hard to provide entertainment for all ages, Non stop fun day and night. Sometimes gets a little but samey but what do you expect when they do this job day in day out?
Restaurants are great, good range of food and fruit and salad bars are yummy!
We dined at the Thai restaurant twice and was lush, are everything and the service was really good.
Beaches are really clean and are swept all the time by the life guards and beach sweepers. The lifeguards are amazing too, always come a long for a little chat for a few minutes in the morning and work so hard keeping everything clean and floors dry.
There are a few free watersport activities available (canoeing, kayaking and a Catamaran which runs daily) again all great.
Overall for a 3 star hotel everything is great and we are glad to say we are returning in two months time!:)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three weeks in May 2014, this was my first trip to Jamaica. I will give you a very honest review.
Accommodation: Excellent, we got what we paid for, a garden view cottage, very spacious, 6 ft bed, walk in closet, bath and shower en suite, hairdryer which was very efficient and a full size ironing board with iron, air conditioning and a little veranda where I was able to hang a washing line! We were in 144, very close to the quiet pool, there was a little road noise and some disturbance from Sharkies night club but we were so relaxed that we had no problem sleeping through this.

Facilities: Three restaurants all serving excellent food. There was a good selection of Jamaican food at every meal and it was presented and cooked very well. Plenty of fruit, a good salad bar, excellent choice of breads, juices in the mornings and to die for desserts at lunchtime and evening. We dined at the Jasmine Delta thai restaurant two evenings and the food and service was excellent, we also dined at the seafood restaurant which again was good. The drinks at the bars were all inclusive and unlike a lot of resorts they were not watered down and used brand named spirits, the rum cocktails are very good. The non motorised water sports are free, pedallos, canoes etc, the beaches are beautiful and clean with plenty of sunbeds. Both pools are immaculately clean, the life guards are ready with their nets throughout the day if an insect or leaf should happen to fall in. The quiet pool is good if you want to chill out and read or relax, no children are allowed here and there is no music. The main pool is busy and there is entertainment throughout the day if you choose to get involved. Staff do an aquasize class twice daily and it is a good workout if Quiver facilitates the session, he is the gym instructor and very good. You can also do water polo, beach volley ball etc. The evening entertainment did get a little repetitive, but we were there for three weeks, but it was good, singers, bands and dancers as well as audience participation acts. However I have to say that the best singer we heard while we were there was the customer service manager Davian, he sang at the talent night and was amazing!! The jetty bar is wonderful, they have swings for you to sit on at the bar, sunbeds overlooking the ocean and we watched the sunset in the evenings from here.

Staff: The staff are very attentive, very hospitable and willing to help. We had been out all day and came back to find our cottage flooded as the air conditioning unit had leaked, within ten minutes four guys came to fix it, along with two cleaners to mop up the room, excellent service. The entertainment crew are also very good, they are so enthusiastic and really friendly. They are good entertainers and we loved to watch them dance. Our favourite was 'Freestyle', but they are all excellent. We always sat outside to eat and Edward served us every breakfast and lunchtime, he is lovely, we never had to ask for water, coffee etc, they were just there. The managers are visible all day and any problems that you may have are very quickly sorted out.

Cleanliness: All areas are very clean, the maids come daily and you have fresh towels on a daily basis. You can exchange your pool towels as often as you like. The garden areas are immaculate and beautiful, hammocks are dotted around the gardens if you want to relax and read in peace.

The local area: There is a lot to do in the area, Dunns River, dolphin cove, mystic Mountain to name a few. However, we did these on our own. We caught the local bus to Browns Town Market on the Saturday, at a cost of $150, Jamaican dollars, that is not even a pound! The hotel charge $25 US dollars for the same thing! if you do go to Browns Town visit Mangos café, I had the best chicken rice and peas there!! We caught the bus down the road to Dunns River, again for 150 Jamaican dollars and paid 2000 Jamaican dollars to get in, this was a total of 4600 dollars for two and the hotel tour company wanted about 60 US dollars each! We also made our own way to Nine mile, Bob Marley's birth place, again saving us a lot of money and it was an adventure getting there by public transport but we saw so much. Jump on the bus to Ohio Rios, have a look at the shops at your leisure and again save money. Get out and into the community, the people are lovely, friendly and willing to help, and you will save a lot of money and also see the real Jamaica. You may get hassled but just say 'no thank you' and move on, if they follow you just ignore them. I felt safe travelling around the local area on my own but was always careful to just carry a little money in my pocket and not advertise the fact that I had a purse. I did get called whitey at times but not in an offensive way and when I went up into the hills the children were fascinated with me!!

I will now come to the reason why I have not given this accommodation 5 stars! We were there over the mothers day weekend and also Labour Day and on both weekends a lot of Jamaicans stayed. As guests they were rude, noisy, and had no manners. they just moved peoples belongings from around the pool if they wanted to sit in certain areas, they pushed in at the bar and at the food areas, they filled plates up at the restaurant and took the food away and they generally took over the hotel.

Having read the previous reviews we were relieved to find the the French no longer stay but they have been replaced by the Columbians, and oh my gosh they are rude, loud, obnoxious and do not attempt to get on with the rest of the guests. On one day they had a music system by the pool playing Spanish music and despite a reggae band playing they refused to turn it off. Eventually they were persuaded by a manager that it was not acceptable but it was an uncomfortable situation and most people transferred to the quiet pool for the afternoon. We really hope that these people do not spoil this resort for others.

The resort is most suited to 30 plus adults although children are catered for very well, but there isn't much for teenagers to do. There is no free wifi, and at $5 US dollars fr an hour s expensive and is not very good as you can only access this in the reception area.

Despite this we will be returning, we had an amazing holiday. It is a three star resort, but it was very relaxed, very welcoming and was well worth the money, close to a lot of attractions and the area appears to be safe. The staff make this resort a success and do it for very little money, tips are appreciated but not expected.

This is a very honest review and I would recommend anyone to stay here, it is my opinion that they cater for everyone, any problems will be sorted in a timely way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

On our invoice it did not state bungalows so we were put into a dingy dark horrid block of apartments, they looked more like a ghetto, and were situated only just inside the main gate, with sewage beds, a builders yard and a place for buses turning behind our room.When we complained we were told that's what was booked, and we know what we paid for, so it was the fault of First Choice and Thomsons, this happened ,they assured us a party of four adults that we had a bungalow, but unfortunately it did not categorically state same on our invoice, The rep on site was as useful as a snowball in the sun, we were told phone England get it sorted and get them to call me back, great help. not.
Thanks to our holiday company we had what should have been a dream holiday totally spoilt

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard at all costs, make sure you have a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank feeelrobbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
33.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
55.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
41.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#20 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Property: Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing