We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yeah man, this was irie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“yeah man, this was irie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2005

my mum, my brother, and me stayed at RDCC from 23/8/2005 until 13/9/2005
this was like, my BEST holiday ever!I had so much fun.we arrived there at about 11 in the night.show time was on.we loved it from the first moment on.the first thing we´ve done, was getting a burger.
they are gorgeous!unfortunatly we went to bed quiet early cause we were really tired after travelling for 23 hours.
I made friends with a lot of people there.Garfield was my favorite at the bar, until he stopped talking to me!i´m really sorry about that cos i didnt get to say bye to him. so if anybody reads that, please tell garfield hi from vanessa from austria. and say hi to miller,tas,george, douglas,gary, noel, and craig.they were a dote while my vacation.
I loved the entertainment. it was great. I won the chukka game twice.
but my favorite was jamaican night on friday. i just loved the dances.
I was thought how to waterski there, and i went snorkling nearly everyday.
of course it was great as well!!!there are a lot of more watersports like windsurfing, sailling, kanoeing....!!the disco is marvellous!!!tho there were not much people, it was fun, every single night.
i would describe my vacation at royal decameron like having a wonderful dream for 3 weeks !!!i want to say hi to basil, and fitzroy(waiters) as well.
and of course i want to greet the entertainment crew, kanesha, sofia, peter-gay, eddie, richard, and paul. specially richard-he´s the dj at the disco.
ye are so much fun, guys!!!! after returning home to crap austria, i recognized that jamaicans are the most nice,fun, and beatiful people on earth!!!austria is NOTHING compared to jamaica.
and I´m definitely comin bak!!! I miss everysingle of them terribly, even if the cant remember me.
see u soon guys. and no one should miss going to royal decameron club caribbean. no one. ore else they miss something REALLY great stuff!! oh i want to greet pookie, bam bam, boombai, and kemesha from watersports.
all in all, it was AWESOME. exept one thing, the general manager seems a bit unfriendly! but there´s is still no problem with him!!! the security is great. and the tennis guys, specially chris, should be greeted as well.
so wa goan? everything Irie?
everything chris, man!! these are sum sentence you should keep in mind.
patois, is greet. you learn a lot of patois and jamaica as well. thought by the entertainment crew.
a likkl more man
see you next year *vanessa*

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank pumpum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    1,186
    456
    202
    172
See reviews for
711
1,685
56
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2005

Pros:

1. Great staff
2. Quiet adult pool and Marvin who works there - very nice guy. A relaxing place to spend the day
3. A la carte restaurants (Nyamings is the better of the two - the sea bass is wonderful) Be sure to make reservations the day of in the AM for the a la carte that is open that evening
4. Fresh frozen drinks
5. Jetti bar
6. Individual cottages
7. Pretty gardens and sunsets
8. Snorkeling is included in price. Decent reef the staff takes you to.
9. Breakfast made to order omelettes/pancakes
10. Nice mix of people from all over the world. Made quite a few new friends.
11. If you are an animal lover, sweet cats and kittens that live in the gardens. They don't bother you, but are tame and love the attention if you are willing to give it to them!
12. Clean cottages

Cons:

1. Older resort, not ritzy by any means
2. Internet service is 12.00 US dollars per 30 minutes
3. If you lose a room key, there is a 50.00 charge
4. Unless you place a deposit at the desk of $ 20.00, you cannot make calls from your cottage phone. Calls to US are $ 1.20 US per minute and have to be made standing at the front desk
5. 1.5 hours from Montego Bay airport
6. Entertainment/contests are long and drawn out. The only entertainment we enjoyed a little was the dancers. Although, the staff does work very hard to get everyone involved and pumped up!
7. Much of the entertainment and atmosphere is not suitable for children. Fine for couples/single adults.
8. Staff works hard to keep Pepper Pot buffet restaurant clean/floors mopped, however; they are mopping during breakfast and lunch hours near all the tables and the smell of cleaner is somewhat strong while you are trying to eat.
9. Game room and disco are not very clean.

Things to bring with you:

1. Insulated large beverage cups for the pool/beach (drink cups are small and get warm fast)
2. Disposable coffee cups to bring coffee/tea to cottage in AM. There are no take out/to go containers available for hot drinks.
2. Inexpensive blow up floats for the pool/sea.
3. Shampoo, soap, conditioner (resort only provides small bars of soap)
4. Your own snorkeling equipment (if you have it and do not want to share mouth pieces with others)
5. Inexpensive life vest if you plan to snorkel/water sports (the resort's are not in the best of condition. they are mildewed and smelly)
6. Water shoes and water proof disposable camera for Dunn's river tour. They are expensive to buy there.
7. Bug spray - they are bad in the evening (i'm sure this depends on the time of year, but it doesn't hurt to have it)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
47 Thank hydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2005

How do you begin to describe this wonderful island in the caribbean. Well i am going to have to try so here goes!
On arrival to Montego Bay we were seranaded all the way through immigration by a wonderful group of traditional singers and dances. This in itself was a lovely surprise after being on the plane for ten hours. It was probably at this point that we realised just how friendly the Jamaicans actually are. We had been told this when we booked but you just had to be there to experience their hospitality first hand.
Luggage collection was easy and we were soon out of the airport arrivals to be met by our equally lovely first choice tour rep Amoril who directed us to our waiting air condition coach in the car park.
Our first images of Jamaica were breathtaking, the beautiful crystal clear waters gently lapped the golden sandy beaches, the palm trees peacefully blew in the slight breeze, all this more than lived upto their brochure pictures and you really have to experience them for yourself to appreciate their true beauty.
The transfer took us just under two hours, this was a little longer than the recommended time scale, but the driver did make a stop at a traditional roadside cafe bar for a much needed bottle of ice cold Coke and toilet break. We made four drop offs on route to RDCC and i can happily tell you that they definately saved the best till last.
We were greeted by porters at the hotel who offered us ice cold Vodka fruit punch and directed us to checkin.
Soon we were on our way to our cottage. they are basic but included everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. Our cottage sat right in the middle of the gardens surrounded by banana and almond trees, beautiful flowers and plants all of which were extremely well tended every day.
Our cottage was very clean and fresh bottles of water and towels are supplied every day. You never knew what time as this was just how the Jamaicans are, but it never really mattered as you soon relaxed into their slow pace of life.
Nothing is ever rushed at the RDCC. breakfast takes four hours, lunch two hours and evening meals two hours and if there is any room left inside after all that eating midnight snacks also go on for two hours.
RDCC is very well structured, there is entertainment all through the day and night and they gently warm you up in the morning with aquafit, and wind down the evenings with the fantastic RDCC dancers and singers 'Vibe' who are well worth staying up to watch. You don't however have to take part in the entertainments programme as there are plenty of things to occupy your days, from lazy days on the beach, a few drinks at the swing bar or taking in some of the many water sports on offer at the hotel. There is also a kids club with activities throughout the day, which include tennis lessons every morning with the Jamaican proffesional tennis team and nature walks. The children are free and safe to explore the resort alone as there is only one way in and out of the resort which is manned by security guards who wont let children out.
We found all the staff more than happy to help you with any problems which may arrise. The entertainment crew and bar staff in particular make a holiday here a magical experience.
There is no doubt about it whether you are elderly, young, romantics or beach bums you are certain to have a great time and meet people who will remain lifelong freinds, you wont be able to resist booking to come back time and time agian.
We have already booked to go back next year with a lovely couple who we met there this year. Next year should be even more magical as they are to help us celebrate the renewal of our wedding vows.
You just have to try it for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
36 Thank lisa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2005

I usually dont write reviews but in this case I must give credit where credit is due....

This resort is outstanding...yes maybe the air conditioner didnt keep up with the heat of the day but at night it was fine...but everything else made up for it, thats for sure.

The bus ride from the airport was like people said about 1 1/2 but on real nice air conditioned buses, and it was a nice ride.
We got to the hotel everything went smoothly, we got our oceanfront cottage which was out of this world...loved it!!!!!
The food was good, the drinks were good the service was great...and I must give the most credit to the entertainment staff, they were the best bunch of people ...so funny and enjoyable!!! Hats off to Paul, Eddie, Kenysha you were great..and thanks to Denton at the sports activities he was a huge help.
Also a shout out to the fine friends we made on our trip it was a pleasure meeting you all....Take care!!!!
We loved our stay and will be back!!!!!!!

Hey Eddie...TEXAS IN THE HOUSE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Linderslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2005

Six of us travelled to RDCC on 14.8.05 for 2 weeks (four adults and two children aged 15 and 10). After reading some of the reviews we were not sure what to expect, but decided that no matter what we were going to enjoy ourselves to the max and try to deal with any situation that may arise. The flight was good both ways (Air Jamaica) only being delayed by about half an hour or so, transfer to and from the hotel was fairly good. When we arrived at the hotel we found that we were not going to be in the garden cottages that we had booked, but instead were taken to two fantastic adjoining rooms (with our own balcony, table and chairs) - close to reception and the facilities and close to the gift shop - we thought brilliant! The first morning the toilet in one of the rooms was blocked and the shower did not work properly, but by the time we got back from breakfast, everything had been sorted and it was the start of a wonderful holiday. We had booked two trips through our rep Maxine who was such a wonderful lady - Dunns River Falls and Horseback Riding, both of which were definitely worth the money and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The food, drinks and service offered by the staff at this hotel is really good and one thing that impressed us the most was how well the staff managed to keep the hotel absolutely spotless - always mopping, sweeping and cleaning. George at the Swing Bar - you're brilliant. Kineesha - thanks for aquacise every morning and Paul - you made us laugh so much. Our children enjoyed themselves thoroughly and did not want to leave. There are a range of activities to suit everyone - tennis, glass bottom boat, peddle boats, speed boat, volleyball and more. The one thing that could be improved is the gym - not much to use unless you're into weightlifting. The entertainment was great, but one tip don't sit near to the front of the stage or you'll get nabbed to join in. I can't think how someone could not enjoy themsleves at this hotel - one guest said she had been back 7 times. To be honest all we can say is that we had a fantastic time at this hotel and will definitely be going back in the future. To the staff at RDCC - you're all brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALNUTPORT,PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2005

*****What a grand place to spend a vacation! I have been to Sandals & Breezes in Montego Bay and Boscobel Beach in Ocho Rios, and Royal Decameron has outshined the rest.
*****This was my wife's first time to Jamaica and was I glad she chose this resort. The amenities far exceeded what I was expecting from some of the negative reviews I had read on here. How in the world these people did not have fun is beyond me.
*****The cottages made it feel like you just moved into a small community rather than being stuffed into a hotel room. The rooms were very clean and well maintained.....great water pressure, comfortable king size bed, overhead fan, and great air conditioner. Phone did not work which I didn't even miss just used the one in the lobby to check-in at home.
*****The entertainment was to die for, I have never laughed at anything as much I did at "Showtime", to bad this isn't televised to the states every night. The entertaiment staff was top-notch and should be commended for putting a smile on everyones face every day. Thanks Kaneesha, Eddie, and the rest of the staff, you too Paul, even though I beat you in "Name That Tune". :o)
*****The food was fantastic each and every meal, nuff said!!!!!
*****The bartenders, who I consider my close friends, were as much a part of the entertainment as the rest of the staff....George, Taz, Kojak, Gary, Garfield, and the rest of you, Thanks so much for the great drinks and not letting me dry up at all. Douglas you went above and beyond what could have been expected.
***** SEE YOU ALL NEXT YEAR FOR SOME MORE OF THE BEST SERVICE ON THE ISLAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Big Poppa

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank NIXBESSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2005

I can't say enough things about Royal Decameron...i read the other reviews and totally agreed with the other comments.
1. Staff extremely helpful and friendly ( always saying hello)
2. Staff was ALWAYS cleaning* mopping lobby . comstantly tidying up
3. the all inclusive food is what left me in Awe. i was shocked it was really tasty and good and every night there was a wide variety of diff deserts
4. my son enjoyed the " crabb racing" :)
5. again about the cleanliness///staff always maintianing the gardens and grounds
6. the ground are soo beautiful....280 cottages ocean and garden views ( it provided the privacy you need in large resorts).
7. Round the clock security guards

I LOVED IT here and would def go again. It was worth every penny! Do the glass bottom boat mini outing (its free)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
33.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
55.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
41.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#20 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Property: Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing