We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Pablo worth the upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just returned from 10 days at the Grand Bahia Principe and agree it was the best resort holiday we've taken. Sure there were a couple of snags. Our first room in 24 block had view of a scrapyard and the highway but we were moved to a much better view in the morning. Although our new room wasn't in the Don Pablo area we had all the same amenities (more or less) and a much more central location.
The food was excellent at almost all of the al la cartes as well as the adults only buffet. The Jerk chicken by the beach was like Swiss Chalet on steroids! They have Jerk sauce of various hotness but as they were never labeled you took your chances. I am not a fish lover normally but I am sure I had the best fish of my life. Ask for some shrimp on the grill; It's never this fresh @ Red Lobster. If you see any coconut cream pie, snag it.
Grounds were clean even though it sometimes required as many staff as guests. Grounds men swept up leaves from around the pool all day, as the wind loosened up more. The washrooms reminded me of a Vegas hotel's. The gardens were not just maintained but seemed more lush (Probably a result o recent rain).
The pool service at the Don Pablo was excellent whether one tipped or not. Pool staff always had something going but were not pushy. In the evening the best kept secret was that Don Pablo has their own entertainment in the lounge by the pool. Hardly anyone was there. Nothing like ending the day slow dancing to live jazz as the waves lap the shore meters away.
The Don Pablo lounge has Wi-Fi, attentive staff and a not-quite-so-full bottle of Johnny Walker Black (also has Chivas and anything else you might want). We always grabbed some Rum Cream for our morning coffee on our way to our room.
We never used the room service other than ordering soda water a couple of times.
We would recommend the Don Pablo upgrade to couples who want to relax when they go on vacation without the hassle of booking dinners, fighting for cabanas or dealing with other people's kids.

Room Tip: Even though not "Don Pablo" rooms, ask to move to 21 block, 6th floor for the most spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DorchesterBench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest:

First of all we hope you had a good back home and thank you has taken the time to express your comments about our hotel Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica. Thank you for your observations about your stayed in our property it has been noted and we assure you that we intend to look into your suggestions.
We are happy to know we have been able to fulfill, even surpass your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, service, view, A la Carte restaurants, buffet and overall the food,pool and the lobby bar.
We will be more than happy if you would like to re-evaluate to give us the opportunity to host you in our resort. Looking forward to host you again.

Best Regards,

Olayensys Palmore
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,653 - 2,659 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The resort is stunning, the staff are so kind and eager to serve you. Loved the pool and pool bar. We did the Luxury adults only and found it quiet and not so crowded. Loved the canopy's to get out of the sun and the concierge service was great. The private lounge was great to take a break, do some internet surfing and have a cold drink. Gay Ann was amazing and remembered my name and exactly my needs. Foed also very good, woudl not hesitate to go back!!

Room Tip: Do the adults only, it is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comment about your stayed in our property Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica.
It is always a pleasure to know that you enjoyed special vacations, we are absolutely delighted to because of the fact that we were able to provide you a fabulous time and unforgettable experience that you will treasure forever. We will be more than happy to host you and try to make your next stay even more memorable than the recent experience

Regards,

Olayensys Palmore.
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this resort between April 4-11 and had a great time. This wasn’t our first trip to this Bahia resort, so we knew what to expect. Food was great as always and the service at the pool was amazing. There was a server walking around every 5 minutes to ask if you wanted anything to drink. We were able to use any buffets/restaurants and our a la carte dinners were already pre-booked. I absolutely loved the adult-only buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch. It was always very quiet and no long line ups for omelets. Most of the staff was very polite and helpful.

However, I had higher expectations for other things. The DP rooms in the building 24 were too close to the road and even with the balcony door closed, we were woken up by busy traffic in the middle of the night. We have requested a King size bed, but to our surprise, we were given two double beds. We were immediately upgraded to a better room the next day (with ocean view and king size bed in building 23). The beach is very far from the adults-only section of the hotel, there is at least a 10-15 minute walk to find a lounger in the shade. The beach used to be better and I am hoping that this resort invests in a bit of money in the future to make a beach closer to the adults-only section so that we do not have to walk so far. Also, the A/C was not working very well in all parts of the resort (our room, the buffet restaurants, the lobby, etc).

The general pool is not separated from the adults-only section, so anyone could come to our section until they get kicked out by security. I was hoping that the adults-only section would be separated from the others a bit better than it is. Depending where your lounger is, you could still hear the kids screaming from the other side of the pool.

My biggest complaint would be that people reserve the chairs early in the morning and by the time you finish with breakfast and head to the pool/beach, people have already put their towels on chairs. On our second day there, we were told by security that we could not “reserve” chairs before 8 am and that if you leave for over an hour during the day, the towels will be taken off and your stuff will be put in a “lost and found” bin. However, security did not enforce this rule for everybody and it was quite frustrating to find loungers reserved with towels for hours and no one was using them and security did not do anything about it.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would probably return again…at the right price.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 23 have an amazing view of the ocean and the pool, but are smaller. Rooms in bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mzvjerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We are indeed honored that you have chosen for second times our property Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica.
We appreciate your comments about our serving and that you enjoyed our pool, restaurant and bar. Thanks for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. It is trough communications of this nature that we given on opportunity to asses and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain the level of service expect from our resort.
Regarding a your biggest complaint we are committed to do all our effort to give to our guest the solutions

Yours sincerely,

Olayensys Palmore
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this great resort from April 3 to 10/14. The Don Pablo Collection is well worth it! We had a beautiful room overlooking the pool and ocean, clean & lots of space. The Manager & staff are great, very friendly & helpful. The food is great, all of our dinner reservations were made for us upon our arrival so there was no hassle with that..worked out perfect for us! In the Don Pablo Collection there is the private pool with your own bar and servers coming around great! at the beach there is a roped off section too! Only complaint at this resort would be you have to be up early in the morning to get chairs under the cabanas .. the towel game gets played, we did observe chairs being reserved all day but not being used!! We would return to this resort again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lovethe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest:

First of all,we would like to acknowledge your comment about our hotel Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica.
We were pleased to hear that you chose our property to spend your vacation. We take pride in our reputation of providing our guests with the best amenities, best in service and the best value for money. So it is motivating to our entire team when we see reviews like yours. It was an honor to be able to serve your group and we we look forward to hosting you agin. Do not hesitate to contact us whe you decide to book your next vacation.

Best Regards

Olayensys Palmore
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection,Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If your looking for somewhere to relax and get pampered with amazing staff, look no further!!, The wife and I were greeted by Loraine in the Don Pablo luxury side, she is the most wonderful lady, she makes you feel like you are a VIP and during the time we were there she spent her time going around the pool making sure all her guests were taken care of and anything that she could do to make your stay better she was right there. They have some of the best butler's out there, Carey and Kenton, WOW!!!!!! total class and amazing at sensing their guests needs.The food was excellent, we never had a bad meal while we were there. The wife and I spend a lot of time traveling and this is by far the best resort we have stayed at. The resort has such a great layout for the family side and the adults side if you want to have some quiet time away from the kids. There is always something to do if your the type that can't relax, but for myself I stayed at the beach and pool and got pampered the whole time we were there. We have only been home 2 weeks and are planning on returning to the same resort and staff. I can't imagine going anywhere else in the near future. We have met so many friends there that we are now planning on returning making it a reunion.I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Cheers, Shawn/Carmen

Room Tip: Top floor on the Don Pablo side, anything in the 23700 range you will like it's all ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for for choosen our property Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica for enjoyed you vacations.
Our hotel takes great pride in offering our guests a luxurious, relaxing and enjoyable vacation – so it meant a lot to us to have you point this out to other prospective travellers. Your special mention of our staff will no doubt also serve to motivate them. We look forward to welcoming you back a second time and hope that you will take a shorter time to return.
It was our pleasure to serve you and make of our property your home away from home.

Respectfully yours,

Olayensys Palmore
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The property is stunningly beautiful and expertly maintained. Everything is super clean. We stayed in the Don Pablo Collection section of the resort. It is definitely the better choice than the main resort. You have your own pool section which is quiet and peaceful, a nice bar with waitresses and waiters constantly making the rounds with drinks. There is a super energetic water aerobics/yoga/tai chi instructor named Damian. A more pleasant, fun person you'll never meet. We had our own reception area with a quiet little bar and light snacks throughout the day and our own breakfast and lunch area to get away from the crazy crowds in the main buffet. Our hostess at the private Palmyra restaurant was Sasha and she was always helpful for anything we wanted. One bug to the property is that unless you agree to take a sales tour regarding buying a timeshare, these amenities are not pointed out. It took us three days to figure out all the extra things we were entitled to. The sales girls dogged you every time you went through the lobby which I did not like. The evening entertainment on the deck was always pleasant, and our lovely waitress Natrice always looked after us with special care. We stayed 10 days and it was very enjoyable. The property is enormous and looks quite like the Grand Floridian in Disney only on a much bigger scale. Must stay in Don Pablo Collection, much nicer rooms, amenities and far away from the foam party crowd.

Room Tip: Ocean front, up high in Don Pablo Collection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear guest:

We appreciate your comment in Trip Advisor and that you enjoyed exceptional vacations in our property Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica.
We have felt privileged to have been able to host you as a special guest. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the best service in our pool and restaurant and thank you for choosing to share your opinion of our service.

Kind regards,

Olayensys Palmore
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We were at LBP runaway bay the first week of april. (80%canadians) What a wonderful week! First time in Jamaica after visiting cuba,DR and Mexico; 6 of us age range 35-45. Temperature was very hot and nice even at night time(no sweater here).We were in block 23 on the 6th which I would highly recommend (very nice ocean view). Room was clean and good air conditioning.Block 24 is a bit further away. Restaurants-all good(did not try italian), our favorites were Picasso-1 , Don Pablo-2 and Mikado-3. We emailed before hand for our reservations at restaurants and they were all granted. Best bar for drinks is by the DP pool. We mostly stayed at the beach in our nice little reserved area. The beach is ok not as soft as cuba. No beach volley ball area (court is as hard as ciment). Good snorkeling by the wedding gazebo. Overall-we had a fantastic week and would definetly recommend the Don Pablo section of the GBahia RunawayBay. It is worth the little extra money for the good service and access to restaurants.
Hope you guys have a great vacation like we did!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank beachlovernb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your holidays at our Resort.
On behalf of our General Manager and all our Staff Members we thank you again for your remarks and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.3 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
2.2 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
9,026 reviews
12.3 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £181 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (no additional charge 24H) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LoveHolidays so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing