We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arrived at hotel only to be told they were not responsible for items left in room and I should give then $50 deposit for a room safety deposit box and $6 a day to store my valuables bit odd for 5 star hotel normally free of charge as in wifi but not here $50 for 5 days. Luck has it vat outside hotel has it free. All inclusive if you like unbranded drinks or if you want red strip then pay up. Good was good and staff friendly but don't think I will be going back in a hurry having booked 5 star I expect 5 star not to be told can't go there can't eat here unless I'm a Don Pablo member sham I really was looking forward to it. Main bars shut at 11pm far to early.
Could have become a member for a bargain $10000 and got 40 weeks holiday over 10 years but didn't

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrcdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure for as to serve you and in the name of our co workers, thank you so much for your kind review.

Always at your disposal,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
There are newer reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,026 - 2,032 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just got back last night from this resort. We had an incredible vacation. I have been to Dominican many times and Mexico 3 times. We have met many wonderful people on these occasions. But Jamaicans are probably the most friendliest and genuine people I have ever met. The greatest asset of this resort is the staff. Any resort can have beautiful property and nice restaurants but when you have a staff like this Bahia you hit gold. Don Pablo Lounge have the sweetest ladies. Sanita is amazing and definitely made our vacation great. She is so kind hearted. Gay-Ann with a beautiful smile would greet you at the lounge and make the most delicious drinks. Kimiko Kong is one of those people that make you so comfortable and is always smiling. Lorraine Broderick is an amazing person and goes above and beyond for her guest. She seems to be everywhere but can be contacted any minute. You see her at the beach, the pool and lobby. You just have to mention something and it is done. Other honorable mention would be Damion at Picassso restaurant and Alwayne (AKA Sugerdaddy), these guys would make a fortune in Canada with their service. Demar in the Palmyra restaurant is that big loveable guy that everyone wants to hang out with. He had my wife in splits laughing.He is a great guy and hardworker. Pool girls Lamoya,Nicola,Tamara and Maryann were all great girls. The lady that kept our room so clean (and fridge so stocked) was so sweet...Thank you Kerone.
I know this review seems to be a lot about the staff but sometimes the service you get makes the difference in an OK vacation and a Great one. I have travelled enough to know excellent service and this resort rocks it.
The restaurants are very good especially, The Don Pablo, The Picasso and The Garden Grill.
Jerk chicken on the beach is the best BBQ chicken you are ever going to have hands down. I am craving that stuff right now.
If I had one complaint it would be to management to repair or upgrade air conditioning in rooms and especially restaurants..this place is HOT.

Room Tip: Rooms are newer in Building 24 but much better view in Building 23 and I think that is what we all...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarleyRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of our management and staff members from our Luxury Runaway Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection, we would like to extend our gratitude for your support and kind review posted on trip Advisor.

we sincerely hope to see you again very soon .
Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived to the resort on April 30th Kenton the butler, met us and the other guests that were checking in at the same time right in the lobby. Kenton warmly welcomed us to the Grand Bahia and instantly made us feel right at home.

We were taken to the Don Pablo lounge where we were given a cold cloth to cool off with and a nice glass of sparkling cava.

Lorraine, one of the 3 Don Pablo representatives welcomed us to the resort and started to explain the property. It took about 45 minutes but it was all information you need. They then give you your packet of information and dinner reservations for you trip. After that our butler Kenton whisked us away to go to the rooms. They take you to the rooms in groups and the first people that got dropped off had a garden view and wanted to ocean view. Kenton was on it, calling his people to try to get them moved, right then he said enjoy the room tonight and don't unpack you will be moved in the morning. Which they were, and they had a better room with a view they were happy with. We did walk around their room and it was very nice and there bathroom was much nicer then our room but we had an amazing view of the ocean.

Our room was 23612 and the view was out of this world!!! We overlooked the pool and the bay, when the door to the room was open you could here the waves on the beach and it was such a relaxing place. The bed is hard but you don't go on vacation to sleep. Our air conditioner did work but we heard many complaints about lack of air conditioning. Also if your sliding glass door to the patio isn't closed well the air will not come on....

Kenton the butler was so great as were all of his associates, the butlers can iron one piece of clothing the first day you arrive, they give you one bottle of either rum, tequila, or vodka but you have to leave it in the room for inventory, as well as any sodas, bottled waters, or wines as well.
Any time we needed anything they were on top of it.


The property is very clean and one thing is for sure the bathrooms, on the beach in the restaurants, in the lobby, and by the pool are the cleanest of any resort I have been too. That was a huge plus.

FOOD>>>>>>>
For breakfast we ate every morning in the Picasso (Don Pablo guests only restaurant) and Shane was our server, he was very helpful, and outgoing as well as all the other employees. There is a buffet in this restaurant but the best items are on the ala carte menu that they will give you, this is a much quieter and cleaner restaurant then the big buffet that all the guests can eat off of.
We also ate at the Don Pablo restaurant, Dolce Vita, Mikakdo the Japanese Hibachi, they were all good but Dolce Vita had the best atmosphere. We asked to sit outside on the patio, it was so pretty with the waves and the sun set it was great Nicholas was our server and everyone at the restaurant was very nice.
BEACH/POOL>>>>>>
The pools are super nice and very clean. There are two parts to the beach at this property one is straight from the pools where you can get a kayak, snorkel gear, but it is pebbly and you will need water shoes.

One the other side of the resort there is a very nice beach with nice chairs but it gets loud and crowded. We walked up to were the nudist area is and found that is where the best part of the beach is and there was a nice breeze. There is a very nice bartender Carlo at the beach bar and super clean bathrooms.

I and my husband are really active so walking isn't a big deal to us but we heard over and over how much walking it was and that it was like working on vacation. We never felt that way but if you get to the beach and realize you left something in your room, you might just decide to stick to the pool because it is a trek.
Let me say this and it isn't a pro or con but merely how it is in Jamaica, everyone working wants a tip!!! Your service is completely different if you don't tip.

We went to Dunn's River Falls and you are expected to tip everyone, the driver, the photographer, the tour guide, this was different for us being American. We don't tip people at amusement parks for doing their jobs so we were not prepared for that it was $100 to get there, and then you must tip the tour guide also, it was a bit much. Dunn's was a great experience but I left there feeling a bit taken.

This trip was everything we could ask for and more but I got eaten alive by bugs so please make sure to take off and bug bite creams you might need them.
Book this hotel and have a great trip Ya Mon!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mollycfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are completely happy to learn that you experienced the best during your honeymoon at our Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with other reviewers and we are always at your disposal.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an excellent resort. Upon arrival the front desk staffs were very warm and friendly. Everyone did their best to accommodate and make your stay enjoyable. The food and services were fantastic.

Special thank you to the below mentioned staff members:
Loraine Broderick
Ralston
Lamoya
Lovette Thomas Wiggins
Maria
Carmen

You have all contributed in making my stay a wonderful experience. See you next year.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool & Caribbean Sea .
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear guest,

It is an is honor and proud to receive your congratulations to our colleagues and especially to know that you enjoyed your holiday.

Always at your disposal for any further assistance in your next visit to our Resort.

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a great trip. The employees were great. Very attentive and fun. Always smiling and laughing. The resort and food were very good. The downside - my snorkeling gear, water shoes, and a hat were stolen from our 1st floor "balcony" on the last night. Left a bad taste for me ...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yakdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are happy to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities ant our Resort Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for your suggestions and we hope to see you soon !!

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We are just back from a fantastic three week holiday, staying in Luxury Don Pablo section. The room was on 4th floor over looking garden so beautiful, and sea view.
The room was spotlessly clean with all the things you would expect from a first class hotel, hair dryer, very large bathroom, four poster bed which was so comfy, tea and the famous Blue Mountain coffee, iron and board even an umberella which was not used as weather so fantastic.

The pool area very spacious and plent of sun chairs and cabana's for shade.

Every thing about this hotel is first class but what really made our holiday was the happy cheerful staff from grounds people to management nothing too much trouble and what we kept hearing was "no problem, just situation, yah man".

A special mention to two poolside waiting staff Latisher and Nicola on Don Pablo, wonderful ladies that work so hard.

We are seasoned travellers and do not normally return to same place twice, but we certainly will return here. My husband and I would both recommend this hotel and if you do not have children, go the little extra in Don Pablo so worth every penny.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TessRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to host you in our Resort and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the variety at this resort. It is huge but the luxury areas are very quiet and subdued. If you want to enjoy loud and vivacious that is available as well. We enjoyed breakfast, indoors or out, buffet or a la carte or a combo, with maybe 3 or 4 other couples in the restaurant. Very nice and quiet to enjoy that first cup of coffee in the morning. The luxury lounge with wifi and drinks was a great place to get caught up news from home. Gluten free aware, I had no issues.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear guest,

Certainly your satisfaction is our best award. We are very happy to learn that once again we achieved our goal.

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know and sharing your experience with our reviewers in Trip Advisor and we hope to see you very soon in our Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.3 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
39.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
27.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £162 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (no additional charge 24H) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing