We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,705)
Filter reviews
3,705 results
Traveller rating
1,917
955
431
224
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,917
955
431
224
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don pablo las olas jazmin buffet lobby bar room service jerk chicken a la carte restaurants dolce vita ocean view premium drinks chateaubriand garden grill adults only section butler service picasso restaurant dinner reservations nude beach
Filter
Updating list...
2,149 - 2,154 of 3,705 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed in the Luxury (adults only) side of this double hotel for the last two weeks in May - and had a fantastic time. They are still sorting a few things out from separating the "adults only" section of one hotel, into two separate hotels - but these did not detract from the holiday.

Overall the food was very good throughout - with the only disappointment being the "gourmet" restaurant in the Luxury side. It was not bad, but no better than the standard Luxury buffet, and not as good as the Gourmet restaurant on the standard side. The other Adults only restaurants (Rodizio and the new Takara) were Excellent. and we went to both of them twice.

Note: the Luxury buffet was never more than 50% full, and had a good ratio of staff to customers at all time. The other buffet was often seen to have people queuing out of the door waiting for a table.

The pool area is very well laid out, with the only issue being the lack of covered sunbeds. The white umbrellas as initially supplied to this new pool are not fit for purpose and blow over with a gust of wind. whilst we were there another 3 or 4 were removed when they broke (narrowly missing guests in the process). Some of them have been replaced with larger brown umbrellas, but they are down on numbers.

The staff on the luxury side are 100% great - very helpful and friendly (I encountered a couple of the "grand" side, they did not seem so friendly. A special shout out to Fletcher in the Sunset Bar (aka the "secret" bar, as it is not on any of the maps around the resort) when you go here you *have* to go to this little gem, hidden behind the Dolce Vita restaurant at least once for the sunset (take your camera) and maybe before/after dinner as well

Room tip: WiFi does work throughout both sides of the hotel, but you have to keep logging in (annoying)
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank steveuk545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Steve,

On behalf of the General Manager and staff at the Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, we would like to say thank you for giving us this opportunity to host you.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we are looking forward to your return to serve you to another fantastic vacation.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

had a wonderful meal here for my birthday. service and food were fantastic. would highly recommend. thanks for the birthday cake.

Thank RosieWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

The resort is beautiful. It's clean and the most staff was friendly. Had an incident at check in where I was told my room was ocean view and at arrival my room was facing the garden. Went back downstairs to verify why and was told that the next day I would have my Oceanview room, it never happened. There was excuses over excuses and I never got my room. The second day the water was shut down and we were not notified. We couldn't flush the toilets obviously which was unhygienic. When I asked a maintenance staff when was the water coming back one of the maid became very disrespect and sarcastic speaking in Patwa to her co-worker assuming we didn't understand telling him "don't explain anything, they won't get it". The phones didn't work, we had to go outside in the hall of we needed to call the front desk. Our butler was amazing his name was Oshando, he really made the effort to make our stay good. The public relations manager Kaleesha was amazing as well, she was so helpful and nice.

The pool was beautiful but after 7pm it was closed. There was no entertainment after that. It was very relaxing if you just like relax but if you like to party this is not the resort. We had to walk to the Bahia Príncipe side where they had more entertainment. The first few days the Disco was dead, the last day on Saturday it was full but the "Pueblo" area was empty.

The food was good except on the "Brazilian Restaurant". The meat was under cook. The staff was rude. It was not a good experience.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Arelis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Arelis,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are saddened that we did not meet all your expectations; we have noted your concerns and have passed them to our departmental heads where they will be handled. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered.

Thank you for vacationing with us and we hope that this experience has not tarnished your perception of our beautiful resort.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

It was an excellent trip overall. We were graciously welcomed and the check in process was smooth and effortless. Front desk took care of the paperwork whist we sipped on champagne. The room was to die for, overlooking the pool and the beach. Food and drink choices was also excellent, we ate at almost everywhere including the new Japanese restaurant that we were graciously invited to.

Room tip: Awesome view, Excellent food and drinks
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ldaviesgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had an amazing time at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection and that our staff made sure all your expectations were exceeded! We do take pride in delivering impeccable service to our guests and we appreciate your kind remarks. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Yours respectfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This was my third visit to this Establishment since January 2015. Once I stayed on the Bahia side with my Children, then on the Luxury girls trip Jan 2016 and because of the GREAT experience in January decided to do another trip in May 2016. Since January ALOT has changed on the "Luxury" side ...
#1. The Greeting in January was wine glasses of Jamaican Punch and Smiles from the Staff ... None of that happened in May
#2. January we had Butler service ... Even after requesting this I was unable to have a Butler and was told to call Front Desk for services required.
#3. I called down to have my Fridge re-stocked with Beer and was asked "Did I not already receive my 2Beer for the day?" Really?! Its ALL INCLUSIVE LUXURY and I am limited to 2Beer?! I even asked if I could purchase Beer if they would not give them to me and was told NO.
#4. I finally received a Facecloth and Shower Matt on day 3. 2days my room was still not made over by 6pm and one day wasn't done @ all ... This did NOT happen one time in January!!!
#5. and the ABSOLUTE WORST DIFFERENCE OF ALL WAS THE ENTERTAINMENT ... Friday & Sunday Night they played a Movie on the LUXURY side and there was literally one person sitting there. In January EVERY night they had ENTERTAINMENT on the LUXURY side.
#6. Entertainment Games on the Pool deck ... Seriously you are giving me a sheet of paper to record points ... I played a game and received 10pts ... only needed to play 14more games to accumulate 150pts to get a small bag of Coffee LOL ... Who is going to carry a piece of paper poolside all day ... January if you played and won you won.

In essence I feel there must be new management who are REALLY trying to CUT corners ... WELL CONGRATS you've DONE IT and YOUR GUESTS ARE FEELING THE EFFECTS. Well done on a newly opened "LUXURY SIDE" that in a few months doesn't seem LUXURY!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coodinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Jennie,

We cannot tell you how we regret to know that you were not satisfied with your overall stay. We have taken note of all your concerns which will be addressed by our management team to ensure that we will not have any further inconvenience in the future.

Thank you so much for vacationing with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews