We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$625
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Haven Condo Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$715
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Sonate(Runaway Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,494)
Filter reviews
3,494 results
Traveller rating
1,813
908
400
212
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,813
908
400
212
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablojerk chickenroom servicelas olasjazmin buffetlobby barbrazilian restauranta la carte restaurantsdolce vitachateaubriandpremium drinksthe entire resortrecommend this resortgarden grilladults only sectionbutler servicemain buffet
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 3,494 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned yesterday from vacation and this is our second time going and they didn’t disappoint us. The entertainment, food and atmosphere is always so well done!!
I did hear quite a few of the younger people remark about how early the pool closes! So for anyone looking for a resort with a pool party scene that last all night... this is not the place for you..pool closes at 7pm!
I have read negative reviews about housekeeping and turn down service and they have started documenting if you don’t want your room cleaned. The housekeeper even returned a second time with the supervisor to make sure that was the case. I’m sure that process will improve their star ratings.
They even went out their way to call the room when we had the do not disturb sign on the door because on one day we were feeling a little bit under the weather. Thanks to the great staff and service and keep up the good work!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.

Thank you for enjoying your time at our resort and sharing your positive comments about the entertainment, the food and our location.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. ;- )

Warmest regards,
Sabrina Walters
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Luxury does not mean sharing elevators with laundry carts and janitor carts. There are staff elevators. They should be used or else such carts and staff should exit visitor elevators until guests have cleared.
Staff work hard on landscaping...get grass catchers for their mowers.
If you are going to charge extra for additional refreshments used in my room mini bar then fill it up on time.
If you do not have enough towels or floor mats for my daily room cleaning just leave me a note telling me when you will be topping them up dont make me call the concierge everyday you are short on your supplies.
Luxury should mean higher end alcohols in their luxury bars around the luxury side not just in lobby. The lobby bar set up is very inefficient. If a DRINK OF THE DAY is promoted at the Luxury Bar (term used loosely) then perhaps the bar staff should be well enough trained on that drink that they do not have to read the ingredients every time they make it.
Hard wheeled service carts are loud on tiled halls and tiled pool decks consider carts with air filled tires.
Front line service staff and gardeners work very hard in the intense heat. They were always friendly and mostly willing to interact and share some of themselves.
With a bit of training, equipment improvements, and support I am sure their own personal work experiences would improve.
For the most part our concerns were addressed albeit after some persistence on our part. Found out that other guests had similar concerns with in room services and bar issues.
No plans to return any time soon.Show less
Room Tip: Keep away from area of rm 26506 terrible view and traffic noise 23314 area is excellent ask for even numbered rmon that floor if you must go
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple

Room Tip: Keep away from 26506 terrible view and traffic noise 23314 area is excellent ask for even numbered rm on that floor if you must go.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeyhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for sharing your vacation experience at our hotel.

We really appreciate your comments about the staff, the services, and our facility.

Regarding the situation described, we are sorry about not meeting your expectations; all your observations have been forwarded to the General Management of the resort as guest satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we are constantly striving towards excellence in our services.

If you give us another opportunity to host you in the future, we are sure you will enjoy your stay at our hotel.

Best regards,
Sabrina Walters
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After inspecting the room, there were black bed bug feces found all over the room and actual bed bugs within every crevice of furniture, including the bed. I have never been so grossed out in my life. I have been looking forward to this trip for a long time and used my hard earned money to purchase this trip. It turned into a nightmare for my boyfriend and I. When I mentioned this to the front, they laughed and didn’t believe me and pretty much did nothing about it. My boyfriend and I dread going to the room everyday. All I can say is this resort is disgusting. I cannot wait to go home.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Angela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for sharing your vacation experience at our hotel.

Regarding the situation described, we are sorry about not meeting your expectations; all your observations have been forwarded to the General Management of the resort as guest satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we are constantly striving towards excellence in our services.

If you give us another opportunity to host you in the future, we are sure you will enjoy your stay at our hotel.

Best regards,
Sabrina Walters
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family with 2 Adult "children" stayed here in February. Grounds / rooms are in great condition. Lots of dining options and we appreciated the "adults only" aspects (espresso drinks at the lobby bar, adult only dining options, adult only pool) while still having access to the "family" side which includes a very nice outdoor dining area. Alex was our butler and he was always ready to help. We particularly liked the Brazilian place for supper, and Don Pablo was also very enjoyable. Buffets are very good and I appreciate being able to have freshly grilled fish and/or meats prepared at lunch/supper. For our beach days we headed to the large beach area at the west end of the property where we could always find a spot. Swimming best at this west location as it is quite shallow on the adult side (though good place to view fish). Nightly lobby bar entertainment also very good. Thanks to Alex and all the staff for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.

Thank you for enjoying your time at our resort and sharing your positive comments about the grounds, the rooms, food variety especially at the Brazilian, the Don Pablo and the buffet and also the entertainment in the evenings at the lobby bar.

Thank you for special recognition of Alex and the service he has provided during your stay.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. ;- )

Warmest regards,
Sabrina Walters
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We traveled with a group of 62 for a destination wedding. This is a large resort and is very well maintained, lovely grounds and buildings. Both our room and the public areas are very clean.
Food is good, and compared about equal to what we were used to in many trips to Cuba. More emphasis on red meat and less on seafood, and the Jerk Chicken was great.
Staff is friendly and A' La 'Carte restaurants are excellent. Definitely a 5 star feeling about the place.
However, you have to continually run the gauntlet of the time-share sales people. We did agree to their "one - hour" presentation, showed up only to be told we could not have the tour since one of the other parties in our group were also on a tour. What?? Fortunately for us we didn't waste the time on a sales pitch, and found out from the other party that the "one hour" presentation took the whole morning!
Then had to spend the rest of the week brushing off the sales people as they continually hounded us to take the tour!
There are a lot of security guards on the resort, it is nice to feel safe, but their almost threatening attitude and unfriendly dispositions were not appreciated. Bulletin: The guests are not the threat here!
Beaches are stony and shallow and limited to pockets of sand. But they are well protected from the open ocean, so are available even on days other beaches would be "red flagged".
We were disappointed that with 62 people in the tour ( A sizeable financial contribution) the Hotel did nothing to recognize the group. We were scattered throughout the complex in spite of the wedding couple's request to put us in the same area.
A pre-wedding reception might have been nice, or some recognition of our group's event.
The reception was to have been held in an air-conditioned room, but was changed at the last minute to a hot outdoor tent; at 90 degrees, would have been much nicer to be cool.
This was our first visit to Jamaica. We enjoyed our stay but would select a different location if we were to return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubawithdrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for taking the time to express the details of your holiday experience our hotel.

We appreciate your comments about our facilities, grounds, and variety of food.

We always strive to provide our guests with the highest quality service so they can stay absolutely happy with their holiday.

For the points that you have mentioned, we have sent the information to the departments involved to apply the necessary actions that guarantee the quality of our services.

Thanks again for your choice and we hope you give us the opportunity to host you again.

Sending you our best regards,

Sabrina Walters
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews