We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What can i say almost everything was perfect while here. The only thing not was it raining 3 out of the 6 day nights we stayed. Everyone was really nice and we really enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious, the piano bar interesting and fun, and so was the dance club. Since its a relatively new resort with few people some restaurants were closed on some nights as well as the dance club and piano bar only one was opened a night. Errol and the JTL lady (i forget her name) were a big help in booking excursions of Dunn's River Falls (which is paid for by the hotel and is a must do) and Mystic Mountain Tranopy (really fun to do the bob sledding and zip lining). All the bartenders (especially Ryan) were very attentive and helpful in our quest to try all the drinks on their menu. Thanks Ryan, Errol and JTL lady for helping make this vacation wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Carlos

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and it was our pleasure. Delighted that you had a great time and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,661
    777
    241
    61
    28
See reviews for
252
1,900
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently vacationed at the Jewel Paradise Cove and found that it ticked all of our boxes for a holiday except one – the beach! We chose this resort knowing that the beach was a small cove but figured that given the excellent watersports that were available we would get our ocean fix that way. Unfortunately the beach was red flagged 5 days out of 7 so no watersports could happen. That also made the water a very murky grassy brown – not very nice for swimming. We realize that the resort has no control over the weather but the lack of ocean activities did impact the enjoyment of our holiday. Because there are no towel cards there was no incentive to keep track of your towels. This resulted in a lack of towels several times during the week. However… the water staff went out of their way to bring you towels when they did arrive.
Everything else was great! We had a basic room in the Emerald section that was keep clean and tidy. I did ask the front desk and housekeeping for smaller and softer (feather) pillows a number of times but I guess they aren’t available. Food and service at all the restaurants and bars was excellent.
A few stand outs!
Patrick at the Coral Café
Howard and Tamique at the Shipwreck Bar
Bret-Lee on the beach
Casey for our one snorkelling
Uriah and Shannon (gardeners) who took the time on Saturday (day of the Grand Opening) to show off the wonderful landscaping of the resort on the nature walk
Dimplz for sharing several meals with us
The resort had very low occupancy our week, probably less than 60 guests. There was no dive in movie due to the weather and no Dining under the Stars due to the grand opening party.It will be very interesting to see how the resort will cope when it is full. We did have a great trip despite the weather but we are unlikely to return due to our disappointment with the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachwalker1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have hosted you and happy that despite the weather condition, you still had a great time. As you mentioned we have no control of the weather, and the issue with towels will be addressed. Sorry that you could not have enjoyed some of the amentities as you would have liked, but thanks for allowing us the opportunity to host once again.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We highly recommend the Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa. The rooms are very nice; the food is excellent and the staff is outstanding! The resort is quiet and relaxing. Upon our arrival, Bret-Lee brought our bags up and made certain we were happy with our room and comfortable. All of the staff pay great attention to every guest to make certain their experience is enjoyable 24/7. We can't say enough about bartenders Nerene and Remona--they were excellent. Entertainment director Barbie is just a doll. We also received outstanding service from Collin, Errol and Orlando as well.

The only thing missing from this vacation was sun. We were there the week of December 9th. The golf course was fun but challenging; just wish we could have played more. We did not get to experience snorkeling, sunset cruise or any of the other water activities due to heavy rain three days. Hopefully, next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Barbara

Delighted that you had an awesome vacation, and promise you next time you will have more sun. It was our pleasure and see you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was truly an awesome place! We went there for our honeymoon and definitely recommend it to anyone looking to visit Jamaica. We thoroughly enjoyed the facilities and loved the quiet, relaxing environment, however, the absolute best thing about this resort is the staff. Every single staff member, whether they were entertainment, wait staff or maintenance, greeted you and asked how you were doing and if they could do anything for you. We enjoyed each and every employee that we encountered during our stay there. While they were all extremely pleasant, I will tell you about a few of the employees that we spent most of the time with. We had a waiter in the Moonstone restaurant named Jephtha, he was great. He waited on us one night at the restaurant and did a fabulous job, we saw him 3 days later and he came up, called us by name and had a conversation with us, we later requested him when we visited Moonstone for the second time. There was another waiter that we had at the pizza place and at the buffet named Charley. He was also very nice and personable, we enjoyed having him as well. There were 2 bartenders, O'Shane and Pearson, who were great to us, changing the channels on the bar TV and remembering our drinks and how we liked them. Paula was a hostess that we had at the Platinum restaurant, she was very nice and came over and talked to us for quite some time while we were waiting for our food, we really liked her as well. We went to the Jade restaurant twice and had the same hostess and chef both times. I can't remember our hostess' name but we liked her. Our chef both times was Gary, he was awesome! We really liked him and the food that he prepared was the best of our vacation. We really liked the gift shop staff as well, especially Samantha, she went above and beyond to help us! Our concierge was Errol, he was fantastic as well. After speaking with him briefly once, he called me by my name the rest of the trip. Every time I talked to him, he asked what they could do better and how he could make our vacation even more enjoyable. He even called our room to ask when I hadn't seen him for a day or two. Collin also worked in guest services, he was the first person that we met when we got off of the bus, he was absolutely great too. They had a couple of drink servers on the beach, they were really nice and was very conscious about when to ask if you needed a drink and when to let you relax. There names were Orlando and Brett-Lee. Finally, the watersports staff was outstanding! They were very professional and helpful. My wife and I did a scuba course (even though I am certified) and the instructor, Lloyd, was very knowledgeable and did an excellent job explaining everything. Our first dive there were 5 guests diving (3 non-certified and 2 certified divers) and they sent 4 scuba divers from the resort to go down with us. It was phenomenal to have basically one on one attention and it made my wife feel much more comfortable about the dive. We went on a couple other dives and the staff was just as great every time. I know this review has mostly been about the staff but as I said, the staff is what made this resort so great. We enjoyed the hot tubs, pools and pool bars, they are really nice! The beach is kind of small but it wasn't packed when we were there, so that was nice too. We liked each of the restaurants that we went to and enjoyed the food. The Pina Coladas and other drinks we had were delicious as well. The room was nice, even though we had a cheaper room, and everything was kept very clean. People were constantly cleaning, the pool, the decks, restaurants and the beach were kept very clean! They let 2 different vendors come in to sell items during our stay. One guy was selling turtles and the other had all kinds of wood figures and things, they were both really nice and not pushy at all. We enjoyed having them there since we didn't go off of the resort to shop for similar things. We both highly recommend this resort and plan to visit again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Brad

Thanks for taking the time share your vaction experience and for mentioning the staff members, that were exceptional, in delivering service, although as you stated all team members were great. This will be shared with as they continue to deliver the exceptional level of service, and hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I chose Jewel Paradise Cove as our 10-year Anniversary vacation. It was also our honeymoon since we weren't able to take a proper one when we first got married. We can't say enough about this resort. From the moment we arrived, jet-lagged and weary, we felt like we were at home. George and Errol both greeted us in the lobby and we were given a "Gem of the Day" - the daily cocktail special. George then showed us the grounds and brought us to our room, a lovely, well-appointed ocean view room with a king-sized bed, huge soaker tub and a fabulous mini-bar! Every single one of our needs was looked after from that day on. From Ryan and Jason at the bar, to Remona at the Aquamarina Grill, Deberee at the spa, Bret-Lee the beach concierge, Bishop and Patrick at the fitness centre, Vic, Casey and all the wonderful water sports guys, Dimplz, Barbie, Dyce and Swagg (the awesome entertainment team), Gerent and Luann at the Jade Samurai, ALL the staff at the Coral Cafe (and I do mean all!!), the wonderful housekeeping staff and everyone who stocked our mini-bar, the groundskeepers, the gift shop staff, and the management who run everything so efficiently. We truly felt like royalty. Because the resort is so new there were very few people there, which took some getting used to, but it also meant getting to know the staff and the other guests quite well! We feel we made some friends in our time there which makes the trip all the more special.
The food was fantastic. Everything, every restaurant, every meal had something that made us say Wow! The Jamaica Jamaica pizza is OUTSTANDING. John really enjoyed the goat curry and the oxtail. Our favourite meal was definitely the Friday night "Dining Under the Stars" dinner where we had an amazing 7-course meal with the other guests at a big table beside the ocean. What a great opportunity to meet other people and enjoy some spectacular food and incredible service! And if there was ever anything uniquely Jamaican that we wanted to try there were people to arrange those things for us. I even had a jelly coconut delivered to our room!
It was so relaxing to listen to the crashing waves outside our room, and the beaches are wonderfully private and very quiet. They are small, but if you want peace and tranquility, this is the place to be.
We did almost all the water activities, snorkeling, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking, swimming, water slide, pedal boats, glass-bottom boat tour, sunset cruise...all fantastic. The snorkeling was so amazing. I wish I had made the time to go scuba diving. Next time for sure.
This place is guaranteed to become one of the best resorts in Jamaica. We are already planning our return trip to this beautiful resort. Just go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Corinne

It was our pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thanks for mentioning the staff and this will be shared with them as they continue to excel in the great service they give. Thanks again and hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had our best vacation experience ever at Jewels Paradise Cove at Runaway Bay. We have stayed at Beaches Negril and two of the Couples resorts in Jamaica. We stayed the week before the properties grand opening arriving on Thanksgiving Day. There was only about 60-120 other guests there while we were throughout the week. The service and staff was outstanding to say the least.

We loved the property itself. It has two beaches. The main beach on the west end and a smaller private beach on the east. The beaches are connected by a boardwalk that takes you along the sea by the sunset bar and pool grill which has a beautiful view of the surf and a large hot tub. There are various hammocks and gazebos along the way. The pool are was just behind the main beach and featured plenty of lounge chairs a swim up bar and water slide (very fun and fast). The lobby and most of the restaurants are also in this area. The water sports staff on the main beach did an outstanding job. All of the water toys are just out of the box to include hobbie cats, stand up paddle boards, kayaks, windsurfing and dive equiptment. Scuba in Jamaica has always been average but the dive master, Paul made it a bit more exciting by leading a lionfish safari, spearing ten on one dive. Their hobie cat captain is an incredible sailor..so fun in the waves. Overall, I would rate it as nice as we have experienced compared to other properties in Jamaica. The main beach was small compared to Beaches Negril and Couples Swept Away in Negril but we had it to ourselves so it seemed massive. It was a protected cove with a view of the mountains. Bret Lee took drink orders on the beach and was outstanding.

Our room (725) was newly renovated and offered a great view of the Caribbean. Everything was spotless. We had an ocean view after changing from a pool view. Pool view rooms are in a square and open out to a large pool with a pool bar, a large raised sundeck and hot tub. It would be fun for a group to stay near each other. We prefer to see the beach or the beautiful gardens. The rooms here are either ocean or pool view.

My wife got to take several yoga classes on a boardwalk over the water with an awesome yoga instructor... She also did the water aerobics and loved them both, especially the yoga.

Every night there was really excellent entertainment on the main stage such as the Silver birds steel drum band, not to be missed, a native dance troup that was amazing, some awesome singers with the house band which were excellent- one night an amazing Jamaican reggae singer. Even though the main room was almost empty every act preformed as if there was a full house which was impressive. Then they had a sing along piano bar which was really fun especially with Carlton playing. The entertainment staff did a great job, Diplez, Barbie, Dyce and Swagg.

The only thing that did not wow us was the food in the main restaurants overall. It was good to very good but not outstanding with the exception of the Pizza from the brick oven under the sunset bar. We happened to be there for and watched the Iron Bowl (OUCH) with a small group at the swim up bar and ordered and had pizzas delivered during the game. The Jamaican Jerk chicken pizza is worth the trip to Paradise Bay alone. The game itself did not end as I would have liked but being in paradise took most of the sting out of the loss. We enjoyed breakfast with vege and fruit smoothie station, omelet station, fresh fruit and all the other breakfast staples including some Jamaican ones - love the banana porridge. Junior the chef made us some excellent jerk chicken at our request for lunch on day. The wait staff and bar staff were all so attentive and friendly, some that stand out - Maureen, Stephanie, Kimelee, Sheldon, Ruen and Jeptha, but everyone was truly excellent (wish I could remember more names).

We did leave the property once for a trip to The Blue Hole and Scotchies for lunch with three other couples. Do not miss this in the area. The blue hole is more fun than Dunns River Falls and does not have the cruise ship crowds that Dunns does. Scotchies was incredible. Make sure you try their ribs if you go. Errol ,our wonderful concierge arranged for tour driver for us and he was great. The concierge and front desk were excellent including Collin and George who helped us with our bags always with a smile.

My wife had a massage in the new spa with Deboree and said it was the best massage she ever had (and shes had a few). The rooms are steps from the ocean and the open the door so you can hear the waves as you are massaged. It is very nice, does not have a hydrotherapy pool or jacuzzi yet. The weight room had minimal equipment but since I was on vacation, I did not care much.

I played three rounds of golf at Runaway Bay. The course was very nice and challenging. You will need to have a caddie to play. I spent about 40 bucks a round to include a tip and a couple of Red Stripes. Transportation to the course is included and about 5 minutes away. I got off early on the days I played and was back at the resort in plenty of time to enjoy the day.

We would book this property again in a heartbeat! Barbara the manager has done an outstanding job in the early days of this property. We like that it is Jamaican owned and more money stays in Jamaica compared to non Jamaican owned resorts. Again, our experience was unique because the property was not even close to capacity. If they are able to offer the same level of service when the property is full, you will not want to miss the chance to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a detailed review and really appreciate you taking the time, to let us know of how much of a great experience your vacation was. It was truly our pleasure to have hosted you and looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Jewel Paradise Cove after being moved when the electricity went out at Jewel Dunn's River. We felt very lucky to have this experience. It was so new and clean compared to the other resort it felt like a major upgrade. The staff was friendly and wonderful at both resorts. The food was good but the pizza was the best. Great rooms. Friendly staff and lots to do. I enjoyed the water slide races. Best time was 10 seconds. Be sure to oil up first. Really can't say enough good things about this place. Beach was small but everything else was so good we didn't mind. And we are beach people. I'd say this place is more for couples than singles. Not a busy place yet but that was fine. We met great people from all over the US and other countries and miss them all. Go to the Blue Hole and Scotchie's for jerk. It's worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us, despite the challenge at our sister property and it did not put a damper on your vacation. It was our pleasure to have hosted you and happy that we could assist in making your vacation memories. Hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
32.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
41.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing