We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We concur with the previous reviews and give Jewel Paradise Cove high marks.

Better than expected... The Staff... Truly exceptional. Not one less-than-gracious encounter.

Underrated/Under-reviewed.. The Tennis. While the courts are just average, the on-resort Pro, Peter, is a pleasure to hit with and happy to see all comers. Beginner or expert, get out there!

Below expectations. Lack of fresh seafood. Appeared that only the shrimp was not of the frozen variety. Have had much better (and fresh!) seafood at other Jamaica resorts.
Evening entertainment. As others have mentioned, it starts too late. The Coral Cafe does not lend itself well to evening entertainment due to poor lighting, acoustics, and lack of a true dance floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msj747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for recognizing our top notch staff in your review and it was our pleasure to have hosted and looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    760
    234
    60
    27
See reviews for
243
1,854
61
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We visited The Jewel in May for our anniversary and I've got to say that it was the most amazing trip we've had in a very VERY long time. Getting to Jamaica was a bit long simply because we're from California but when we arrived, the super long lay over and tiredness was all foegotten. We were met by an attendent who was so kind and gave us a welcome drink and a very nice super cold towel to freshen up. The check in process was really easy. The resort is goregeous! The beach is nice and calm and the pools have a walk up bar. So cool!

Throughout our stay, there was so much to do that wet decided not to go out of the premises. From the glass bottom boat ride to the sunset cruise, seems like we didnt have enough time to do it all. The staff is so polite and always willing to provide great service. (Shout out to crazy, paparazzi, Ricardo from the buffet, and yenique I believe that's her name)

We went to the night club on the premises called Bling and I've got to say I was a bit disappointed. I know its not "Margaritaville" but at least listen to the people who want to hear some good music. Especially if we're requesting it. We went to the club 2 separate nights and we requested some reggae. The DJ was so unpleasant upon the request. It seemed as though he didn't like reggae? He eventually did play reggae but then continued to play some terrible mixes. I asked him again to play reggae he said they only play it on Saturdays. Does it really matter when they play reggae? there were only a hand full of people in the club. Some of the servers said it hasnt been that packed in a long time. I see it as this: we traveled all the way across country to get way from our daily life and that includes the music we listen to. We want some reggae! Not just on Saturdays but any day we can! We weren't there on Saturday but I would have loved to be there on Reggae night!

Overall, we had a great experience and the trip really made our anniversary 10xs better! Looking forward to another trip to the Jewel!

Oh! And they brought im some treats that said happy anniversary :) made our day :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dmona5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you had an amazing time and it was our pleasure to have hosted you, I want to extend our apologies with regards to the DJ for not honoring your request by playing reggae throughout the entire night, this would not have been appropriate, but happy that he played some, so you could have enjoyed, also, there is no club that will contineously play reggae throughout there club time, they all do a mix for everyone enjoyment. We look forward to your your return.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were there for 13 days on April 7th and had room 931. Had a great time and the staff was very friendly & the food was overall excellent and great quality, loads of vegetables & fish every day and the a la carte are all excellent.

This is our second time at a Jewel's (last year was the Jewel Runaway Bay) and we would recommend these Jewel's. Travis was our preferred waiter & Barbie and Herkel which are part of the entertainment staff did a great job. Please try to go to the Caves that are located near the Bahia Principe (less than 10 minutes drive by taxi Appx 3 to 4$ if you catch a cab on the main road) totally worth it, you wont be disapointed. This is our 3rd visit to the area (Ocho Rios).
Love Jamaica.... PS if you want to do the Dunn's River Falls, do not go in the morning, you will not enjoy the experience as you should. Go in the afternoon as we did (our third time).
The cruise ships arrives in the morning & you will waste hours and hours waiting.

Room Tip: Rooms have either baths or shower, baths are very deep therefore not easy to get in and out. Can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeklMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest

It was our pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that our friendly atmosphere, at the Jewel brand is something you will remember. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know and looking forward to the 3rd visit soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at Jewel Paradise Cove April 22 - 29, 2014 and highly recommend it. First, be aware that the beach is small and you can't take long walks on a sandy beach. We knew this and it was not an issue for us. We have taken 10 all-inclusive vacations (Dominican Republic, Mexico, Cuba and Jamaica) and would rate Paradise Cove as #1, with Jewel Runaway Bay a very close #2. We love the smaller resorts, and will look for this in future.

The main differences between the 2 resorts:
Paradise Cove - Adults only; very small beach area which is a cove; several additional items included (snorkeling; glass bottom boat ride; sunset cruise; trip to Dunn River Falls; shopping trip; hobbie cats).
Jewel Runaway Bay - Family resort; very large beach area and you can walk quite a distance along the shore. Great children's program. Children were never a problem when we stayed there last year.

What I liked about Paradise Cove:
• No bracelets
• Lounge chairs available anytime at the beach - no 6:30 a.m. alarm needed
• Non-motorized sports included if you want to go out on the water.
• Reservation not necessary for the Platinum or Moonstone restaurant. Grill restaurant with Jerk Chicken available anytime.
• Being a smaller resort, everything is within a 5 - 10 minute walk from your room.

STAFF:
Wonderful staff from George taking you on a short tour while taking you to your room; Collin at the front desk who can answer any questions you have; Shelly at the concierge desk; all the friendly bartenders; servers in the buffet and restaurants. You will get to know Barbie of the entertainment team as she is everywhere during the day and even the Piano Bar for karaoke night. They encourage you to participate, but are not pushy. The General Manager, Barbara Burton, is always walking around the resort and will often stop you to see how you are enjoying it.

ROOMS:
Very clean, comfortable and spacious. It took a little while to set the remote for the A/C (it kept shutting off) but once I figured it out, it worked beautifully. Yes, the design of the tub, will send water out on the floor when you shower. Center the shower head in the middle of the tub, and put towels at each end in the recess to catch the water. We saved one towel from the beach each day to put on the floor. This is a poor design and will be very costly for management to remedy, so make the best of it.

Buildings 1 -4 make up the "Quad" area surrounding a pool, with swim-up bar.
Buildings 5 & 6 are located closest to the smaller, private beach with a pool nearby.
Buildings 7, 8 & 9 have all rooms facing the ocean and the boardwalk close to the main beach and pool.
No rooms have direct access to the beach.

RESTAURANTS:
Enjoyed the Platinum a la carte. They change the menus on Sunday, so while we wanted to have the Beef Tenderloin again on the next visit, it was Beef Medallions (not as good, but still very tasty).
Moonstone was also very good, again with a change of menu for a second visit which is nice if you want to visit more than once during the week.
Japanese was fun and a chance to meet other people. Great food and a fun, entertaining experience.

Buffet:
Great choice for all three meals. The made to order omelettes are delicious and at the most there would be 4 - 5 people in line. Freshly squeezed orange juice always available. The menu is posted at the entrance each day about a 1/2 hour before opening for lunch and dinner, which helps you decide on where to eat.

All servers have been well-trained and are very professional.

The manager's cocktail party and dinner on Friday was delicious. You should plan to attend this unless you want an intimate dinner with your partner (tables set up for parties of 8). Another opportunity to meet other guests.

Trip Advisor mentioned several areas for improvement but management has taken care of most of them.
Towels - plenty available all the time at the Front Desk, Quad Pool and Sports Center at the main beach.
Lounges - again, plenty available at all times. If you want front row chairs, you should be out before 8:00 a.m., otherwise they are available at any time during the day.
The bartenders will come around quite frequently. If you find they are too slow/busy then it's only a 2 min. walk to the lobby bar.
The lobby bar area has very little seating for the evening, but there is the reception area adjacent with several tables and chairs.
Read complaints about the wait for pizza - we timed it and it was about 20 minutes while we sat overlooking the boardwalk and ocean, enjoying a glass of wine...no complaint from us!

The trip to Dunns River Falls (included) was amazing . You book it at the front lobby and it leaves every day at 10:15 p.m., and 2:15 p.m. You need to wear your bathing suit and water shoes as you go under the water in a few places and the rocks can be slippery. Yes, you do have to walk through the vendors' area when leaving, but look straight ahead and you are not bothered.
They advertised a bus around 10:15 p.m. to Margaritaville, returning around 2:00 p.m., but that is way too late for us seniors!
We went on the glass-bottomed boat, sunset cruise and hobbie cat and enjoyed them all.

Can't comment on the shopping tour as we did not take it. I am not an avid shopper, and thought it would be too hot walking around the streets.

Please take $1 bills with you as all of the staff work very hard and deserve the occasional tip.

We certainly plan to return and pleased to say that the Jewel chain has the best staff and they are so friendly with everyone calling you by name.

Barbara and Daine are doing a great job and deserve the #1 ranking in Runaway Bay.

Room Tip: Bldg. 1-4 form part of the Quad with a pool in the centre. Bldg. 5 & 6 are at one end of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest

It was our esteem pleasure to have hosted and delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort and all the amentities we offered. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My M-I-L and I met friends here April 10th. I never wanted to leave, lol. We had an ocean front room and it was huge and very clean. The housekeepers were great and if we called for something we got it within 15 minutes. This is a smaller resort than I visited a few years ago and it has 2 small beaches. There were always chairs on the beach and only had to wait for towels 1 time for about 15 minutes. All the staff are friendly and helpful, we spent most of our time at the beach. They will come to the beach for drink orders and bring your drink back pretty quick. I figured out I really loved the little sail boats and the lifeguards were always wanting to please. We saw a big sea turtle 2 days in a row while sailing. Vendors come set up everyday.. do not bring the fresh palm hats back to the USA, customs will keep them. Food was good, but my favorite was the Aquamarina bar and Grill (open 23 hours a day). Check in and check out are quick. We plan on coming back next year and staying longer. Oh and don't forget to visit the coffee hut, yummy. Don't just take my word for go see for yourself.

Room Tip: We had the ocean front rooms but plan on getting regular rooms next time. Everything is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Tammy

Thanks for taking the time to share and it was our esteem pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you had a fabulous time and enjoyed all that we had to offer. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great stay from arrival to departure! The staff were among best ever, and we've been traveling for 20 yrs. Small footprint makes it easy to get to all venues. Restaurant variety was real good but my only point is wish they had more fish/ seafood choices on some of menus. 3 pools were all well maintained and each swim up bar was fully stocked; only beer on location was red stripe, but "no problem mon" as it was very good! Awesome frozen drinks of the day help keep you cool. Ocean beaches were clean and with rock outcrops the snorkeling was amazing! Plenty of free water sports and staff did awesome job of hooking you up with other island tours if you desire it! Dont miss sunset on Adirondack chairs!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank demee130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest

It was our esteem pleasure and delighted that you had a great time and hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Fl
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here during Easter weekend and had a great time. The place is beautiful, it's not to big so it's cozy. Service is great, amenities are good, food and drinks are really good and karaoke night is fun. The only comment I would make is that it would be better to have more opportunities to learn to dance soca.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Paradise Cove at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing and hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
32.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
29.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing