We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“MUST READ REVIEW”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was my third time vacationing in Jamaica and it was definitely the best. The jewel paradise cove is hands down an excellent resort in every aspect of what a vacation should be.

The resort itself is big, but not overwhelming. The numerous pools, bars, restaurants are all great and spaced accordingly.

Food was great. Whether you would like a buffet, Italian, pizza, jerk chicken or Japanese cuisine this resort has it all.

The grounds are beautiful and it is set right on the water and the views all around are spectacular.

The beach is exactly what the name states, a cove. The beach is nice but me and my family prefer a larger, more open
beach. There is a good amount of seaweed in the water so you have to be careful where you float off to, but overall the beach is beautiful.

What's great about the JPC is that all of the water sports are included as well as the Dunn's River falls. Snorkeling, sunset cruise, paddle boarding, kayaking are all included and available.

I recommend getting a massage at the spa, well worth the money. Spa is right on the beach and was a great experience.

Overall there is nothing more than you could want from an all inclusive resort. JPC has it all. The time we had spent here was truly memorable. What made this vacation different from any other island vacation we had been to, was the jewels' extremely friendly and awesome staff.

We met some of the nicest, hardworking people at the Jewel paradise cove. From the front desk, to bartenders, lifeguards, servers in the restaurants, the entire staff was on a mission to ensure you had a great time.

The names here are people who really stood out in my eyes.

Errol, Kady Ann, Conroy, Craige, Khorey, Kemar, Roan, Pearson, Gifson, Albert.

We are already most likely coming back next summer and I cannot wait!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Brandon

It was our esteem pleasure and delighted that you had a marvelous time, and the staff took care of you and thanks for taking the time to mentioned them. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    815
    247
    69
    30
See reviews for
263
1,994
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

First off, let me say, what a beautiful property!! I visited the resort on a guest pass, as I had stayed at the sister peppery a few times, and I wanted to check out this one since it was adults only. They were well organized, and extremely friendly upon arrival. (I have stayed at enough resorts to know the front desk staff is not always the nicest.)

The place has not been open long, and thus was not real busy, but I am guessing it will not take long to become busy, as I learned that the following items are a part of what you pay for:
Free dunns river
Free shopping trip
Free scuba & motorized sports
Free sunset cruise
Free bus to golf

Not to mention incredibly friendly aervice, and amazing food (I felt very much like I was eating at a fancy restaurant at the buffet, without having to worry about fancy clothes). They had several stations ready to make up different types of food. I was very impressed!!

The resort is not very large, but spread out nicely so you don't feel to be at a small resort. There are multiple pools, and of course the water slide!!!

I recommend considering this resort the next time you are heading to Jamaica, I know I am!!

Message me if you have any questions, I am happy to answer why I am able to!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Trulycraz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure and delighted that your visit on a pass, was such a pleasure and based on your experience you have now found yourself a new home and has recommended. We look forward to hosting you.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I had the opportunity to visit this lovely resort 7/27-8/3. We were able to participate in the yoga retreat. This was such a wonderful opportunity to take yoga, spinning, zumba, cooking and health and wellness classes/seminars daily. I commend JPC management team and staff for being progressive thinkers and providing such a wonderful Health/Wellness retreat for their guest, should they choose to attend. We were also able to re-certify our PADI SCUBA license as it had been years since we dove and check out dive in open water all in one day! Shout out to Garfied our instructor, he was awesome and most professional. I also want to thank all of the spa ladies, the omlete guy (egg white omletes rocked) and the beautiful smoothie lady for my specialty smoothies. The amenities were excellent! We really enjoyed all of the restaurants. It was hard leaving this resort I will certainly be back and plan to bring my girlfriends next time for the next yoga retreat offered!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhabit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Holly

It was our pleasure and delighted that you enjoyed our yoga retreat and had a wonderful vacation. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We wanted a quick, easy trip to celebrate an anniversary and that was exactly what we got.

Pros:
- The staff was very nice and helpful, they were very attentive and fun.
-The snorkeling was fabulous!! If you go, definitely take the time to get out into the water!
- Good drinks -- ask the bartenders to surprise you -- you'll enjoy it!
- The room was comfortable and clean, turn-down service and even a nice gift (chocolate cake) for our anniversary.
- Very clean! Grounds, room, everything!
- The Platinum restaurant was great -- take the server's recommendations!

Cons:
- Overall, the food wasn't spectacular -- don't be fooled into thinking you're getting authentic Jamaican food -- even at the restaurant that has jerk spice, good but not authentic. If you want to experience real Jamaican food, you need to leave the resort. Also, they say they have "sushi" (the quotes are on purpose) -- this is not sushi the way most travelers would expect.
- The shopping trip was horrible -- we were taken by van to Ocho Rios to a small strip mall that was 10 or so shops that all had the same thing and all were very touristy (The favorite line was -- "Try the rum samples so you get drunk and buy more!"). We were then taken to Margaritaville (there is also one in the airport) where many of the other vacationers drank heavily so the ride back to the resort was interesting to say the least.
- We enjoy having a good time and have a few drinks but we were looking for a romantic weekend not a huge drunken party of 40 year-olds which is what we got.

Neither Pro nor Con but worth mentioning:
- The beaches were small but very nice and clean.
- The pools and hot tubs were very nice, not deep but nice.
- I am a runner and running from the resort was tough -- many inappropriate comments and honks from locals (nothing to do with the resort but worth mentioning)
- Don't get a poolside room unless you're prepared for all night noise/partying -- fine for some not for all.
- We were there for the Jamaican Emancipation and it was really interesting talking to the staff about their celebrations -- talk to them! Their experiences are fascinating

All in all a good trip just not quite what we were expecting -- we didn't experience Jamaica, we experienced a resort.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Jeanne

Thanks for taking the time share your review, and must apologies, if your annivesary getaway, was less than expected. Thanks for sharing the pros as mentioned below;

The staff was very nice and helpful, they were very attentive and fun.
-The snorkeling was fabulous!! If you go, definitely take the time to get out into the water!
- Good drinks -- ask the bartenders to surprise you -- you'll enjoy it!
- The room was comfortable and clean, turn-down service and even a nice gift (chocolate cake) for our anniversary.
- Very clean! Grounds, room, everything!
- The Platinum restaurant was great -- take the server's recommendations!

With regards to the Cons; our apologies on the behaviour of the other guest on the shuttle, and the encounter of the shop at the plaza. We thank you again.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
955 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 10 days at Paradise Cove and have mostly enjoyed the experience.

We arrived at Montego Bay after a long flight from the UK and after picking up our luggage we had to wait almost 45 mins to start the bus journey to the hotel - the bus is run by a tour company for the hotel so wait until a number of flights have landed before setting off. It was just over an hour journey to the hotel.

We had a nice cool drink on arrival and were soon being checked into our room. We stayed in one of the pool rooms on the ground floor and was bigger and more comfortable than we expected. Lovely comfortable super king bed and a good sized bathroom with large shower. It had a room safe, large flat screen TV. The doors opened onto the pool area which got a little noisy late afternoon but not at night as the bar was closed. The room was well serviced throughout out stay but sometimes this was quite late on and were already back in the room after a day in the sun. Towels were our main issue - they take them when the room is cleaned but most days didn't replace them until late afternoon/early evening - a bit late for out shower after sunbathing.

All the staff in the resort are friendly and help to create a good atmosphere. The resort itself is actually quite small although has all you would need - plenty of places to lie in the sun - either on one of the 2 beaches or by one of the three pools.

There is a spa and a good gym and plenty of water sports if you want to kayak or sail on the sea. Towels seem to be in a short supply half if the mornings we were there which was a bit frustrating.

Our real problem with the resort was the good. At first sight there are many restaurants to use but we soon realised that we didn't like the food in most of them. The buffet choice was very limited with a poor salad section. A typical evening buffet had oxtail, goat and chicken - all unfortunately served mainly as bone. The sushi place was the worst we had ever had and even the signature dishes in the high end Platinum restaurant were either over or under cooked. The Jade Samurai Japanese was good and the culinary star were the burgers at the Aquamarine bar for lunch. Food plays a big part in our holiday enjoyment and we felt this was not good enough for a hotel of this quality.

So overall we enjoyed most aspects of our holiday here and for a week it's fine. Lack of good food for a second week spoilt it for us.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, especially in the area of food. Let me extend my apologies, if our food choices was not to your liking, however, the hotel did reach out to get an idea of your interest, which was politely declined. We will however, use this review, to continue enhancing our product. Thanks again.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The view all the way around was beautiful. The people that worked there were fantastic. The food was delicious and the rum punches were plenty. So many things to do and of course just laying in the sun was perfect too.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, the swim up bar pool was a few feet from our sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Angie

It was our pleasure and delighted that we spoiled you and you enjoyed all that we had to offer. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We only have wonderful things to say about this beautiful property. This is our first time to Jamaica and staying at an all-inclusive. My husband and I both really enjoyed it. We enjoyed the people and the great customer service we received since we arrived until we left. There is never a dull moment and there is always something to do, eat, or drink. The water sports they provide are great and the snorkeling was just wonderful. I recommend that you take the Dunn's River Falls tour because it is truly amazing. It is a cove and the water was so calm, clear, and beautiful. A great place to just relax or participate in the activities they have daily. The bartenders are fantastic and the food was great, especially the pizza! The property is just the perfect size to walk around or to get to where you need in walking distance. We stayed in an ocean view room and the view was super nice. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. We just regret not staying longer we only stayed for 4 days. We would recommend you stay here and we would definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Mara

Thanks for sharing your best ever vacation with us and we were delighted to have hosted and it was our pleasure. We also appreciate the recommendation and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
32.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
41.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing